Ratings based on 1,439 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from mirfield

grand hotel aminta

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Stunning Views. Villa Aminta an asset to hotel. Clean and good choice of decor.
Location: Sorrento is a beautiful place from which to explore the bay of Naples, i.e. Pompeii, Capri, Amalfi coast - its endless.
Just back from our week's stay at the Grand Hotel Aminta. Very pleased with the whole standard of the hotel and felt it was worthy of its 4 star rating. Staff were courteous and helpful. We were in villa aminta. Very pleased with room. Spacious and light with a small balcony. Cleaned and towels changed daily. Lovely walk through gardens from the main hotel. Food and service in the restaurant of a very good standard. The hotel is out of town but a regular courtesy bus is provided and there is a pathway down the hillside into Sorrento which we used regularly. Absolutely stunning views of the bay of Naples. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, England

Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff

Posted Oct 1, 2017
We stayed here as we were going to a wedding in Sorrento and a few other guests were also staying here. Beautifully located above Sorrento town with a scenic view. A handy free shuttle service into town was very helpful as it's a fairly long walk otherwise with no paths to walk on! All in all a really enjoyable stay and wish we stayed longer! Staff were very helpful especially after our transfer company left us stranded on the last day! Would highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London England

Nice hotel with beautiful views

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Already noted
Cons: Already noted
Excellent shuttle service to and from centre of Sorrento. Front desk staff could not be better, friendly and helpful. Restaurant food very good both the breakfast and evening meal. The restaurant could benefit from more ambient lighting during the evening meal. Our only criticisms would be the: 1) The toilet and changing facilities at the pool which are under ground is rather dark and run down. 1) The music played around the pool area from the bar which starts at 10.00 am is both loud and not of a relaxing nature. The choice of music would be more conducive to an evening bar situation. We did ask the bar staff if they could reduce the volume and maybe change the music to something more suitable but was told they could not? I would question this as the music in the reception etc was relaxing. We were a party of six and all felt the same as did other visitors to the hotel who we spoke to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Lovely hotel with excellent views

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Myself and my partner really enjoyed our stay, we were initially disappointed to be staying in the annex separate to the hotel but actually it was fine and the walk really was not far. The annex was a little noisy in the mornings but lovely otherwise! Food in the hotel was great and the bar was a great place to relax in the evening with lovely views and a great bar tender. Would have been nice if breakfast stayed open a bit later as we missed it most days (but we do like a lie in when on holiday!). The shuttle to and from the hotel was great and the walk downhill to town only takes about 20 minutes (but can be a bit steep at times so wouldn't recommend walking back!). Overall it was a great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing views

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Had an incredible stay at this hotel with my parents
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto ontario Canada

nice but main not old building

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: staff behavior ,shuttle.
Cons: old building must be separated from new building
Location: good but a little far from city
there is a trick in booking this hotel!! it consist of two building : new building that you see on website is clean and good and old building which is unbelievable old, ,poor condition and far from facility and restaurant, be careful not to be cheated! new building is clean shuttle is good and on time ,staff are good, a little far from city...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Wonderful hotel overlooking Vesuvius

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Wonderful hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed for one week at the beginning of September and we had a great time. All staff were really welcoming and helpful and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to be upgraded from a garden view room with no balcony to a garden view with balcony. Bedroom was very clean and spacious and we had the biggest bed I have ever slept in! Pool was great. My only real criticism is that the hotel "snack" (lunch) menu was far too expensive. I would expect a hotel to have other snacks or lunch options available for well under €10 but I suppose they are taking advantage of there not being any alternative eating options near the hotel. €14 for a mushroom omelette, €10 for a sandwich and €9 for a smoothie is far too much and resulted in us not buying drinks, which was a shame when we were on holiday! If I was being really picky, a couple of other things that could be improved was the shower (it was oddly positioned in the middle of the bath (a very exciting jacuzzi bath), rather than at the end so you didn't have much room) and the hairdryer was poor and not very powerful so I would recommend anyone with long hair to bring their own. Another thing to note is that if you are taking the bus or train from Naples to Sorrento you will need to get a taxi to the hotel if arriving or leaving outside of the hotel's shuttle bus times (9am-2pm and 4pm - 11.30pm) and a taxi cost us 28€ at lunchtime at at 6am 35€ for a 10 minute journey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning views, great staff, brilliant hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Brilliant staff, great pool, lovely views, great free coach service, clean rooms, wifi, good breakfast selection, good bars.
Location: Very close to Sorrento town which is filled with great restaurants and shops. Lots of ferry & coaches to surrounding areas.
We visited the Grand Hotel Aminta early September 2017 for a long weekend in Sorrento. Perched on the mountainside some 200-300m above the town of Sorrento it offers stunning views from the pool, bar areas elevating it above the busy main town and providing serene surroundings. The building itself was well maintained, clean, and the facilities were great. We had free wifi, and a USB wall plug provided in the room made sure any tech needs were filled. We stayed in the Villa Aminta (also known as the Annex) which was a short walk from the pool area through the grape and lemon orchards. Sadly our room didn't offer much of a view, but being away from the main building meant that it was always peaceful and there was no reduction in service provided. The walk down the mountainside to the main town was a short 10-15min walk along a rural path. Great for those sure footed visitors, but not suitable for those who may struggle with steep inclines. The route back up however is difficult if you are not a practiced mountaineer. But not to worry! The hotel Aminta offers a free hourly coach service on the hour down into town and on the half hour back up to the hotel. This service alone is fantastic. The coach driver is excellent, puntual, and will, (if possible) drop you off at the port or station with your luggage on your last day. Make sure to check when the coach picks up on arrival and save yourself the €25 taxi fair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Nice hotel with great pool and stunning views

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Had a great stay. Out of the bustle of the centre of Sorrento but with excellent shuttle bus service. Nice pool and bar area with fantastic views across the bay towards Naples and Vesuvius.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Excellent stay in an excellent hotel highly recommended. Good food and service