Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Far from the maddening crowd

Posted Oct 6, 2017
This complex is located on the far side of sorrento, probably three or four miles from downtown Sorrento. In this town you have a choice of being in central sorrento, crowded and noisy, Or a bit out of town. We ended up liking this place, but if you don't have a car it s either their occasional shuttle or expensive taxis Liking this
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Amazing Villa

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Staff are great, breakfast is more than adequate, the pool area and gardens are very nice.
Cons: A kettle and bar fridge would be handy however the staff where more than happy to make me a cup of tea.
Location: There is a winding pathway down to town which takes about 15-20 minutes walk/stroll. Town bus or courtesy shuttle back to Villa.
Take the via nastro verde bus to Johanna Park Hotel go to reception they will tell you which garden path to walk down (literally) Villa Giovanna is owned by the same family. The Villa Giovanna is very nice, staff are very accommodating, the rooms are clean and spacious, they run a very convenient courtesy shuttle to town. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Decent, but definitely not the greatest....

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: - nice staff willing to help you navigate the area - free shuttle to and from the center of Sorrento (available at a number of times in the morning and evening but can also be booked for other times). The driver even brought us closer to the train station on our last day which was very helpful! - the complimentary breakfast was pretty decent. Cons: - ANTS....EVERYWHERE! Including our room. They were crawling into our suitcases! There were a few spiders in our room too. - the wifi was no good. We couldn't access it in our room so we had to go out to the main area for it to connect and it was still painfully slow. - I accidentally locked our safe before setting up a code...they were supposed to come and fix it but never did. - the phone in our room didn't work either. Overall, it's not the worst place to stay, but I think you can find much better in Sorrento.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Views
Cons: Wifi does not work
Loved our stay here. The hotel is tucked away high in the hills of Sorrento (make sure to plan on arrange a shuttle or catching a bus from the train station). The rooms were lovely and fit into their surroundings perfectly. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel offers a shuttle service almost 5 times a day into the town of Sorrento for free. The views are amazing, but our wifi did not work in our room nor did it work anywhere else on the property. Despite this we still had a lovely stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Placentia, CA

charming hotel a little far from town

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Beautiful landscape with outdoor spots to share a drink.
Cons: more shuttle times and better wifi coverage
Location: there is nothing within walking distance.
I loved Villa Giovanna. I just wish it was closer to town. Although they provide a free shuttle to and from town, it's just too far. The room was clean and cute. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was delightful. The wifi didn't work very well but I think that is because it is up in the mountains. It was also hard to find when we arrived at night. Look for the Johanna Park hotel and pull in there as the two hotels are connected.
5 out of 5
by alex

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Nice budget place. Fresh breakfast. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by Brendan

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely grounds and absolutely perfect place to watch the sunset into the sea. Not the place to go if you want to be at party central as you require transport up and down to Sorrento town.
5 out of 5
by VIRGINIA

Good for long stays

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice property with spectacular views. Room was big and very clean and staff was very nice and helpful. Quite far from city center but they offer a free shuttle with a specific schedule. I would suggest to them to publish location and schedule of shuttle to make it easier for their guests upon arrival since it is difficult to get to their property if you don't know your way around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet and peaceful retreat

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: It was peaceful. I think there are only 17 rooms so not many people.
Location: Sorrento itself is a bustling town with excellent restaurants and shops. Pompeii was fantastic and the drive along the Amalfi coast was breathtaking.
Once we found this place, we had a very pleasant stay. Luckily we had read that it was next to the Johanna Park Hotel because there is no name, sign etc at all to show where Villa Giovanna is! Our room was clean and a comfortable bed with en suite shower. Air conditioned too which was very welcome. Breakfast was the usual cold buffet but very nice. A small pool but adequate to cool off. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the regular free shuttle bus into the town was excellent. We walked down to town several times and it took about half an hour.
4 out of 5
by Sarah

Rustic and friendly hotel with nice views

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
It was quite difficult to find as no sign outside the hotel, so look out for the Johanna Park Hotel sign. I wouldn't advise staying any further out from here, its about a 10-15 minute walk into Sorrento and about 30 minutes to the train/bus station to get to our places along the coast. The benefit of being further out means you are blessed with nice views. The gardens and pool area is beautiful. It is a small and rustic hotel which makes the service very personal. Rooms are quite basic but spacious and comfortable. Laura kindly gave us a complimentary upgrade which made a massive difference. Bathrooms are nice but no shampoo, just shower gel. They do have a bar but there is not much choice so best to go into the town for food and drinks. The last shuttle back is 10.15pm, so quite early and you do feel like you are clock watching, but it is very reliable so can't complain. The staff are friendly, booking very cheap tours, giving advice and providing a free reliable shuttle service. Everyone says hello to you from the management, to the cooks and cleaners. They all vary in their levels of English. The breakfast is plentiful and the pineapple cake is delicious. They don't start serving until 8am which is a little annoying if you want an early start for trips or exploring the nearby area. We were very impressed and was the quite, beautiful base we were hoping for.