Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice rainforest view

Posted Sep 20, 2017
I know this is very nice ecologic resort but I would like have a TV in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Management - Fond Doux, Hotel Management
We thank you kindly for staying at Fond Doux Plantation and Resort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our rainforest view. We will pass along your suggestion to our team. Do come back and see us again.
5 out of 5
by Sebastien

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Eroline, Hotel Management
Hello, Sebastien, Thank you so much for your excellent rating of 5 out of 5. We are delighted to know that everything was to your total satisfaction and we do hope to welcome you back in the foreseeable future. Once again, thank you for your valuable contribution. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Secluded cottage in the middle of the rainforest

Posted Aug 8, 2017
From the moment we arrived we were overwhelmed by the natural beauty of the grounds, our cottage was tucked away in the hillside surrounded by lush green and tropical flowers. The staff were amazing and made us feel like we were visiting close friends rather than a hotel. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Fond Doux, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay here at Fond Doux Plantation and Resort. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable and memorable holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Thank you, Fond Doux

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
The good folks at Fond Doux were very hospitable and friendly. They are very welcoming and have a great love for the history and people of their plantation. The cottages are private and with the outdoor showers, like a personal paradise. The nature tour is a must and the food was beyond excellent. If you're traveling to St. Lucia, Fond Doux is a must stay experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Eroline, Hotel Management
Hello Joseph, Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us and the travelling public. The entire Fond Doux team is happy to hear that they greatly contributed in creating an amazing holiday experience for you.Saint Lucia is known for its warm and friendly people and that warmth is best discovered at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort. We are extremely pleased that everything was to your satisfaction from the accommodations to our culinary offerings. We greatly appreciate your confidence in our resort and recommending our resort wholeheartedly. We look forward to hosting you again soon for what is sure to be another memorable stay. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
5 out of 5
by Ashley

Beautiful natural resort.

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
The Fond Doux Plantation is exceptionally beautiful. The cottages are nestled in a beautiful rainforest. We really enjoyed our stay. The restaurant staff and all other staff we encountered were very nice and helpful. There was no ac but the rooms did cool off at night. You can't really walk anywhere and must take a taxi to leave the plantation. However, the staff will arrange that. This is a great place to stay to get a real St. Lucian experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Eroline, Hotel Management
Hello Ashley, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are extremely pleased to read that you greatly enjoyed your stay here at our plantation resort as we go above and beyond to offer an authentic Saint Lucian experience to all guests. Your comments about the natural beauty of the resort, accommodations and staff are greatly appreciated. Thank you for your confidence in our resort and we do hope to welcome you back. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Disappointing

Posted May 31, 2017 on Orbitz
The only thing I can say good about the resort is the staff were pleasant. This place was absolutely the most unpleasant place to stay at. No air conditioning in the rooms- the bed in the honeymoon suite was horrible!!! Worst experience ever for a frequent international traveler! They need to modernize!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by ELamontagne , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the friendliness of the staff however, disappointed to learn that this was the only aspect of the resort which you were happy with. We are pleased to report that we have addressed your concerns with the exception of the air conditioning because we are an eco-friendly Green Globe certified property. It was a pleasure having you with us and we do hope that you will consider another stay with us in the foreseeable future. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Actually quite nice cabins -- aesthetically much closer to colonial plantations than most Caribbean hotels can manage -- but the place is very indifferently run, and the restaurants lack the same light touch of the rooms, instead going for ugly prints and furniture. In the hands of better owners/managers, you could imagine this being at the level of the Golden Rock on Nevis.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by ELamontagne, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you loved our uniquely designed colonial style accommodations. The resort’s design is very creative in utilizing local materials and preserving the local landscape. The resort continues to support local businesses and artisans by featuring hand carved wooden furniture and paintings in the cottages, restaurant and offices. It is quite interesting that you did not comment on the friendliness of the team as the majority of our guests compliment the team for their famous Saint Lucian Hospitality. All of your comments have been greatly appreciated and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you again in the future. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Beautiful resort with a true cultural flavor

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Private cottages, great pools, beautiful grounds, friendly staff
Location: Close to Sulpher Springs, ziplining, Sofriere, botanical garden and waterfall, Sugar Beach and hiking the Gros Piton.
From the driver who picked us up from the airport, every staff person was super friendly and accommodating. The grounds were beautiful- no need to go to the botanical gardens because this place was just as beautiful. We enjoyed the casual breakfast, live music at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by ELamontagne, Hotel Management
Hello Yvonne, Many thanks for sharing your positive feedback. The entire team is happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience here with us. The Fond Doux team has become famous for their authentic Saint Lucian hospitality and we are glad that you picked up on that too. Our resort’s location is one of our many success factors and provides guests with the beauty of both a natural rainforest setting and magical experience of living on a 250- year-old traditional working plantation. The resort is in proximity to most restaurants and the scenic town of Soufriere. We greatly appreciate all of your comments and we do hope that our resort will inspire you to return in the future. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

True St. Lucia Experience!

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff, pool, plantation, restaurant, facility, serenity, ambience.
Cons: Kitchen, bathroom in some cottages.
Location: Sulfur Spring, Anse Chastanet, Sugar Beach, Snorkeling, Tet Paul Nature Trail, Fond Doux's very own Lamontagne trail.
Our family thoroughly enjoyed Fond Doux! Best part of it was the awesome staff from the owner to our guide to chef, restaurant staff, and just about everyone there. Even other guests were nice, and we greeted every morning and night sharing precious experience. If you want quiet, there are lots of spaces to yourselves as well. Restaurant was great and decently priced (compared to infrared prices at other restaurants in Soufriere). Breakfast (included) offered a variety of tasteful food every morning, prepared with real fruit and organic vegetables they grow in the garden. Definitely take the plantation tour and join Zumba on Mon, Wed, Fri evenings. Sessions come with wonderful local experience after exercise. Accommodation is charming and spacious cottage decorated with genuine furniture, art and fabric. We recommend Fond Doux to anyone looking for true St. Lucian experience and serenity unless you are looking for luxurious 5-star accommodation. Other recommendation: "Feel Good Water Taxi & Tours." Cornell for taxi and rental car; his brother Daniel for boat trips and snorkeling. They are both really nice, and prices are negotiable. (We do not recommend driving in St. Lucia by yourself. Roads are really bad.) Cornell gave us useful information about St. Lucia; Daniel took us to "VERY GOOD" snorkeling points upon our requests. Beaches - We liked Anse Chastanet better than Sugar Beach, but try both if you have time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by ELamontagne, Hotel Management
Dear Y.K, Thank you for taking the time to write this great review and for sharing your family’s experience with us. You described perfectly what Fond Doux Plantation represents, an effortless authentic Saint Lucian experience in paradise. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities during your stay. It is wonderful to see your appreciation in so many aspects like the friendliness of the staff, family atmosphere, variety of breakfast, accommodation, plantation tour and the fun and engaging Zumba classes. Thank you again for choosing our unique boutique resort and it would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
4 out of 5
by Manti

A little piece of Paradise

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was so helpful and gracious. Most had a wonderful sense of humor and they were very attentive. I loved the Zumba class followed by a hike to sulphur springs at sunset time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Eroline, Hotel Management
Dear Manti, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It's great to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the friendliness of our staff, as well as the zumba class. Thank you for your confidence in our resort and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the foreseeable future. Best Regards, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne