Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Humorous staff and a restaurant with a view!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Throughout our stay, the staff on reception and in the restaurant were very friendly, assisting us with any issues we had and made our dining experience each evening very relaxed and humorous. Hotel was very clean, the food was great and our room had a great view. The shuttle bus into Sorrento every hour was a bonus on days that we didn't wish to use our hire car. After long days exploring the Amalfi Coast and Capri, coming back to a room with a view and air-conditioning really made a difference. On our last night, there were two Italian guitarists/singers who came into the restaurant to serenade everyone which was a nice touch and capped off a great week away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Fantastic view from the hotel room

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Everything was good but tea & coffee facilities would be nice in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Beautiful hotel with an amazing view!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The hotel is only a short 15 minute shuttle ride into Sorrento. The shuttle is free and very convenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The hotel is beautiful - our favourite in our trip through Italy. The view of Mount Vesuvius is spectacular! The only minuses were that the air conditioning was not really cold (but it was also extremely hot outside) and the wifi was a little weak for keeping in touch with family back home (it usually worked but very slowly and it sometimes took a couple of tries).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Amazing Views

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Amazing Views
Cons: The Half Board Menu
Location: Amazing Location, with lots of historic, cities, villages to visit.
This trip was a surprise 40th birthday present for my wife and I, the hotel & staff were amazing, we had a sea view & balcony room, which was breathtaking with views that were amazing, all the staff were extremly helpful and happy, pool was lovely and refreshing, also the transfers to Sorrento & drivers were great. The only disappointment was the food from the half board menu, unsure wether paying for the Ala Carte Menu would of been nicer. Overall, i would recomend this hotel, but eat out or Ala carte maybe?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BINGO/PREGO !!!

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect hotel with awesome view! Stayed in a triple room with my husband and 19 year old daughter. Our room was clean, beds were comfortable and shuttle into town was extremely convenient. The staff was absolutely awesome! They were so upbeat and happy. We were made to feel so welcome, like we were part of their family. Also, breakfast, which was included was a lovely buffet with a great assortment of food. Dinner, which was served each evening was delicious too! I would not hesitate to book La Vue D'or again. This hotel and the Sorrento area was the highlight of our 10 day trip to Italy!
5 out of 5
by Denise

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
The views from this hotel were stunning. We were in a triple rom which had a huge terrace so we were lucky to have probably the biggest outdoor space with amazing views. The shuttle bus is so convenient and runs to time and take so 10-15 mins but with so much to look at outside it's worth the trip!! Staff were nice and helpful. We only had dinner one night as we liked to try different places to eat, but the one meal we had was lovely. We brought our own travel kettle as they don't provide those in the rooms. All in all, myself my mum and 11 year old son were very happy with our stay.
4 out of 5
by AT

Short but pleasant stay

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
We had an overnight stay only but given our previous accommodations in Italy, this place was a delight. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious, clean and quiet. Breakfast was more about pastries than the hot food but when we asked for bacon they were more than happy to accomodate. Up on the hill with lovely views so it is away from the town but they do offer a bus service. Beware of Google maps directions as quickest route took us to roads that did not exist. Parking across the road was free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keynsham

Definitely recommended

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Stayed for our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for more. All staff incredibly friendly and helpful with any questions and the shuttle bus is superb. The food was great and there was a good choice each morning and evening and the view was breathtaking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
This hotel was great. The location was quiet with fantastic views and the shuttle bus was an added bonus. The staff were friendly and very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views but dated

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Rooms very basic, as was breakfast. Fantastic views and excellent shuttle bus service to sorrento. Staff were good