Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Whale shark

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
It was a long journey due to the transfer of sea plane, the waiting at the lounge etc. Plus the fact that the sea plane needs to fill to its maximum capacity, so we had to wait around for other passengers. about 3 hours wait at the lounge which is a waste of time, considering our trip is short, only 3 nights. Also, the sea plane has to alight other guests in another resort, thus, more waiting. By the time we reach the resort, we were tired and many precious hours lost.. Nice resort marred by some oversight as management doesn't pay attention to details. - Staff at restaurants are not so friendly, you have to greet them before they greet you. - It is a pity to see such a beautiful swimming pool over looking the stunning Maldivian sea with a few of the lounge chairs' cushion very visibly torn. You can even see the styrofoam coming off. - The staffs kept all the cushions under plastic wraps even after the rain, and we have to ask for cushions for our deck chair. - Room was not properly cleaned. However, the whole trip was saved by the most endearing whale shark named Stephan, we saw during the snorkeling excursion, the only reason why we travelled all the way to South Ari Atoll. nothing else really matters. Thanks to Amanda, the Marine Biologist and her team, who have made an exception for us to go for whale shark excursion, even though there was no schedule of whale shark excursion during those 3 days while we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jordan

Beautiful hotel & island. Only issue, cleanliness.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: On our last day, we were happily surprised with additional 4 hour access to a day-use beach villa, after checking out of the overwater villa.
Cons: The bathrooms in the villas do need some maintenance, as they are wearing out. We had issues with a blocked/leaking toilet, and blocked sink.
Location: Fantastic location for snorkeling and scuba diving. There are beautiful corals, and sea life surrounding the resort island.
ROOM We stayed both the Beach Villa and Overwater Villa. Both villas were very beautiful, very spacious, and with an outdoor area, where you can relax and enjoy the views. I recommend trying both villas, as the experience differs. At the beach villa, you are between plants and trees, with the beach 10 meters away. At the overwater villa, it’s purely ocean view with a ladder to access the ocean. The island is absolutely beautiful; fantastic nature. CLEANLINESS This is where we were very disappointed at the hotel. We stayed in our overwater villa on one of the days, while the room service came in to clean the room. We were shocked to see how the room was made up. There was no cleaning done in the room, only the bed made up. In the bathroom, the room service wiped the counters dry with one of our used facial towels. He also swept the floor of sand with a broom. He then rinsed our used coffee mugs, in the bathroom sink with no detergents, only fingers and water. Then dried the mugs with a towel, and returned them to the minibar cupboard. This by far was the only, and worse experience at the hotel. And we wouldn’t have witnessed it, had we been out swimming. SERVICE All in all, the service is very good, and the staff is friendly; especially at the reception and bar. At the main hotel restaurant, the waiters are frowning most of the time, but they are polite and can be nice. Definitely recommended to friends.
5 out of 5
by Robert D. from USA

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Staff where very friendly and service was excellent. The buffet had a nice selection. There was numerous sports (snorkel, kayak, scuba, etc) and the spa was fantastic. The scuba staff where excellent. Just a great place.
5 out of 5
by Jongik from Colombo

good

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Apparently you own the island !

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: 1. Sister Island Lonobo 2. Buffet with unlimited drinks if upgraded to all inclusive 3. Water Chalet is superb
Cons: 1. IF water chalet with swimming pool , would be nice
1. We are the only Chinese in the island :) ( But we are Malaysian Chinese ) 2. Lonobo sister island is a must to go , super clean beach 3. Buffet are nice , strongly recommended 4. Recommended to upgrade to all-inclusive on 2nd day onwards and you will enjoy free sunset cruise , and worry free 5. with Unlimited drink with Coconet Lips , Maafushivaru Ladies ....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed 5 nights at Water Villa for our honeymoon. Maafushivaru is a small resort, walking around the island takes 20-25 mins. Hits: 1. It was a beautiful and clean resort with amazing house reefs and clear turquoise water. 2. There was a complimentary trip to its sister island - Lonubu which is very peaceful and secluded. 3. The connecting seaplane was prepared seamlessly for us. Maafushivaru helped with the booking and informed us the timing for our return seaplane. Misses: 1. We did not see any turtles, reef sharks or stingrays. After checking with one of the staff, she directed us to an area with strong current. As we are not proficient in swimming, we skipped the chance. Our friends who stayed in other resorts in Maldives were able to catch a glimpse of these animals at shoreline without snorkelling. 2. The daily buffets were usually similar without much surprises, likely to get bored if you stay more than 3 days. 3. The night activities had low participation rate, eg. only 1 couple at the movie night. 4. Every Water Villa is directly connected to the sea through a suntanning deck from its bathroom but both the door and window of the bathroom can't be locked. We felt insecured as anyone could enter the room although chances might be low. If you are looking for a secluded & quiet resort, or excursions to Manta Point or see whale sharks, this might be the right place for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Excellent Resort

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Quiet and few guests
Cons: Serving more seafood will fit the theme of the island resort.
Beautiful coral right at the resort. We did lots of snorkeling by simply swimming out from our water villa. Hotel staff members were friendly and polite. We enjoyed fully during our short stay at the resort. We checked in our room right when we arrived at 8am and enjoyed our breakfast there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Honeymoon Experience

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Staff committment to your holiday experience is outstanding. We forgot contact solution. They had some couriered in the next day without charging!
Cons: Food. The variety is great, but comparing with other resort buffets, the quality is below par. Very bland all round.
Location: Sunset cruise, Spa, private island trips, fantastic house reef (snorkelling). Diving etc although we did not go.
Excellent service and plenty of smiles. Maafushivaru made us feel very special. Great communication pre-trip, all throughout our 6 night stay. Easy to navigate at airport to find where to go. Special honeymoon packages, massages, free champagne, beach dinner etc. This is a small island reachable by seaplane which in itself is a must. We went to 2 islands for our honeymoon. We found that Maafushivaru felt less commercial - it felt like the island was ours (and they even have a sister island if you want more exclusivity). The house coral reef is fantastic. Jump off the pier and snorkel with an amazing variety of fish without the need to travel on an excursion.