Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Tranquil setting

Posted Jul 29, 2017
If you want a home from home, lovely welcoming staff, space, peace and a glorious setting then Regina Giovanni is for you. Set outside of the hustle and bustle of Sorrento but easy 10 minute drive for when you want it in the evening or trips from the port to Capri Amalfi etc The private beach is glorious the suites are spacious cool and clean. An oasis of tranquility. Looking oking forward to returning and trying their sister hotel on Capri.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful hotel in quiet location.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Very helpful staff. Shuttle minibus is very quaint and part of the overall experience. Staff were very helpful. Private beach is lovely and served by bar with snacks. Evening menu could do with a little more variety.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by RRG , Hotel Management
Dear Helen, thank you for choosing Relais Regina Giovanna for your holidays. We are delighted to read that we were able to fulfill your expectations. Again, we thank you and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, The Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and it was a lovely stay, the staff were very friendly and helpful as they suggested places to visit and roads to take,room was beautiful and the beach was amazing and clean. Just one comment, the breakfast needs to have more variety.
5 out of 5
by annette from USA

Simply Amazing

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Simply amazing! So many hidden gems included on property - private beach, rooftop seating, outdoor area with swings and hammocks, benches under trees, olive grove. My only regret is that I spent my days in Capri and didn't get back to hotel to enjoy all the above-mentioned amenities fully. Would stay again without question or hesitation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Peace and quiet close to Sorrento

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: The peace and quiet, the beautiful location. The enthusiastic young staff who were eager to please. The use of fruit and veg produced on the property
Cons: Perhaps the steps down to the beach club, access is not really suitable for the less mobile.
Location: Located on Sorrento Capo, plenty of walking, both Pompeii and Herculaneum are close by with easy access. Short ferry ride to both Ischia and Capri.
Relais Reginna Giovanna is a small hotel located on Sorrento Capo about 3km outside of Sorrento, in Southern Italy. It is a charming villa that has 12 bed rooms, simple comforts, attentive, friendly staff. The property sits in 50 acres of lemon, lime and olive groves, with its own private beach (Caletta) complete with sunbeds and beach club and also a life guard. the beach was pebblely and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel for all nationalities.

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: It was 'off the beaten track'. It's ethos of home grown produce was really appreciated.
Location: Bar and shop within walking distance. Bus (or Taxi) into Sorrento for shopping and sightseeing or go to Pompeii or Amalfi.
The hotel is set in olive groves amongst lemon trees with history going back to Roman times (Regina Giovanna). The staff were unobtrusive yet friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. In fact the staff were a large part of the enjoyment. The food was varied to suit all tastes. The views over the bay and the private beach were outstanding. Garden with hammocks. Best holiday ever!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pricey accommodation for so few amenities

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels
The room (#9) we were given for my family of four was very large. But, having stayed in multiple hotels in Italy this is not one I would return to. The beds were hard - especially the rollaway. While the room was nicely furnished it was not clean - the floor was filthy, there was dust and dirt on the bed sheets and the shower had mold in the grout. The included breakfast was pitiful - we had breakfast included at the other hotels we stayed at on this trip and they were amazing compared to this. We stayed at another hotel in Sorrento during this trip and for more than half the price of this we had an immaculate room, pool, wonderful breakfast buffet and free trolley into town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Montreal,Canada

Beautiful boutique hotel with an outstanding view.

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: The experience of being in a smaller hotel and knowing everyone, staff and other guests.
Cons: The entrance to the hotel from the main road must be better identified and the road down to the hotel should be improved.
Location: There are a multitude of areas to visit i.e. Sorrento,Capri,Pompeii and the Malfi coast.
We checked in and we were given an excellent room. The staff was very accommodating especially Rosa and Giuseppe and they made us feel at home. The longer we stayed the more we fell in love with the location. We met wonderful people and we would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Holt, Norfolk, UK

Could be a 5* hotel with a few improvements

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: The tranquility, service & friendliness
Cons: ACCESS
Location: Off road, ideal quiet spot, ideal for walking, relaxing. 10 minutes from Sorrento, so plenty to see or do
Super Rooms, service, staff & grounds. Really poor access from the public road, would not suit the elderly of infirmed, Lack of facilities at the beach no toilet or shower, no restaurant or bar, just bar service, no lift!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michele from London, UK

Good but a huge missed opportunity to be great

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: The room, the staff and the breakfast buffet
Cons: The private beach, no food or drink other than breakfast, inaccessible without car
Location: A long, long walk to the outskirts of Sorrento along a treacherous road. Marina di Puolo beach okay and walkable, sure isn't the Amalfi Coast though!
The Relais Regina Giovanna was a beautiful hotel, wonderful staff and great breakfast BUT it was a missed opportunity to be great and secure our return. It no longer provides a restaurant service at lunch or evenings, a bar but no service, beautiful grounds with a lemongrove with cantilever parasols which don't work and a private beach which is entered through what looks like an old sewer- charge 2€ for a small water, no snacks, parasols etc. we didn't go back. There was nothing to tie you to the hotel at all. It's pretty inaccessible without a car and driving into Sorrento in high season is a licence to crash into a scooter hurtling at you head on as he is overtaking a lorry on a blind bend, costs a fortune to park your car if you have the fortune to find a spot and then battle the thongs of package holidaymakers to get ripped off in the restaurants. Had RRG served the wonderful food the manager told us that they used to we would have stayed, picnicked in the lemon grove, frequented the bar talking to the guests who because of the set up saw fleetingly at breakfast and watch the magnificent sunset from the terrace (had there been some lovely seating to do so rather than a couple of naff plastic tables and chairs). All in all it no doubt was a lovely place that could be a wonderfully amazing place, very romantic with wonderful food- the staff Rosa, Michele and Pepe where the best I have encountered in Italy! However we wouldn't go back!