Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by JOSHUA

Tranquility in the jungle.

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in the honeymoon suite for 4 nights and loved it. The cabins were far enough apart that it felt like we had the place to our self. We enjoyed using the plunge pool and spent much of our time sitting out on the porch and enjoying the tranquility of the place. The service at this hotel is first rate. Upon arrival, the check in process involved nothing other than a welcome and a rum punch. While we sat on the porch drinking, the staff got the bags from our car and took them to our room. The first morning we overslept breakfast by 15 minutes and the staff came up and asked if we would be joining them. We were the last and only ones at breakfast and the staff didn't make us feel feel rushed or unwelcome. If we find our way back to St. Lucia I would have a hard time considering another place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Joshua, Thanks for your beautiful description of your Fond Doux experience. We are happy to know that you loved your stay with us and greatly appreciated the amenities and facilities at the resort. Thank you for your commitment to return and we would certainly love to have you back. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Food poor

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Our cottage and the setting is just beautiful and the staff are very friendly.
Cons: More choice on the menu and portion size increased. Communal area mot feeling like sat in a car park and better lighting in this area.
Location: Location excellent but you do need a car or hire a taxi for the day to get to all the sights.
Very limited choice on menu and same menu every day. Portions very small and side orders consisted of around 3 carrots, 1 piece of broccoli and a bit of onion. If you visit here and do not have a car there are no shops that you can walk to to get food or snacks or even a drink so you are totally reliant on what the resort is offering. The communal area to sit outside to enjoy a drink and chat to other guests is more like a dark car park. The area around the pool was not looked after, no water in the dispenser and no cups, The sun lounger cushions had been left outside for many days and had filled up with water so could not use them on any of the days we were there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by FondDoux Owners, Hotel Management
Hello, We appreciate all aspects of your review – the good (accommodations and the friendliness of the staff) as well as the bad (Menu offerings and facilities). We do apologize that we did not meet and exceed your expectations in many aspects of your stay and accept full responsibility for that. Our resort’s location is one of our many success factors and provides guests with the beauty of both a natural rainforest setting and magical experience of living on a 250- year-old traditional working plantation. The resort is in proximity to most restaurants and the scenic town of Soufriere. Your comments about the menu selections and portion sizes have been well received and we are in the process of extending our menus to include more variety. There is subdued lighting in the courtyard yard area which creates a very private and romantic setting for guests to enjoy a drink and chat. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we appreciate all feedback as our guest experience is of utmost importance to us. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you in a future visit. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint resort in the jungle

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Quaint locally run resort. Stayed in one of the hillside cottages with a superb balcony and a spectacular view into the jungle. The room was spacious and comfortable. The plunge pool on the deck was great however there was bird excrement surrounding it. The resort it self was great. The restaurant was tasty and the staff were very friendly. Three tiered pool was awesome. Wifi was excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Stephen, Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback with us and the Hotels.com community. We are extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience from the cottages to the food offerings. We do hope to welcome you back in the foreseeable future. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury without Pretention (or air conditioning!)

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay. More towels in room would be nice, and spaces to hang them. Disliked lack of bills to sign in bar and restaurant (even when requested).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Ian, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are extremely pleased that you had an excellent stay despite the small issues highlighted in your review. Please be advised that we have passed on your feedback to the Housekeeping team and have circulated memos to the restaurant team to ensure that all guests view and sign their bills. We do hope to welcome you back in the foreseeable future. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016
My husband and I spent ten beautiful days at this resort, celebrating our honeymoon! We would definitely recommend it... The cottages are beautiful, very private and located close to the islands best amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel in tropical environs

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Pools were Awsome and the food was excellent, grounds spectacularly well kept, cottage was very charming.
Cons: The only bummer was that there was no air conditioning nor fans in the downstairs and it was so hot and muggy it was nearly impossible to sleep.
The hotel is authentic, historic and charming. Staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. We wish we could have had more time to enjoy the lovely pools.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Fonddoux, Hotel Management
Hello Lauri, Thank you very much for sharing your review with the Expedia community. It means a great deal to us to have the support of guests like you who are willing to take the time to share their experience at Fond Doux with the world. We hope to see you soon in Saint Lucia. Thank you. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Was not happy with this place. No TV, no AC. We asked for a fan twice was told we would get one and never did. We waited about 20 minutes before anyone should up to the front desk then had to wait another 20 minutes for the room. Would definitely not stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn about your experience as this is certainly not the norm here at the resort. On our website, we do not advertise televisions and air conditioning in our cottages.The resort is at high elevation, so we use ceiling fans in all our cottages. At Fond Doux, we place a strong emphasis on the training and development of our team. We are therefore extremely disappointed to read about the level of service received from our team members and we have met with the relevant departments to discuss your review in more detail.. Thank you once again for choosing our resort and we do hope that you will consider a return visit in the future. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florica

Remote and unspoiled.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff and beautiful terrain.
Cons: The hot water is powered by solar panels, so on a cloudy day there isn't always give hot water!!
Location: There's hiking, mineral springs, sulfur baths, zip lining, botanical gardens.
This is the perfect place to relax and recharge. The hotel is a plantation where the crops are used for food in the restaurant. Rooms are separate cottages. The pool is multi level built into the volcanic rocks. If you're into quiet, good food and the environment, this place is for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Fonddoux , Hotel Management
Hello Lynn, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience here at the resort. Please be advised that we have resolved the hot water issue in the cottage. We do hope to welcome you back in the foreseeable future. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
5 out of 5
by Sheri from New York

Unique experience and still family friendly

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
We were very impressed with Fond Doux. We so enjoyed walking to our cottage amid the coca, mango, banana and palm trees, gorgeous flowers and fantastic views. We also spent a lot of time in the small but gorgeous pools. The staff was extremely friendly and they organized some great outings for us at reasonable prices. Our 2 bdrm cottage was spacious and comfortable even without AC and TV (did have really good WiFi). Our boys (ages 10 and 6) had a wonderful experience (shout out to Happiness and Philip for being great with them). It is isolated so consider a car, esp for restaurants (Jardin Cocoa on site is solid but some variety would be good). Overall we truly enjoyed the unique location, local experience and family friendliness. Highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Sheri, Thank you for sharing such a glowing review of our little resort here in Saint Lucia.You have made mention of so many things that you enjoyed and for that we are very thankful, and proud. From all of us here, you have our biggest THANK YOU for joining us in St. Lucia. We would love to see you again. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nature at its best

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent. Breakfast was outstanding. Room was great with your own balcony, hammock, etc. will definitely go back soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for such a great review and your kind words are much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne