Ratings based on 640 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay for work

Posted Oct 20, 2017
I was very pleased with the stay here, and and surprised at how great the complimentary breakfast was! It's my second time staying at this location for an overnight work trip and I have left happy both times. Will probably be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by Jessica R, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our Holiday Inn Express National City. so happy that you returned to us again and for a second time we took great care of you. We would love to be your home away from home in San Diego/National City. Hope to see you a third time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SD, CA

Awesome

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Clean, great WiFi, friendly. Definitely stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Jessica R, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review of the Holiday Inn Express National City
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pool was closed and unable to use due to maintenance. Free breakfast was great and we get complimentary drinks. I don’t like the elevator it’s too dark and too old. Also, it vibrates when riding the elevator. Other than that everything is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Jessica R, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Sorry that our pool was temporarily down. We were doing maintenance on it. We have contacted our elevator service company to check the elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Nice quiet room. The breakfast was excellent. I would return in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Jessica R, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review of our Holiday Inn Express National City. Happy that you enjoyed our breakfast :) So glad to hear that you would return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga

Nice hotel, breakfast was great!

Posted Sep 20, 2017
I stayed here for one night since work required me to be out here, and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was nice, and the breakfast was much better than I expected. It was convenient and a great way to start the morning. I would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Jessica R, Hotel Management
We love surprises! So happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel and your stay with us. Thank you for the 5 Star Review of the Holiday Inn Express National City.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Older hotel , awkward location

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The staff was very nice but our air conditioning unit was very loud, woke us up throughout the night. The hot tub was not hot was not working correctly & was never repaired. Very comfortable beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Jessica R. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay. we are an older property but we do have renovations to make sure to give you a nice product. Our Jacuzzi was down to a gas leak with the heater that we are currently working on repairing. It was much bigger than we thought it would be so we apologize for the delay on that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The parking isn't the best but my parents and I had a very good experience at the Holiday Inn Express. The staff is friendly and the hotel is clean and safe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Jessica R, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a few minutes to review the Holiday Inn National City. Happy to hear that our staff is friendly and your parents enjoyed their stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel had bedbugs.

Posted Sep 1, 2017
My wife and 9yr. old daughter got bit pretty badly. They were very miserable. Also the pool was very small. It did not look nothing like advertised. Also the hotel was located on a busy blvd filled with many homeless people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Jessica R, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay. We do get monthly service from our pest control company. Anytime we hear of any pest issues, please know that we close the room and contact them for service.
5 out of 5
by Gabriel

Thankyou

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017
Thank you for your 5 star review. Hope you stay with us again.
2 out of 5
by Moises

Bad experience

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
I have stayed many times at different Holiday Inn Express around the country but This is the worst Holiday Inn express I have ever stayed. Poor experience in terms of maintenance of the rooms and over all facilities. The elevator felt like if was going to collapse, there were no towels in the pool, the sink in the bathroom was clogged. Little variety at the breakfast room and the food was low quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you had issues during your stay. I will share this with my team to improve.