Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

4-star hotel more like 3-star...

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Great location, a small fridge in the room, good housekeeping staff.
Cons: Customer service at reception, would benefit from a refurbishment of the rooms, provision of local information - local restaurants, boat trips etc.
Location: Excellent location, short walk to the station, the port, and everything else in Sorrento.
This hotel appeal is in its location, but don't be fooled by its name and don't expect a 4-star experience. The building is dated and there is a lack of atmosphere in its lobby and bar area. It won't make you want to hang around. The customer service was mixed. Upon arrival, we didn't receive any welcome from the receptionist who was more worried that we had parked our car in the hotel drive even if it wasn't busy at the time. She informed us quite abruptly that we had to move it as soon as possible. We had to insist that we could leave it there for the time of check in. She agreed reluctantly, and we had to leave the key with the reception. However, she pointed out the parking we could use. Generally we found the reception staff lacking warmth and friendliness. However, the housekeeping staff was really nice and did a good job. The room was OK, but with a very small bathroom: no bath, and only a small shower cubicle with curtain. Flooding was inevitable, the shower curtain was sticking whilst in the shower or when using the toilet - very unhygienic. Breakfast information on Expedia mentioned 6 euros per person, it was 10 euros. We felt it wasn't value for money for what was on offer (tinned fruit, not a great selection of hot food). City tax information on Expedia mentioned 1.5 euros per person per night. We were charged this amount for the first night, but then it was 3 euros per person per night for the following 6 nights. We were also told we had to pay cash...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: location, close to central plaza.
Cons: Toilet flash isnot working properly in our room. Need to press the bottom couple of times and super hard to get it to work.
Nice view over the ocean. But the decoration is a bit outdated, room seems very aged.
4 out of 5
by Ernestina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Central accommodation to the town centre.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
It was a clean and comfortable hotel that offered only the basics. Plenty to see and do in Sorrento but it would have been nice to come back to tea or coffee in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel in sorrento

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel carlton was nice and modern. The hotel has a pool onsite that we unfortunately did not have time to use. The location is good for walking around and is close to piazza tasso which is I believe the nicest and liveliest piazza. Hotel is worth staying at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensburg, PA

Convenient, comfortable, beautiful view of water

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, spaciousness and cleanliness.
Cons: We were happy with everything.
Location: There's one restaurant next door that's very good. Reasonably priced, varied menu. A few minutes' walk to piazza, many shops, restaurants.
The hotel is a 10-minute slow walk from the train station, where we arrived with two large bags and a wheeled carry-on. A five-minute walk from the piazza. Check-in was easy; the staff was polite and efficient. The hotel is modern and very clean. Our room was spacious, up-to-date, nicely furnished. The bathroom is modern and well-supplied with toiletries. Our second-floor room had a balcony and a view of Mt. Vesuvius, which we didn't expect. That was a nice surprise. The breakfast room is spacious as well. The complimentary breakfast included hard-boiled eggs, cold meat and cheese trays, fruit, juices, assorted breads and rolls, and a big spread of Italian pastries - sweet and savory - and cakes. Very nice selection, and all delicious. Coffee and tea are served at the table. The best selection of the four hotels we stayed in during our trip. We were very happy with choosing the Carlton. There's one restaurant almost next door, and it's very good. Reasonable prices and a varied menu. CNN International TV channel was a plus for we Americans, who don't speak Italian.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester, UK

Good B&B Hotel close to centre of Sorrento

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The sea view and clean room.
Cons: The breakfast is very minimal and could be improved with a wider selection and some hot food. Use of pool is very restrictive.
Location: The hotel is 5 mins walk from the central square in Sorrento, so is ideally placed for walking around the town.
My wife and I spent 5 nights in the hotel in a room with a sea view. The staff were very helpful and the room was very good and clean. However, the hotel is really a large B&B with a pool. the breakfast was minimal and not up to 3 star hotel standard. Use of the pool was restricted to 09:00 to 18:00 and there is not exercise area or gym. The bar snacks were also very limited. If you just want a clean bedroom close to the centre of Sorrento then this is the hotel for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
The hotel was a treat for us after staying in far too busy Napales. It was in a quiet area and the size of the pool was fab. Small choice for a breakfast buffet but it was nice food. Our room was basic and a little dated but cosy. We had very good time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Good location

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Many room for improvement.
Location: Centrally located. Close to town and stairs to go to the docks.
The internet sucks, front desk said it is available but you can move all around and it is NOT available. It is an old fashion hotel, the elevators work very very slow, you go fast by stair. It is clean place and well located.