Ratings based on 1,010 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Close to border

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Hotel was a lot better than expected. Clean, quite, great location , with easy access to freeway. The was Staff vey helpful & friendly. Bathroom shower in tub was a rain head and had safety guard rail on side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchaca, TX

Great hotel near the Border.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel, it was clean, had all the amenities I needed, safe and fast food restaurants are plentiful and the staff is great
Cons: Maybe providing bottle water (2) in each room.
Location: There is Mexico a hope skip and jump nearby. There are two malls nearby and you can buy fast food everywhere and some places of interest near by.
This is a great hotel near the border and it makes it safe to visit to and from Mexico. There many places to eat, the people are very friendly and the staff are extra nice. The hotel is safe, good security on the doors to each room and everything that you need for a week stay is there. The staff is extra nice and if you need information or something printed, they will work with you and with a smile. There are two shopping malls nearby so shopping for things to take home is very plentiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to eating places.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Had a great time and the staff was very helpful. Came down for BioMed in Tijuana and the van service was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles Ca

Last Minute Overnight Stay

Posted Jun 2, 2017
We found last minute tickets to Kings of Leon in Chula Vista and this place was the nicest hotel around. It helped that it was clean and they didnt have sketchy people wanderinf around. Best sleep i had in awhile! Thanks BW!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley

Great value, quiet, close to the border

Posted May 22, 2017
Booked a room for 2 nights, 1 bed (2 people). Late check-in was no problem, room was clean (couch had minor staining, bed did not and towels were cleaned as well). No bugs or odors. A/C unit worked as expected. Shower was very nice "rainfall" type of unit, not high pressure but effective and good for taller people. Curtains were clean. Surprisingly nice firework (not sure why I thought it was worth mentioning, but there you are). Free breakfast consists of waffles, cold cereal (3 choices), oatmeal (with fixins), danishes and bagels, muffins, juice, coffee, and the most surprising (but maybe not because it's close to Tijuana), chilaquiles with fresh chopped jalapenos and onions/cilantro. Totally worth it. About 15-20 minutes away from GasLamp district, and 5 minutes from downtown Chula Vista. Grounds are nice, plants are maintained and janitorial/housekeeping crew are pleasant and smiling. 4/5, would recommend and return. Did not get a 5 because this is not a luxury hotel. Few accommodations, but well-maintained makes this a no frills, best bang for you buck type of place. If you need fancy (and double the price), go to the Marriott. Otherwise, this place should satisfy all but the most demanding of guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

A Pleasant Surprise near the Tijuana Border

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: People from all over the U.S. come to stay when they go to Mexico to receive medical care.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, and the U.S. -Mexico border
After checking out early from our original hotel due to how much we were disappointed, checking in and staying here at the BW was a breathe of fresh air. The desk clerk, Claudia was nice, friendly, and has a good personality. We had a nice conversation. She even remembered and greeted us the next day. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. We appreciated all the electrical outlets. Although we did not have time to use the pool or Jacuzzi, The pool, Jacuzzi , and pool area was clean. Parking was convenient. This hotel is close to shopping, restaurants, the border, and freeway. It is also convenient for those going to get medical care in Tijuana. We will definitely stay here again on our future travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice, secure and clean hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Nice hotel, very clean and safe, breakfast is really good, staff is friendly. It's a little bit loudly if your room is close to the breakfast room. Close to shopping (America Oullets) and also very near from the border with Tijuana. The hotel is near some convenient fast food restaurants. I really like this hotel, this is my third stay in this hotel. I strongly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west covina ca

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Excellent stay rooms were nicely cleaned and nice customer service would definitely stay here again. The hotel is close to the border but in a nice areas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Pleasant and Convenient

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Staff was providing, the breakfast, and room comforts.
Cons: Surprisingly, the room alarm clock was flashing when I came checked in and turned out to be broken. This should have been noticed before I checked in
Location: Close top many fast food restaurants and gas stations. One block from the main hwy ( hwy 5) on ramp and two blocks from the off ramp.
Visually, a pleasant southern California look and style w/the grounds kept up nicely. Room was clean and welcoming noticing all the conveniences like the large tv w/remote, microwave w/coffees and teas, in room sink, ironing board w/iron, plus various other comforts I didn't use but could be important travel needs for others. Rather than use bar soaps and create waste w/unused bar, they have liquid soaps and shampoo dispensers installed in the shower w/a huge shower nozzle (great coverage !). The queen size bed was very comfortable w/4 pillows provided. The complementary breakfast was the best w/ all the basics..great coffee/cereals, waffle making needs/fruits/breads n bakery/juices and more eaten inside or outside in their umbrella'd dining new courtyard. I could have asked for more, but, I was supplied with everything I wanted or needed. They also used paper products for cups and bowls which made me feel good, steering away from plastics. All round a positive feel w/a 4 star rating and reasonable value.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good experience every time...

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Nice and clean. Everything worked well. Friendly, efficient staff. Hot shower. Comfy bed. Quiet area. Internet actually worked. No hidden charges. Decent variety and quality of breakfast. Easy check in and check out. Rooms are fairly spacious and well laid out and can easily accommodate a playpen. Easy freeway access fairly close to the border. There's a Carl's Jr. burger place and a Cocos family restaurant just outside the hotel parking lot, and an Arco gas station. We've stayed there several times over the years and probably will again.