Ratings based on 1,401 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto ontario Canada

nice but main not old building

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: staff behavior ,shuttle.
Cons: old building must be separated from new building
Location: good but a little far from city
there is a trick in booking this hotel!! it consist of two building : new building that you see on website is clean and good and old building which is unbelievable old, ,poor condition and far from facility and restaurant, be careful not to be cheated! new building is clean shuttle is good and on time ,staff are good, a little far from city...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Wonderful hotel overlooking Vesuvius

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Wonderful hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed for one week at the beginning of September and we had a great time. All staff were really welcoming and helpful and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to be upgraded from a garden view room with no balcony to a garden view with balcony. Bedroom was very clean and spacious and we had the biggest bed I have ever slept in! Pool was great. My only real criticism is that the hotel "snack" (lunch) menu was far too expensive. I would expect a hotel to have other snacks or lunch options available for well under €10 but I suppose they are taking advantage of there not being any alternative eating options near the hotel. €14 for a mushroom omelette, €10 for a sandwich and €9 for a smoothie is far too much and resulted in us not buying drinks, which was a shame when we were on holiday! If I was being really picky, a couple of other things that could be improved was the shower (it was oddly positioned in the middle of the bath (a very exciting jacuzzi bath), rather than at the end so you didn't have much room) and the hairdryer was poor and not very powerful so I would recommend anyone with long hair to bring their own. Another thing to note is that if you are taking the bus or train from Naples to Sorrento you will need to get a taxi to the hotel if arriving or leaving outside of the hotel's shuttle bus times (9am-2pm and 4pm - 11.30pm) and a taxi cost us 28€ at lunchtime at at 6am 35€ for a 10 minute journey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning views, great staff, brilliant hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Brilliant staff, great pool, lovely views, great free coach service, clean rooms, wifi, good breakfast selection, good bars.
Location: Very close to Sorrento town which is filled with great restaurants and shops. Lots of ferry & coaches to surrounding areas.
We visited the Grand Hotel Aminta early September 2017 for a long weekend in Sorrento. Perched on the mountainside some 200-300m above the town of Sorrento it offers stunning views from the pool, bar areas elevating it above the busy main town and providing serene surroundings. The building itself was well maintained, clean, and the facilities were great. We had free wifi, and a USB wall plug provided in the room made sure any tech needs were filled. We stayed in the Villa Aminta (also known as the Annex) which was a short walk from the pool area through the grape and lemon orchards. Sadly our room didn't offer much of a view, but being away from the main building meant that it was always peaceful and there was no reduction in service provided. The walk down the mountainside to the main town was a short 10-15min walk along a rural path. Great for those sure footed visitors, but not suitable for those who may struggle with steep inclines. The route back up however is difficult if you are not a practiced mountaineer. But not to worry! The hotel Aminta offers a free hourly coach service on the hour down into town and on the half hour back up to the hotel. This service alone is fantastic. The coach driver is excellent, puntual, and will, (if possible) drop you off at the port or station with your luggage on your last day. Make sure to check when the coach picks up on arrival and save yourself the €25 taxi fair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Nice hotel with great pool and stunning views

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Had a great stay. Out of the bustle of the centre of Sorrento but with excellent shuttle bus service. Nice pool and bar area with fantastic views across the bay towards Naples and Vesuvius.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Excellent stay in an excellent hotel highly recommended. Good food and service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top hotel with fantastic views of the Naples bay

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Views, food, room comfort.
Cons: The hotel is very good as it is. I would suggest to be more adventurous with the menu and offer more dishes from the local area.
This is one of the top hotels in Sorrento. The room was very comfortable even if it has to accommodate three people. The staff were incredibly helpful and efficient going the extra mile to help us. Breakfasts and dinners were quite good with a variety of local and national dishes. The hotel is perched on a hill overlooking Sorrento and therefore it enjoys the most fantastic views of the Naples bay. Reaching Sorrento is very easy thanks to the shuttle service. We would like to praise Giovann (the driver)i for his help (on the last day he left us at the railway station): we really liked his choice of music (although we didn't understand what the songs were about :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire, UK

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Evening meals on the terrace. Views across Vesuvius, Sorrento & Naples bay. Relaxing by the pool. Using it as a base to visit Pompei & Herculaneum
Cons: Nothing
Location: Pompei & Herculaneum are excellent if you are interested in that sort of thing. Boat trip to/around Capri was also a highlight
Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Aminta. We stayed in a sea view double double room in the Annex which was perfect for our needs. We'd seen some feedback that the Annex was a bit tired, but that is not our experience at all. The bathroom (a good indicator) was well maintained and very clean and the shower was excellent. The Annex is a walk away from the hotel but you pass through lovely gardens with limes, grapes & figs growing. The pool area is great - we never had any problem getting sun beds but you can reserve them with the hotel for a fee if you wish. We never did this but many people did. We ate in the restaurant quite a few times and the food was always good. One tip - reserve outside tables early for evening meals. We loved eating on the terrace in the warm summer evenings. The hotel bus shuttle service into Sorrento is also very good. We ended up spending more than we thought at the hotel - but the experience was so good we didn't want to waste it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middleton, WI

Breath-taking views, inspired dining & service

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Everything. Value for money, given the amenities and the general high prices in Italy.
Location: Use the shuttle to get into town, take the Circumvesuviana train to Pompeii (make sure you get skip-the-line tix and the guided tour - worth the $)
We had a fantastic experience with Grand Hotel Aminta. Upon arrival, we found out we had been upgraded to a suite and that it was Ferragosto (the Feast of the Assumption of Mary) on the day we arrived and they were having a complementary dessert buffet on the back patio, which was amazing! They had a DJ who played music well past midnight, and even though the loud music was still going when we went to bed, we didn't hear it from our room -- the guest rooms seemed very well insulated. The pool and patio were outstanding, just make sure you shell out for the deck chair reservation -- well worth having a spot when you want it. We utilized the car hire service they advertised on their website, and because Ferragosto is a bank holiday, everyone had off work and traffic was very dense. We enjoyed the slow drive from Naples, because it gave us time to take in the panoramic views of the Sorrento coast. The car hire was a great value as it allowed us to forego a rental car, and the shuttle bus to the city center was very convenient as well. This place absolutely kills it at food & drink. The indoor restaurant's dinner service is a romantic, high-end experience on par with any of the local restaurants (though a bit more formal - pack accordingly). My wife has celiac disease and both the indoor restaurant and the in-house a la carte restaurant Daphne caters very well to gluten-free dining (including pasta and bread). The bar, while pricey, was outstanding (get the flaming mojito!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Beautiful views

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Set up high you have excellent views, especially at sunset the view over Mount Vesuvius is amazing. Hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful, the restaurant serves great food, as a vegan there were a variety of options, I would say these could be improved so that people staying for more than 4days have more of a variety e.g. Veg burgers or sausage. Overall it's a very popular place to stay and one of the best hotels in Sorrento, shuttle bus to Sorrento is a big bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire, england

Great hotel with great views

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Lovely hotel. Free shuttle into town. Clean. Friendly staff. Can walk into town which is 20mins away.