Ratings based on 1,439 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Very friendly, first class service.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Location: Capri easy to reach via hydrofoil. Easy to get to Pompeii from the station in Sorrento. Bus tour at 6 euros from the main square is also good.
I would highly recommend a stay at the Grand Hotel Aminta. The service is excellent and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms clean. Staff are delightful. The views from the hotel are fantastic and the hotel's situation a short bus ride away from Sorrento is a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle. The shuttle bus runs nearly every hour and is always on time. Breakfast very good. I would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Giovanni Acampora, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your positive review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to hear that you were satisfied by our staff and our facilities, such as our free shuttle service. Thank you for your recommendation, we hope to welcome you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, friendly, beautiful views

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Just out of season so were given a free upgrade to a room with a balcony. Generous room with a large comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Friendly staff. Situated high above Sorrento so a good hike up steep streets but a free shuttle bus ran hourly. Great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Giovanni Acampora, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your positive feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Aminta. We hope to welcome you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Great base for Sorrento and Amalfi Coast

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Out of town. Friendly staff Shuttle to town
Cons: comfortable mattresses as hard and pillows. Cleaning of room could have been better Breakfast ok but could be improved Mixer drinks expensive
Location: Out of town
Nice hotel with friendly staff. This hotel is a 5 minute bus ride out of Sorrento in a quieter location. Even in October central Sorrento is very busy and noisy so having a hotel out of town is a good option. On arrival we took the coach from Naples airport to Sorrento €10 and then walked the short distance to catch the free shuttle to the hotel. Shuttle bus runs from the hotel several times a day into town and Giovanni the driver was very friendly. Shuttle leaves dot on time on every occasion so if you are late expect to miss it. Lauren on reception was extremely helpful and gave us good advice on getting around. Local buses are frequent but can get packed so if going to Amalfi I would recommend the red tourist bus (€15) which is more expensive but you will be more comfortable. We took the SITA bus (€8 all day travel) to Positano and they packed the bus like Sardines which was not pleasant with lots of people standing. There are some nice restaurants in town and I would recommend trying the smaller family run ones off of the main square in the side roads. Getting around generally is easy so if you want to save money on trips catch the train to Pompeii or Herculaneum (€5.50 return, entrance fees €11 ea.). Ferry across to Capri (€37.50) then catch the bus up to Anacapri and ride the chair lift. Boat trips around the island are also very good. This is a lovely part of Italy and we have been here twice at this time of year which I would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Views to die for!

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Location: Great location for Amalfi coast, Pompeii etc!
The hotel was really great and we had a fantastic stay. The view from the bar, restaurant and the pool area was incredible, with Sorrento, the bay of Naples and Vesuvius all easily visible. My children (10 & 8 years) loved the pool and were made to feel very welcome by the staff. There are orange and lemon groves on site, so the smells were amazing! The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the apartment rooms. The apartment was in a really nice location, not too far from the main hotel (2 mins walk), and again we had great views from our room and a lovely balcony. We had 2 double beds, so my children shared, which worked fine for us. We were a little worried about being out of town a little, but we needn't have been, as there is a hotel shuttle bus that runs most hours, and was always exactly on time! It took around 6-7 mins to get into town on the shuttle. Breakfast was good with lots of choice. The only minor downside for us was that we found the evening meal menu a little pricey when taking children, and whilst the food was very nice, we felt that some restaurants in town had equally good food for a cheaper price. But overall we would highly recommend this hotel - my children (and me and my husband!) want to go back already!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Giovanni Acampora, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your excellent review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to hear that you were satisfied by our staff and our facilities, such as our free shuttle service and our pool area. Thank you for choosing the Aminta, we hope to welcome you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Stayed there in October with family and friends for a short sightseeing break. Fantastic location, excellent staff and great food. Would definitely recommend and return, our only issue was the TV in the bar was on all evening when a little music would have been nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Giovanni Acampora, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your great review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to hear that you were satisfied by our staff and facilities. Thank you for choosing the Aminta, we hope to welcome you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great hotel in a breathtaking location.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff including Giovanni the bus driver. The location was superb, away from the main hustle and bustle but with the views.
Cons: Coffee and tea maker in the rooms.
Location: Superb location high above Sorrento with fantastic views. Great scenic walk to the town and amazing places to visit by boat and train inc PompeiI.
We loved everything about the hotel. The location was great and the staff could not do enough for us, always with a smile. The level of service was second to none and the upgrade on arrival was greatly welcomed. The walk down via the path to Sorrento was very scenic and the bus ride back a god send. We will definitely return to Sorrento and the hotel Grand Aminta.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Giovanni Acampora, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your excellent review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to hear that you were satisfied by our staff and our facilities, such as our free shuttle service. Thank you for choosing the Aminta, we hope to welcome you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge, VA

Elegant hotel with great views of Bay of Naples

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The Aminta is an elegant, updated hotel with wonderful views of Sorrento and Bay of Naples with attentive, friendly staff. The dining room puts out a large and inviting breakfast spread. The location outside of downtown is more than compensated for by a hotel-owned bus shuttle service holding to a more than adequate schedule. The food in the dining room is a little Omote expensive than the restaurants downtown but very nicely done. The only have a 48 laundry service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Giovanni Acampora, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your excellent review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to hear that you were satisfied by our staff and our facilities, such as our free shuttle service. Thank you for choosing the Aminta, we hope to welcome you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel but need to be more accommodating

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: views
Cons: More food availability.
Location: A bit out of town but they run a good shuttle bus service
Very nice hotel with some great views. Most of the staff very friendly except for one very sullen, unhelpful and at times rude receptionist. We arrived at 9.40pm and had not eaten but the only food available was a toasted cheese sandwich, although they did arrange for us to go to another hotel for food. Another evening we tried to order some bar food at around 8.30pm but was made to feel it was a big deal. They are not in the town so you cannot just go somewhere else local. Very clean and although a bit basic the breakfast is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
4th time there. Staff and views are unbeatable. Included dinners have become too bland however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Lovely hotel, extremely comfortable bed and clean room. Amazing view of Mount Vesuvias and the staff were faultless