Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

It is indeed 'the downtown hotel' of Soufriere!

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Good enough room - we had 2 double beds and a brand new a/c unit to keep us nice and cool in a large room with ok bathroom facilities. Kettle, fridge and microwave. Large flat screen TV with plenty English channels! No hotel facilities to speak of, other than the helpful staff but it is in the middle of town. It's fine for a night or few, but not a bargain in my opinion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2018 by Jay, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Was a pleasure to have you here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Q.C., Canada

Nice Balcony...Great view...

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: The view, the balcony, the staff.
Cons: The plumbing needs maintenance.
Location: This location is perfect, because it is in downtown Soufriere where all the tourist attraction are, also the hummingbird beach is within 8 min walk.
The hotel is on the fourth floor, so lots of stairs, our room was on the side of the piton/sea view so the view from the balcony was really amazing. The staff is very accommodating, they do listen to you and act accordingly as long as your requests are reasonable. There is a new sandwich place, a drug store, a grocery and lots of other very convenient shops right in the same building and many around the hotel like the new Tik Tak bar & souvenir shop, a small vegetable & fruits market where locals sell their products. The location of this hotel is perfect, I would say it is in the heart of St.Lucia because it is near all the main attractions of the island. So you wouldn't need to rent a car. No bedbugs or any other bugs, there were some very tiny little ants on the balcony, not many and they stayed on the balcony, never crossed the balcony door into the room. In the span of our two weeks stay, we had two or three days of very loud music in the evening and at night, because of a night club without walls or ceiling near by. but the music stopped around two a.m. at the latest. Among all the visits we did, the one to Morne Coubaril Estate was the most enjoyable thanks to the beautiful scenery and to our very kind, knowledgeable and competent Guide Mrs. Sendyann who was able to answer all our questions with great detail & precision. Over all , we really enjoyed our second trip to this one of the most beautiful islands in the world.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2018 by Jayna, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to give this awesome review. It was nice to have you. Happy that you had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Great place to stay inexpensivly to explore St Lucia. Not a fancy resort but extremely functional and conveniently located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2018 by Jayna, Hotel Management
Thanks for letting us know how you feel. We work our best to make sure guests are happy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

In middle of town

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Room outdated with TVs not working, shower curtain torn and shower down to a trickle. Comfortable bed and in middle of town , cleanliness ok. Acceptable for a budget hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good choice at a great price.

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
Good choice in the heart of La Soufriere. The area can be a little noisy, especially on a Friday night, but it is to be expected for being at the center of things. The rooms are large and air-conditioned, which is a big plus.
3 out of 5
by otmar

Posted Nov 2, 2017 on Hotels
Huge room with great view over Petit Piton, Caribbean Sea and harbor bay. Bathroom needs better lights and face basin. Guests need to be mobile as rooms are at 3d floor with no lifts. Room overlooking town to the East can be noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Johnita, Hotel Management
Thanks for choosing The Downtown Hotel. We will take your review into consideration to ensure that your stay and others may be better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st. lucia

Too much Going On

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Well I booked this hotel for 1 Night Thank Goodness! Where Do I Start... First The lady At The Front Desk Was Nice Enough But She Talked Too Much I was Tired And just Wanted TO Rest, she Kept GOing On And On When She FInally Left THe room I Looked Around The Room and it wAs clean eNOugh But all Of The Appliances ANd Furniture HAd sEEn better days. I Acutally Booked a room With A King Sized BEd but SHe PUt us In with 2 Double Beds WHEn i asked about It She told ME That The KIng Rooms Ac Was NOIsy So I Settled For THE double ROom. The Beds Were REally Unstable And Very Noisy All Night i Was TWISting and turning Because Of the extremely NOISy road Practically right OUtside The Room FROM SPeeding VEHicles To community Residents SCREaming and cussing AT each other from late night to really early hours of the morning (4am) Also although THe Ac Unit Was New And Fairly Quiet The Light From the Temperature Digits On the Unit Was Sooo Bright IT was All I Could see When MY Eyes Were Closed. There was also no cable on The tv. when I was finally ready to check out i went to the shower to get ready and there was a roach in the shower. I must say I did not quite enjoy my stay. But the area is really beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Ms Augustin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out to inform us of your stay. Upon arrival we make it our duty to keep our guest well informed and we like to let them know where certain things can be found for example the bakery across the street etc, this is called etiquette. Its unfortunate that you had a problem with this. The bed problem could have been rectified by a simple call to reception. This is why we urge our guests to inform us of any problems they may have so that we can solve them and thereby improve their stay. Since we are situated in the town, we are subjected to occasional local banter and vehicles passing by. However, once your door is closed , it doesn't prove to be such an issue. We take every review into consideration as we seek to improve our services , amenities as well as the satisfaction and comfort of our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne, IN

Central location, good value

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Location was great for exploring the Soufriere region. We had a rental car and there was usually a place to park on the street close to the hotel. The staff was very nice and knew the area very well. The room was spacious, clean and the AC worked well. There are no 110v outlets in the rooms but we were given a transformer and a hair dryer at check in at no additional cost. We were lucky to get a room with a view of the Petite Piton and the beach. There is a street party one block away on Friday nights with very loud music till around 1 am. We joined them instead of complaining...great street food and cheap Piton beers. Tell the beggers 'No' and they go away. The hotel has security guards on duty in the evenings. They lock the main doors into the hotel at midnight. They are still around after midnight, but it is best if you talk to them and the front desk if you plan on getting in after midnight. Wifi worked great as did the small refrigerator. There was plenty of hot water for showers and the TV worked fine. Grocery stores, the hospital, fire and police depts, Hummingbird Beach and many small restaurants are all within walking distance. All in all, a great place to stay for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views of the pitons

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Serviceable hotel with hot water, great views of the pitons if you choose ocean view, and clean rooms. Great way to experience Soufriere nightlife with many local bars surrounding the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vacation

Posted Mar 27, 2017
No washcloth, refrigerator never got cold and noisy locals early in the mornings and late at night. Constant loud music from passing cars and motorcycle owners revving their engines. I believe the locals forgot that there's a hotel in the area. Also the area is where a lot of the locals hang out. Felt safe walking alone in the area, most of the locals were friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Ms Charles, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out to inform us of your stay. Upon cleaning and inspection of your reserved room , it was discovered that the switch for the refrigerator was turned off which could have been rectified by a simple call to reception. This is why we urge our guests to inform us of any problems they may have so that we can solve them and thereby improve their stay. Since we are situated in the town, we are subjected to occasional local banter and vehicles passing by. However, once your door is closed , it doesn't prove to be such an issue. We take every review into consideration as we seek to improve our services , amenities as well as the satisfaction and comfort of our guests.