Ratings based on 1,034 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa rosa, ca

Review

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Nice motel bit price for services was far too high. Comicon caused a price spike which is understood but a motel for over $200 a night seems a bit much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Victor M. Carrera, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, thank you for your comments. I Agree, with comicon in town the pricing for rooms in San Diego was high. Please visit us again, our prices are competitive and I am sure you will feel you are getting your moneys worth. Regards, Victor M Carrera General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brentwood

Nice hotel close to shopping/beach

Posted Jul 11, 2017
AC was broken. It was hot and uncomfortable to sleep at night. Breakfast was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Victor M. Carrera, Hotel Management
Dear Cristina, Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the ac not working, I understand how frustrating it can be not to have a working ac unit. We have corrected the issue. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope you will visit us again. We will make sure we exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Victor M Carrera General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ALL BAD

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything: Customer Service, management, cleanliness.
Location: Freeway is right outside the window. Lots of traffic noise.
The front entrance was locked when I arrived, and even though the staff was assisting guests at the counter, I was waved around to the night window. I waited patiently for he staff to finish with the guests, and then they forgot I was standing at the window. I finally got my room key for my king bed unit. There wasn't a lot of parking, so I had to haul all my luggage up to my room, just to find that the room had not been cleaned. The bed was slept in, dirty towels and trash in the room. I called the front desk and they said they would have to move me to a double queen. I said no, and they said they were able to accommodate me in a single queen. I went back down to the night window, and asked if I would be reimbursed the difference for the down-grade. Instead of the reimbursement, the clerk said he would put me in a king room, but it was a smoking room. At this point it was late and I was very tired, so I accepted and hauled all my luggage to the opposite side of the hotel. When I got in the room and took my shoes off, the carpet was wet as though it had been cleaned, but hadn't dried. I slept in a lumpy bed, and since it had been a long night, the next morning I requested a late check-out. Housekeeping knocked on my door four different times while I was trying to get some extra sleep. I will NOT return to this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Victor M Carrera, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I understand how frustrating it can be to not receive the service you deserve and for that we apologize. Our staff is always aware of any unexpected circumstances and can make special arrangements to accommodate our guest. We will be using the information you share to train our staff. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you that we can provide excellent service and a room that is above your expectations. Sincerely, Victor M. Carrera
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Nice clean hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: It was clean and the staff was very friendly.
Cons: The pool could of used a little work. The water seemed to be very cloudy and clear. You could not see the bottom.
Location: The location was loud with it being right next to the freeway. Once you get use to the traffic sound, it's not that bad. :)
The staff was really friendly and we arrived early and they were very accommodating in getting us into our room early.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chula Vista

Posted Jul 6, 2017
I forgot my wallet when I checked out and they didn't let me go back and look for my wallet. They made me wait and go through nonsense just to get my wallet when I knew where it was at the whole time they were just being lazy and didn't want to walk up to the room real quick. Never again will i choose this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Victor M. Carrera, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I apologize for making you wait for your wallet. The procedures that we follow are necessary for the security or our guest. I am glad we were able to get your wallet back. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance. Respectfully, Victor M Carrera General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chula vista

Exactly what I needed.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Quiet, clean, friendly, easier than this review...Quiet, clean, friendly, easier than this review...Quiet, clean, friendly, easier than this review...Quiet, clean, friendly, easier than this review...Quiet, clean, friendly, easier than this review...Quiet, clean, friendly, easier than this review...Quiet, clean, friendly, easier than this review...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
No hassles, friendly staff, right off the expressway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Noisy on the freeway side, old carpets, breakfast was ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by rbarboza, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you had this experience while staying with us. we do regular maintenance and housekeeping deep cleaning on our rooms on a regular basis so this does not happen at our property. I am sorry the room was not to your expectations and understand the inconvenience. Unfortunately due to the location of our hotel we can not have control of the traffic noise, but we do appreciate your understanding.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a good stay

Posted Jun 26, 2017
pool was dirty. construction started outside our room at 7am . terrible stay. We do not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by rbarboza, Hotel Management
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We always try and maintain a clean property so that all our guests can enjoy everyone of our amenities. I do understand your frustration with the construction noise, we are currently under renovations so that we can continue to offer the great quality hotel that you need.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A/C didnt work and ended up with a smoking room

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The breakfast in the morning was very nice. Plenty of options and the food was fresh.
Cons: Increase the speed of checking in, fix the A/C units in the rooms. I spoke with another patron at breakfast who said their A/C didnt blow cold either.
Location: Location is good if you are going to either a concert at Matress Firm Arena or going to Soak City. Otherwise, this location isn't near anything nice.
We checked in and had to leave about 10 minutes later to get to our concert. We turned the A/C on before we left because the room was very hot. When we returned about 10 hours later we found the A/C blowing warm air and the room was miserable. It was after midnight so we slept with the windows open which would have been OK, but the back rooms are about 50 ft from the I-5 on ramp and the traffic noise is horrific. Also, we were placed in a smoking room and wish we would have been told that during check in. Speaking of which, when we checked in there were 3 people behind the desk but only one of them checking people in. there were several people waiting but that didnt seem to speed them up at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Rbarboza, Hotel Management
I am very sorry that you had this problem with the A/c. We will always do try and make sure that our rooms are ready and in proper working order by the time our guests come in. I am sorry about the check in also. WE do appreciate the nice comments, we are glad you enjoyed our amenities and breakfast.