Ratings based on 1,225 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Ignore the lobby - the room was clean & cheap

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: price
Cons: clean the lobby doors and elevator
Location: close to everything
The room was clean, the service was friendly. The only negative was the entrance doors, elevators and lobby are very dirty - giving the hotel a grungy, run-down, feel. The room, however, was clean and nice for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your experience at Extended Stay America. We are glad to know you liked our affordable rates and the service provided by our staff. Also, your comments show we have room for improvements and we will certainly introspect and implement necessary measures in an effort to improve ourselves. We hope to see you again so we can deliver you an exceptional experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to downtown Austin

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Room was clean and staff was polite but it was incredibly loud there, doors slamming and people yelling above at 3:00AM both nights. Mattresses were very hard. Definitely did not leave there rested.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to know you liked our location and our clean environment. We apologize for the noise issues you experienced. On rare occasions we have guests who do not adhere to the property rules concerning noise, resulting in disrupted sleep and annoyance for all those in the immediate vicinity. We are terribly sorry you had an uncomfortable night and hope you will give us a chance to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The price was high comparative to the condition of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid feedback. We apologize that you were not happy with our pricing policy and regret the inconvenience it caused. Your feedback is appreciated as it will help us improve our performance moving forward. Please know our price is based and compared with the competitors within the same vicinity. We hope to have the opportunity to make your next stay perfect in every respect. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abilene, Texas

Decent Hotel Near Downtown Austin

Posted Sep 10, 2017
My wife and I chose to stay at this location because we wanted a relatively cheap hotel for a one night stay after the University of Texas Volleyball games ion Friday night and before the University of Texas Football game on Saturday. This hotel was perfect for that purpose. It is not fancy. It is somewhat rundown. It is not particularly clean. It is, however, close to South Congress Avenue, downtown Austin, and the University of Texas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Nate, thank you for choosing Extended Stay America for your overnight stay. We are glad that you found us to be a great value and that our proximity to the University of Texas and many more places were convenient for your needs. We appreciate your feedback as it let us know the areas where we need to improve. On behalf of everyone here, we invite you to stay with us again the next time you visit this area. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

aged room shows some wear and tear

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The facility is old and it shows. I won't say it was dirty, but did not feel great staying there. I also smelled all kinds of food as I walked the hall way. I don't stay often at the apartment type hotel with a kitchen, so I felt strange. That's something you might consider when you pick a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jeff, thank you for being our guest. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and we apologize for failing to live up to your expectations. We hope you will return so that we can have an opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Deception

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Looks much nicer on picture. It is ia na good location, but it is dirty
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are very passionate about providing our guests with clean accommodations, and we apologize we fell short in this case. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping team to see where we went wrong, so any necessary improvements to our processes can be made. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great locarion for conference center

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I only stayed one night and was surprised by the great location. Threadgill's next door to the right and 24 hours Whataburger across the street on the left - perfect! Full-size refrigerator, stove, etc. I will definitely stay here when I am in this area of Austin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your overnight stay at Extended Stay America and loved our location and in-room amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff was super friendly! The bikes outside, for rental, were a nice touch. Whataburger right across the street, even better!!!
Wonderful stay!!! Close to everything, food, drinks, shopping, water, it was pretty fabulous!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sylvia, thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. It’s a pleasure knowing you had a great time being with us and loved our location which made your stay enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty Entrance Sets Tone

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown
Cons: Clean the front door entrance. De-odorize the hallway. Get housekeeping staff to clean rooms daily.
Location: Close to river walk jogging path. Across the street is Whataburger.
Dirty hotel entrance with scuff marks and worn doors to greet you. Staff was very nice though. Hallways were smelly of moldy, fishy odors. Air conditioner had to be fixed, no iron, no desk chair but were provided upon request. Free breakfast is lame. Coffee, muffin, instant oatmeal and granola bar. No housekeeping staff for 4 straight days. Hotel is OK but definitely not much over 1.5 -2.0 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We’re sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay. Our housekeepers service the rooms once in a week offering minimal intrusion to their home-like stay, we happily offer this service to you at a minimal fee. Also, we have noted you did not like our breakfast offerings and that you were upset with the cleanliness of the hotel. We will certainly share your concerns with the respective teams. We value your feedback and will make sure going forward our front desk communicates well about our room cleaning policies. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you better. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Disappointing, wouldn't stay here again

Posted Jul 21, 2017
We stayed here for 5 nights during a trip to Austin, in one of their 'studios' (basically a regular room with a fridge and microwave), at $100 per night. Really weird smell in the hallways the whole time, and the room smelled funky when we first arrived, too. No housekeeping, so you don't get new towels or the trash taken out. Old, uncomfortable mattress. Staff was slow to respond to requests and overwhelmed with check in responsibilities, seems like most evenings they leave a single person in charge of the whole hotel. This was what I would have expected from a motel for $40 a night, not the price we paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sarah, our goal is to provide a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we are sorry we fell short of this. I apologize for the cleanliness and service issues you encountered while you were here. Your concerns regarding the odor issues will be shared with my housekeeping staff to take corrective actions. Our team prides itself on delivering wonderful hospitality, so we're sorry this was not your experience with us. Rest assured that we take these reviews seriously and then fine-tune procedures to help ensure we do not repeat mistakes. We hope you will consider giving us another chance so we can make this up to you the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager