Ratings based on 2,844 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ut

Nice hotel close to freeway

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: Looks updated, nice and friendly staff, vending machines on the floors, laundry room, warmed pool, close to freeway and Harbor rd.
Cons: Cleaning, have elevators inspected,
Location: Close to I-5 and Harbor rd. Other than the restaurant in the parking lot there aren’t a lot of places close by to eat.
Check in was easy and fast by nice staff. Hotel is close to I-5. It is in an industrial area next to train tracks. I liked the sound of the trains at night. I could see the ocean from my fourth floor window. The breeze at night was nice but we had to shut the window around 8 a.m. due to the fuel smell I am guessing was from the businesses down the street. My husband and kids enjoyed the pool and spa. We found pubic hair on our bathroom towels and there was a dirty Q-tip under the sink. The beds were not amazing but were comfortable. They had a nice fire in the lobby. There are two elevators next to each other. One was slow to open. It made awkward moments when someone was waiting on the other side. The other elevator had trouble moving after floor buttons were pushed. I ended up taking the stairs more often than not. They don’t have breakfast but you get a 15% discount with the restaurant across the parking lot. You have to dine in to get the discount.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Western Plus Marina Gateway

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Location and clean rooms
Cons: We would not change anything
Location: San Diego
Very pleased with the hotel from the friendly staff to the superior rooms. I just found my favorite hotel in San Diego. Only ten minutes to downtown and twenty minutes to east county.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and posting such a positive review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you soon in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel; convenient location

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Cons: Include on-site breakfast bar.
I loved the morning coffee bar in the lobby. The hotel is very convenient for freeway access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Nice hotel. Nice pool. Quick uber ride to downtown San diego
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would likely stay again..

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Terrific location for our holiday trip with easy access from the highway (traffic does snarl several miles north of this property every afternoon around 3pm); coffee machine was in high demand as expected (no breakfast) and some guests called maintenance, which had to come several times in the morning to fix the machine; bathroom size is great, although the warm water was missing in the shower; maintenance was unable to address that issue; the executive room has an interesting, geometrically challenged layout of the room with an angled bed and bedroom overall (not sure if this is a new style).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: very clean
Cons: nothing
Everything was great .Room was very clean and everyone was polite.Awesome place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and posting such a positive review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you soon in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Everything was great, friendly staff, very clean, and nice bar and grill next door! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice hotel, incredibly friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Very nice, clean hotel. Clean rooms and grounds. There is a restaurant in the same vicinity with great good and entertainment on weekends! Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location, great price.

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: The staff was very nice. The room was clean. The rate was excellent. The location was ideal for me.
Cons: The room that I was in didn't have black-out curtains, only shear curtains. It was difficult to sleep with light shining in.
Location: Great location. Twenty minutes from downtown and pier. Close to Costco, grocery stores, restaurants, and public transit.
Situated in a great location. Only 20 minutes from downtown and pier. Close to a Denny's and In-N-Out, and other restaurants. There is a restaurant in the same lot as Best Western; I found their food to be mediocre. Close to a Costco and grocery stores. Close to public transit. Very clean. Located in an industrial area, but it felt very safe. I had just one issue: the room I was in didn't have black-out curtains to block light from coming into the room, only shear curtains. There was road construction going on between midnight and 4:00AM. The high powered work lights were shining directly into my room. I had no black-out curtains to close to block the light, which made it difficult to sleep. Other than that, I did enjoy my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Very nice hotel. Good location. Room was clean and comfortable. Quite and modern. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you soon in the future.