Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Kilbride Scotland

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
My wife, daughter and I stayed here for 9 days in July. The hotel looked as if it had been renovated fairly renovated and was pretty much spotless inside. Everything about the hotel was mostly excellent, from the breakfast area, the staff, the small pool bar and the large swimming pool. The hotel is 15 minutes from the main area of Sorrento but be very aware of the main road directly outside the hotel as there is a never ending stream of traffic. The pavements sometimes narrow down to single file and can you have to keep your wits about you as you dodge the mopeds buzzing about you. However I would definitely recommend the Gardenia Hotel and it should be considered as a location when travelling to Sorrento.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 25, 2016
This was a nice hotel to stay in. It had pool and it was in a good location. I would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
About 15 min walk to square. You pass shops and restaurants on the way so interesting. Between 2 train stations, so walkable to both. Can also walk to ferry to go to Capri. Nice pool. Caught train to Pompeii and Herculaneum easy enough. Caught bus to and from airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Great Stay at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The location was good and staff were professional!
Cons: Our room was not available to use upon arrival. The staff were prepared and found us accommodations at a nearby hotel. They also covered our parking.
Location: The location is good and many things to do nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel with everything to offer

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is an absolute gem on the edge of Sorrento and away from the busy crowds and live music which you find in the centre of the town. It is an easy 15-20 minute walk into the centre and although on a busy road as some reviews say, it is not dangerous as long as you walk in single file in a couple of places. We enjoyed the walk which was all flat, especially after the amazing breakfast served - the best breakfast I have had in any hotel!! The cakes are simply amazing. This, along with friendly staff, clean rooms, a lovely pool area to relax in after busy days visiting Capri, Pompeii and Amalfi is all welcomed. We paid extra for a sea view which was worth every penny. The staff are all very friendly and cannot do enough to help. We will definitely stay in this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Helpful & Pleasant Staff but that's Where it Ends

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff
Cons: See above.
Location: Most of what you want to do in Sorrento is at least a 30 minute walk from this hotel.
The Staff are very nice and they are helpful and pleasant, but the Hotel was a pretty big disappointment. I have travelled extensively in Europe and a lot in Italy so I know what to expect from European hotels. This was not a good choice for us (it might be for you) but here are the reasons why (hope this is helpful): You are really far from the center action of Sorrento and you will spend much time walking on incredibly narrow streets with scooters, motorcycles and cars whizzing by you. It actually gets a bit scary at times. We were travelling with our teenaged kids, I would tell you, if you have younger children, you may want to find a different hotel, you will be scared for their safety walking on these streets. The noise of the street from inside this hotel is loud even with the windows shut tight. Our beds were rock hard (a lot of European hotels are this way), but the circa 1950 mattresses and bed coverings have to be changed out; very uncomfortable. Same can be said for the towels. The nap that was once on these towels was rubbed away in a previous century. The cramped shower (and yes, this is typical in Europe) was not as clean as it should be and I didn't want to go in barefoot although, in fairness, that may be my aversion to these kinds of things. I think the pictures on the websites are misleading a bit. While they are certainly not doctored in any way, they are taken from the most optimistic vantage point. Hope this helps!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Wotif
Nice hotel, friendly staff, bit of a walk from hotel to centre of town but if you don't mind walking it's okay, maybe a shuttle bus could be good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Wonderful and friendly staff. Good breakfast. We booked a quadruple room which was very small and cramped in comparison to other similar hotels we stayed at in Italy. The location is a bit far from the center and on a very busy road.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels