Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Sleep in a garden

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Vintage cottage room with ferns growing from the volcanic rock siding. Our door opened to an eden of hummingbirds, fruit trees, flowers and a private beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akron, Ohio

Hummingbird Resort....ho, hum

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Not much. The full breakfast was very good. Fresh fruit and juice and eggs, pancakes, bacon or sausage was on the menu. I had supper there once...
Cons: Send me on a trip so I can take pictures of what the rooms actually look like! No air conditioning in some of the rooms.
Location: Other than walking to "town", everything else was by taxi. I went zip lining and a sunset boat ride. My son's wedding was May 14 there.
The cottage at Hummingbird left a lot to be desired at over $250 per night. I expected and should have received something luxurious but instead it was an old property with old furnishings. The picture shown on Expedia was I believe from a standard room, not the bedroom in the cottage. The advertisement did not indicate it was a two-bed, two-bathroom cottage. I assumed the name was just a name, not an actual cottage! I was there by myself and certainly didn't need all that room. The cottage was kept clean except for the first day when cleaning personnel didn't come until after 4 pm. The TV was an old boxy 35" with no remote. I told the office but they couldn't find a remote even after several days. The pool was filthy. Bugs and debris were in the pool for days and cement surrounding the area had trash and cigarette butts for days. The beach was small but nice but no chairs were provided so where you going to sit??? I will not book a hotel/resort again through Expedia mostly because what you see is not what you get! I really feel I deserve a partial refund due to the unacceptable accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Close to the beach, amazing view

Posted May 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Enjoy our stay, the grounds are beautiful, with lil hummingbirds and with an amazing view of the mountains, close to town walking distance. Restaurant on site w/ great food. Hot fish cake are on point. 45min drive from UVF airport
5 out of 5
by Claire

Excellent stay for 3 nights

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent stay, walking distance to the town but out of the way enough to be quieter. Room was very nice as well as pool area. The beach isn't the nicest on the island but probably has the best pitón view we saw and is used mostly by locals. Short drive to Anse Castanet for snorkelling or diving. All hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Hummingbird is all about location. At the edge of Soufrier, on the ocean, with the Petit Piton constantly in view. The open-air bar and restaurant overlooking the small pool with the ocean in the background was quite nice. Tropical foliage is everywhere and we did see a few hummingbirds. We had a problem at check-in because the room they had ready for us did not have AC. We had pre-paid through Hotels.com for an ocean view room with a king bed and AC. It took a lot of time and polite arguing, but we were eventually assigned to the "Cottage" where the views were spectacular and the room was more than adequate. All of the staff were polite, courteouse, helpful and conversational. Plenty of smiles to go around. Within easy walking distance ,the town of Soufrier does not offer much for tourists. It is a poor, ramshackle village that is not ready for prime time. We did walk to the main pier one evening to take a very nice sunset cruise. Anse Chastenet is a short cab ride away with great snorkeling. If you plan to stay at the Hummingbird resort, my advice is to call the hotel directly to verify the amenities you see on line, including AC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only stay for location and view

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
As said by other travellers this hotel is only great for the location and view. Staff are unfriendly and inconsistent in the service that they provide. They don't have knowledge about anything to do with the hotel. The manageress is rude and ran away from problems with others guests. Breakfast was included but inconsistent. On one day we got 1 slice of toast per person an on the other one and a half. The fruit plate consisted of 1 slice of banana and papaya. Shower didn't work and hot water ran out in under a minute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, United States of America

Warmest staff, best views of Pitons, best value

Posted Nov 30, 2016
I can't give a higher review of our stay. The 12 or so employees we crossed paths with on our stay - one was nicer than the last. Warm, friendly, kind, and a big boost to the stay. Treated my wife for her 35th. If you want the best value on the island, stay here. If you want one of the top 3 best views and walkable to downtown Soulfriere, stay here. Recommendation +++
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Small friendly resort in Soufrierie

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Staff, food, rooms, views.
Cons: The showers needed updating
Location: Soufrierie is a small fishing village with many restaurants and bars to go to. Also there is the pitons which are a great viewing and can also be hike
Hummingbird is great the staff are wonderful and the rooms are very nice. The showers could use some updating and the air condition can be a little tricky but that was only my room I noticed. You get free breakfast which is huge and their drinks and lunch and dinner menus are reasonable for Saint Lucia. There is beach access although many locals will stay around these parts and try and get money out of tourists. They are very friendly for the most part although some people may not enjoy the interactions. If you accept anything from them they will expect some sort of payment. All in all loved the place definitely one of the most convenient located reports in Saint Lucia. You also get an amazing view of the carribean and petit Piton
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Amazingly relaxing. Lovely people working at the Hummingbird so was a great place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Beautiful View of the Petit Piton!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
My family and I enjoyed our stay at Humming Bird. Initially there was confusion about the room I booked, the issue was solved quckly by management. The room was comfortable and the bed had a moqquito net which helped a lot. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The landscape was tranquil and exotic. The staff were engaging, courteous, and professional. My only suggestion would to improve the water pressure and temperature in the shower/tub. The hot water was available for less than 10 minutets (there were 3 of us in room #6) therefore a couple of us had tepid showers.