Ratings based on 2,105 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin texas

Cute hotel but needs work

Posted Sep 25, 2017
The location was great but the room was less than desirable. The room looked and smelled unclean. We had hair in our tub and urine on the toile bowl base. The bed and room smelled musty. The walls were dirty with splattering of some sort. The staff was nice but overworked and skeleton crew. This hotel has potential but until they get more staff and take note of the condition of their rooms, I would not stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix az

Stay away!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
If you stay here be prepared to leave disappointed and quite possibly ill from mold exposure! During my stay i had the "pleasure" of experiencing serveral rooms before i was finally settled into a room with 2 working light bulbs and mold growing from the walls:). It was the best they had and refused to give me a refund. My first room was ok but several bulbs were burnt out and unfortunately couldnt be changed until the following day which i agreed to but then in the middle of the night the ac broke in the room and i had to move. The next room also had broken light bulbs. (Like seriously how can 5 of of 7 bulbs be burnt out?). It also had a broken ac that had been replaced with a small window unit. Unfort not big enough for the room so it never shut off nor got below 74 but oh well. I could have handled some burnt out lights and less than ideal ac conditions but what was intolerable was the stench of mold that permeates the hotel. The staff tries to cover it with coconut airfresheners and heavy duty chemical to no avail, I thought maybe I was making it up till i saw the massive amount of water damage to the walls that they attempted to patch Its an entire shame, one could tell it was a beautiful hotel at one time but noone has taken care of it and clearly noone takes pride At check out i again complained to the front desk staff and got a "wow im sorry" but nothing else. The 'manager' sitting there didnt even look up from making copies, she could care less she had my $
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort worth, tx

Unique

Posted Sep 15, 2017
I loved this hotel. The decor, furnishings, and fixtures were very unique. Nice and modern with an amazing bath area. There weren't many guests at this hotel, and that is a shame because the value and comfort couldn't be surpassed. There are some negatives which the general public may not like i.e. the Bar area and road construction out front. They lack room service and other minute details, but that doesn't diminish the quality of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin,Texas

Gross

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Came into a open room and had wet floors and the counter does were still dirty from the last clients. The hotel is under construction and was all over the place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Dont get a room on the 2nd floor!! Humid

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Everything was great! But for some reason the temperature was so much lower on the 2nd floor than any other floor in the building. So if you like for your room to have great ac definitely request the 1st or 3rd floor!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abilene, Texas

Nice Hotel on the Decline

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: I like the way the hotel originally had some very unique features such as rain showers and luxury suites.
Cons: Fix the broken items. Clean the rooms. Lock the doors. Hire quality staff. Light the property. Finish renovating the property.
Location: Due to construction on Interstate 35, it is difficult to get anywhere. However, this is Austin, and numerous opportunities for entertainment exist.
My wife and I discovered the Casulo Hotel in South Austin about five years ago, and we loved our experience there. However, in each successive stay over the last five years, our satisfaction has lessened. The hotel appears to be in a constant state of renovation. It is next door to a hotel property which is currently in construction, and the construction on Interstate Highway 35 makes it very difficult to get into or out of the property. We were supposed to receive two free drinks upon checking in because of our standing with Expedia, but that did not happen. During this stay, I could get no hot water to come out of the shower. So, I had to take a bath. I never got hot water in the sink. Items were left in the room from the previous occupant, and the room was not particularly clean. The air conditioner was not working. So, there was a portable air conditioner in the room. It never stopped running, and the room was never at a comfortable temperature. The portable air conditioner created a very humid environment, and it was noisy. The property is in a location which is not a safe neighborhood, and at night it is poorly lit and has numerous transient people wandering through the parking lot. In addition, the back door, which has a sign claiming that it can be opened only with a key, is NEVER locked. We have given the Casulo its last chance. We will not be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Overall it's dirty with a weird smell. Surfaces throughout the hotel are sticky. Swimming pool was extremely small. They don't open the bar anymore.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Uggghhh, what happen to hospitality????

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Style of the room
Cons: location, staff, room service, cleanliness of rooms. check behind the TV stands people, you will be repulsed.
The location is horrible, BUT it was a nice surprise to see a unique room which was original and eclectic. The first thing i DID notice was old BBQ sauce still on the wall in two places ( i assumed this was simply over-looked by cleaning) BUT.. i didn't get room service (towels) until 5 pm!! when I came back to my room the bed was made, but the tub i used was NOT cleaned AND my used soap still at the bottom of the tub melted into the floor!!! the morning of check-out, housekeeping was there 11:55 banging on the door over and over until i answered! I called the front desk for a late check out for 1:00 but the cleaning cart was still parked right outside my door. then 12:55: knocking again!! I said i was walking out the door and housecleaning was just standing there at the door as if i was being stalked, i was so uncomfortable, felt rushed out the hotel and upset about the inconsistency of their timing of service and rudeness of checking out. i base my hotel stays on how your treating when you need to leave, not how your treated when you check in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NOT A HAPPY CUSTOMER!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel Bar I've Ever Been To

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The rest of the staff were amazing
Cons: Either have a dedicated bartender or make the dedicated bartender do her job
I booked the Casulo for the weekend to take an exam up the street on Monday. On Saturday night, at 9 PM, I went to the bar. The bartender Alyssa was actually manning the desk. Alyssa told me that she was busy, and that she'd send someone to "get me something." The maintenance guy shows up 15 min later, and offers me beer. I told him I didn't want a beer. He again asked if I wanted one, and I told him that I don't drink beer. So, he goes into a liquor cabinet (which from what the bartender told me on Friday only had gin, and that the rest of the liquor was locked up and she didn't have the key), I see at least one more bottle in there, and pretends all they had was gin. I asked him what else was down there, and he left, telling me he'd get the bartender. 15 minutes after that (30 minutes now), I go over to the front desk and ask the bartender. Alyssa blamed the maintenance guy for not coming back, told me that she was really busy (no one had come in in the past 30 minutes that I had sat and waited at the bar patiently), it was prime time and that she wouldn't be able to until much later. No one came, I waited longer, and eventually left to get something from somewhere else. Definitely, hands down the WORST bar experience I have EVER had in my ENTIRE life (so 17 years once I was eligible to drink). Alyssa might possibly be the worst bartender in Austin, Texas. Also, cable did not work very well, neither did the air conditioning in some rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

This hotel is overated.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Off of 35 that's under construction.
At the time we booked this hotel on Expedia it was rated 4 stars. Our rooms carpet and floor were dirty. The wood flooring they have in the restroom was stained in front of the toilet as you can imagine gross. Our room overlooked the upstairs parking area where the trash was picked up at 4:30 in the morning and then trash strung all over the lot. Pool was very small. Nothing looked like the pictures featured on Expedia. I feel Expedia needs to do a better job on reviewing hotels before they list them as 4 starts. This was our 35 wedding anniversary trip and we were very disappointed.