Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Oct 31, 2017
We were staying 2 nd time in this hotel and never disappointed. Room was huge, but a little bit outdated. The views of Piton are amazing, free breakfast including local food was delicious, and service was very friendly. This hotel is closed to the public beach and all activities. We will come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Sleep in a garden

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Vintage cottage room with ferns growing from the volcanic rock siding. Our door opened to an eden of hummingbirds, fruit trees, flowers and a private beach.
5 out of 5
by Dawn

I'll stay again

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed with my son and daughter in law. The room was clean and perfect for our needs. Location is GREAT! Food was a little expensive, but very tasty. View is amazing with Petit Piton in view while we ate.
4 out of 5
by Donna

A/C is not provided in all rooms

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay at this resort because the staff were friendly. You have to specify for a A/C room otherwise you will be in a room without. We booked through hotel.com and the amenities states that the hotel has air conditioned rooms but does not allow you to choose. They can do a better job with the upkeep of the rooms like the toilet seat did not fit, it was a little too small. No entertainment is provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Beautiful views, friendly service & affordable!

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Orbitz
The Hummingbird Beach Resort was a very nice place. The views were amazing & the service was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akron, Ohio

Hummingbird Resort....ho, hum

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Not much. The full breakfast was very good. Fresh fruit and juice and eggs, pancakes, bacon or sausage was on the menu. I had supper there once...
Cons: Send me on a trip so I can take pictures of what the rooms actually look like! No air conditioning in some of the rooms.
Location: Other than walking to "town", everything else was by taxi. I went zip lining and a sunset boat ride. My son's wedding was May 14 there.
The cottage at Hummingbird left a lot to be desired at over $250 per night. I expected and should have received something luxurious but instead it was an old property with old furnishings. The picture shown on Expedia was I believe from a standard room, not the bedroom in the cottage. The advertisement did not indicate it was a two-bed, two-bathroom cottage. I assumed the name was just a name, not an actual cottage! I was there by myself and certainly didn't need all that room. The cottage was kept clean except for the first day when cleaning personnel didn't come until after 4 pm. The TV was an old boxy 35" with no remote. I told the office but they couldn't find a remote even after several days. The pool was filthy. Bugs and debris were in the pool for days and cement surrounding the area had trash and cigarette butts for days. The beach was small but nice but no chairs were provided so where you going to sit??? I will not book a hotel/resort again through Expedia mostly because what you see is not what you get! I really feel I deserve a partial refund due to the unacceptable accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Close to the beach, amazing view

Posted May 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Enjoy our stay, the grounds are beautiful, with lil hummingbirds and with an amazing view of the mountains, close to town walking distance. Restaurant on site w/ great food. Hot fish cake are on point. 45min drive from UVF airport
5 out of 5
by Claire

Excellent stay for 3 nights

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent stay, walking distance to the town but out of the way enough to be quieter. Room was very nice as well as pool area. The beach isn't the nicest on the island but probably has the best pitón view we saw and is used mostly by locals. Short drive to Anse Castanet for snorkelling or diving. All hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Hummingbird is all about location. At the edge of Soufrier, on the ocean, with the Petit Piton constantly in view. The open-air bar and restaurant overlooking the small pool with the ocean in the background was quite nice. Tropical foliage is everywhere and we did see a few hummingbirds. We had a problem at check-in because the room they had ready for us did not have AC. We had pre-paid through Hotels.com for an ocean view room with a king bed and AC. It took a lot of time and polite arguing, but we were eventually assigned to the "Cottage" where the views were spectacular and the room was more than adequate. All of the staff were polite, courteouse, helpful and conversational. Plenty of smiles to go around. Within easy walking distance ,the town of Soufrier does not offer much for tourists. It is a poor, ramshackle village that is not ready for prime time. We did walk to the main pier one evening to take a very nice sunset cruise. Anse Chastenet is a short cab ride away with great snorkeling. If you plan to stay at the Hummingbird resort, my advice is to call the hotel directly to verify the amenities you see on line, including AC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only stay for location and view

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
As said by other travellers this hotel is only great for the location and view. Staff are unfriendly and inconsistent in the service that they provide. They don't have knowledge about anything to do with the hotel. The manageress is rude and ran away from problems with others guests. Breakfast was included but inconsistent. On one day we got 1 slice of toast per person an on the other one and a half. The fruit plate consisted of 1 slice of banana and papaya. Shower didn't work and hot water ran out in under a minute.