Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Location good! Front desk staff could use some work....but pool bar staff was very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morristown, NJ

Good location but ok rooms.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Great location! And pretty good breakfast. Rooms were clean and decent. Staff was not friendly and never greeted us nor provided us with information. We were waiting for our excursion in the lobby and the staff kept calling up to the room instead of asking those waiting in the lobby. We almost missed our trip!
3 out of 5
by Bharti

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
Room was very basic and the bathroom and shower were tiny. When we checked in there was a terrible smell from the bathroom, which when I spoke to reception about was masked with febreeze. When you asked for something such as an iron from reception, they told you to come and collect it, so my poor 61 year old mother had to struggle to carry this ironing board and iron back in my absence (both of which were a bit broken). Not sure if this 'self service' is particular to this hotel or the general way in the area. A couple of people were lovely and polite, the two people on the pool bar and the lovely lady at reception. On the flip side the pool area was lovely and well maintained. The roof terrace would have been a great space except the Jacuzzi which was switched on, did not work! Breakfast food was good with a wide selection of choice.
4 out of 5
by Mark

Good hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Good spot for exploring town. It's a nice hotel but quite basic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017
thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Pool bar staff was very good!
Great location to train/bus terminal, as well as ferry! Loved walking around sorrento!
5 out of 5
by DAVID

Our stay was really enjoyable.

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff, excellent location. Pool was great, it looked recently refurbished with a nice bar. The gym was minimal but OK for a quick workout. We would definitely consider the Villa Maria if we return to Sorrento.
4 out of 5
by Cristian from Sweden

Affordable

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is easy walking distance from any central event/location in Sorrento. Its not fancy, but all is nice, clean, and affordable. A perfect budget hotel if your plan is to enjoy the city, not spend all time at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A convenient small hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Room was comfortable but not large. Shower and other facilities worked well and the room was kept very clean and well looked after. Staff were polite and helpful.
Cons: Breakfast - the only meal we took - was indifferent but adequate. The coffee (always a problem with hotels) was horrible unless you arrived pretty early.
Location: Good location in the old town, with access to bus stops, coach pickup, marinas, shops, restaurants, art gallery
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Exceeded expectations.

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
The Villa Maria exceeded our expectations, it's a pleasant Hotel in a great location, just on the outskirts of the main area of Sorrento. After reading some reviews I was a bit worried, however we had a nice room with a Sea View and a huge Balcony. Breakfast was very good with a lot of variety of foods available. Elena on Reception was especially helpful in giving us tourist tips. The location was good, as we could easily walk down to the Beach and to the Railway/Bus Station and the Marina to catch Boats to local Islands.
5 out of 5
by Suzanne from Rossendale

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Good location, breakfast Kids loved the pool, lunch excellent and good value. Friendly staff