Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burbank, CA

Great hotel, great staff & amazingly accommodating

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff and amazing views
Cons: Update the rooms
I was booked on another island and had to find a room at the last minute. This hotel was amazing to me and my friends. We arrived on the island around 8 am, long before check-in time, and the staff was great to us. Made sure we had a table for breakfast (even though we were not checked in yet) and worked extra to get us rooms as soon as possible, which they did and we had rooms by 11:15am. I cannot thank them enough for how they treated us and for turning the weekend that started off as a trip from hell to a wonderful, quick, getaway. If I ever have the chance to visit the Maldives again I will stay here for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Holiday Team , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from Holiday Island We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the great review and shared comments. It will be our pleasure to serve you again in this beautiful Island. Thank you and hope to see you soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from South Africa

Honeymoon Paradise

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Airconditioned rooms, king size bed, friendly staff, and most of all... Amazing food!
Location: Awesome location, not too far from the airport and you don't even hear the planes. Beachside villa is amazing! So many activities on the island!
We had the amazing opportunity to spend our December 2013 Honeymoon at the Holiday Resort and Spa... Coolly welcomed with a fresh fruit juice! It was the best holiday we've been on by water... From clear waters and white beach sand to a king size bed and ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL CUISINE!!! Well worth the money we spent to be there and absolutely cannot wait to go back!
1 out of 5
by Dr. Salil from Houston, TX

A Nightmare Stay in Holiday Island Villas

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Location, clean beach, clean sand, good ambiance, good water sports, good lagoon, good lounge chairs, cleanliness behind our villas, no insects.
Cons: People should be friendlier and know how to treat guests, hospitality should be the first priority, NAZEER SHOULD BE FIRED IMMEDIATELY.
Location: Location is great and nearby Sun Island resort seems to be a very nice resort. $230 per adult mandatory transportation charges were exorbitant.
Horrible experience! We were detained upon arrival at Male airport for 3 hours at the specific instructions of Nazeer (or Naseer), the reservation manager because we supposedly underpaid for our youngest daughter, Ananya's reservation who was booked as a child/infant by Expedia although we clearly told Expedia that she is 14 yrs old at the time of booking and she was booked as an adult during the Air India flights between Bangalore and Male. Nazeer forced me to write a promissory note for $600 at Male airport before he let us fly to Holiday Island. Upon arrival at the resort, he made us pay the extra $600 plus the total domestic transportation charges of $1150 (or 5 adults) although it was supposed to be collected at check out. Nazeer was awful, rude and obnoxious and he did not listen to any reasoning. The room 203 was flooded twice on 29th of Dec upon showering and the hotel staff's response time was very, very late during these occurrences. The bathroom toiletries were never provided for our two rooms, 203 and 204 -- no soaps, shampoo and conditioners were replenished. They were reluctant to give extra bath towels at the resorts -- and it was supposed to be a beach resort. The food was generally tolerable, but the Maldavian Night food (29th of Dec) was terrible, food was mostly uncooked and tasteless and uneatable. The restaurant staff was generally unfriendly, rude and inflexible except a few gems of guys including our personal waiter, Aili Ali at the rest., Kamal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Honeymooners from Beirut, Lebanon

Great Island with awsome beach

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Friendly and cozy
Cons: Bathroom ammenities and TV (change it to LCD)
Location: Sun Island Resort, Sports activities.
Excellent experience, it was better than we expected, traveled to Holiday Island on July 4, 2013 and stayed there until July 9. We had 1 day of rain and storm, 1 day of party cloudly/rain and the rest blue sky, perfect temparuture. We selected HB for food and it was plenty and very tasty (international type for all), you will not get hungry before dinner and would not have time to eat anyway with some sports activities. Spa was great and price was excelent, they offered us 30% off if we come between 9am to noon, ended up paying $175 for 2 (50 min message and 30 min bath). Price for drinks was not bad afterall, paid around $12 for cocktail, soda $4. They gave us 2 water bottles daily. We stayed in villa 173, the best we think, great view to the beach. They have free boat ride between Holiday Island and Sun Island (5-10 min), dont miss it, it is a great to walk there (pretty big, rent a bike $4/day), we went and saw the shark feeding and Sting rays for free. They have disco next to swiming pool so you can dance if you want. Overall it was great experience and we were very happy to have chosen Holiday Island for our Honeymoon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

The hotel far from comfort , no facilites at all

Posted Apr 10, 2012 on Hotels
Not easy to get what you need , difficult to go any where , transportation very limited , you have to stay in the hotel and excpt what over to you to eat , practice activites, and to move. Sorry , it's like military camp ,no body smile .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Return Travel to resort

Posted Oct 8, 2011 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bello anche se datato

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: La spiaggia
Cons: la camera
Location: sulla meravigliosa spiaggia
Bell'hotel su una spiaggia incantevole con la possibilità di recarsi anche su Sun Island ancora più bella
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lucca

Relax assoluto

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Fantastico, un vero paradiso! Consigliato a tutti coloro che vogliono staccare la spina e dedicarsi al relax assoluto.. lo staff, super organizzato e molto cordiale farà il resto! Per il mare non ci sono commenti.. lascia senza parole..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milano

Bellissimo

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Rientrato da due giorni dalle Maldive e da questo splendido resort.. NATURA e' la parola che descrive al meglio questo paradiso. Hotel semplice, confortevole e molto funzionale. Io e la mia ragazza ci siamo trovati molto bene anche con il cibo, la riservatezza dell'ambiente e con il personale del diving center cordiale. Consiglio vivamente!
5 out of 5
by CD from Denmark

Bryllupsrejse

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels
Vi har lige været på den mest fantastiske bryllupsrejse, hvor omgivelserne og opholdet har været over alt forventning. Øen, resortet, medarbejderne og vejret har været kun været med til at gøre det til en uforglemmelig oplevelse.