Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice View from the cliff

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Location - and the view of the city and water from the small terrace. Good Internet and shuttle service. Big lobby with lots of sofa seats.
Cons: maybe every half hour shuttle during peak times
Location: hotel is about 10 mins on the shuttle up the hill. hotel has bar and restaurant. Being hotel is in the hill - nothing is within walking distance.
Smooth check in process. Had no issues during the 2 nights stay. While a bit away from the city - the shuttle service makes it up. Great breakfast served. Choice of breads/pastries and some hot items. Roomy bathroom - medium size shower stall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Cant fault the hotel, beautiful views, helpful staff, good food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel good, room wasn't what I paid for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Humorous staff and a restaurant with a view!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Throughout our stay, the staff on reception and in the restaurant were very friendly, assisting us with any issues we had and made our dining experience each evening very relaxed and humorous. Hotel was very clean, the food was great and our room had a great view. The shuttle bus into Sorrento every hour was a bonus on days that we didn't wish to use our hire car. After long days exploring the Amalfi Coast and Capri, coming back to a room with a view and air-conditioning really made a difference. On our last night, there were two Italian guitarists/singers who came into the restaurant to serenade everyone which was a nice touch and capped off a great week away.
5 out of 5
by Keith

Stunning views

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
The name View of Gold sums it up perfectly. We had a family room with a balcony for a week. Stunning view over Sorrento, the Bay and Mount Vesuvious. Although the hotel is quite far from the town centre the regular (and free) shutttle bus means you get the benefits of seclusion & convenience. Staff were friendly and approachable. We were on a half board package and good to see the menu options changed every day so able to experience a wide selection of local foods. Wine list also very reasonably priced. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Fantastic view from the hotel room

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Everything was good but tea & coffee facilities would be nice in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Beautiful hotel with an amazing view!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The hotel is only a short 15 minute shuttle ride into Sorrento. The shuttle is free and very convenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The hotel is beautiful - our favourite in our trip through Italy. The view of Mount Vesuvius is spectacular! The only minuses were that the air conditioning was not really cold (but it was also extremely hot outside) and the wifi was a little weak for keeping in touch with family back home (it usually worked but very slowly and it sometimes took a couple of tries).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Amazing Views

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Amazing Views
Cons: The Half Board Menu
Location: Amazing Location, with lots of historic, cities, villages to visit.
This trip was a surprise 40th birthday present for my wife and I, the hotel & staff were amazing, we had a sea view & balcony room, which was breathtaking with views that were amazing, all the staff were extremly helpful and happy, pool was lovely and refreshing, also the transfers to Sorrento & drivers were great. The only disappointment was the food from the half board menu, unsure wether paying for the Ala Carte Menu would of been nicer. Overall, i would recomend this hotel, but eat out or Ala carte maybe?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BINGO/PREGO !!!

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect hotel with awesome view! Stayed in a triple room with my husband and 19 year old daughter. Our room was clean, beds were comfortable and shuttle into town was extremely convenient. The staff was absolutely awesome! They were so upbeat and happy. We were made to feel so welcome, like we were part of their family. Also, breakfast, which was included was a lovely buffet with a great assortment of food. Dinner, which was served each evening was delicious too! I would not hesitate to book La Vue D'or again. This hotel and the Sorrento area was the highlight of our 10 day trip to Italy!
5 out of 5
by Denise

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
The views from this hotel were stunning. We were in a triple rom which had a huge terrace so we were lucky to have probably the biggest outdoor space with amazing views. The shuttle bus is so convenient and runs to time and take so 10-15 mins but with so much to look at outside it's worth the trip!! Staff were nice and helpful. We only had dinner one night as we liked to try different places to eat, but the one meal we had was lovely. We brought our own travel kettle as they don't provide those in the rooms. All in all, myself my mum and 11 year old son were very happy with our stay.