Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hillsboro, OR

Comfortable, inexpensive option

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Inexpensive option, clean, convenient location.
Cons: Include shampoo mini-bottles?
Location: Denny's, Taco Bell nearby. Gas station across the hotel, with convenience store.
Booked it during the Sand Diego Comic-Con weekend. It was better than paying more than twice the price for other hotels. The room was very spacious and very well maintained. Small fridge and microwave in the room. Location is convenient, close enough to I-5 but not too close to hear the traffic. It's about a 15 minute drive from downtown San Diego. There's a gas station across the hotel, which is also convenient. The area might not be the best to walk for sightseeing. The front office staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Decent

Posted Jul 18, 2017
I had a good stay, the room was clean and comfortable for what we needed. We just need a place to sleep & shower. We had free wifi, you need to get password from office. The parking lot was a little tight & you had to go up and around the gas station next door to get over to it.. it was a little annoying but that would be my only complaint.. I'd stay there again if i had too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff

Retro hotel with some modernization

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect for us. It is close to Imperial Beach, right off the freeway and close to Mexico.
Cons: Some of the items in the room were still original looking, such as sink and counter tops. The bed had a blanket on it that was too small.
Location: It is close to Imperial Beach, right off the freeway and close to Mexico.
This is a older hotel that has some new revitalization, such as new laminate flooring and paint.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to major attractions in San diego

Posted May 26, 2017
First night we became itchy and couldn't sleep. Second night was better
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not close to anything but clean!

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Clean and that's important ... bad area but seems ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on CheapTickets
Friendly stuff quite big beds rooms very clean. Close to freeway
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
was not good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking but okay.

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
It was a decent place to stay for the price, Girlfriend wasn't to comfortable. Didn't have a hair dryer or iron or shampoo and conditioner. Bed seemed clean and had hardwood floors so no guessing what's in the carpet. Bathroom plugs didn't work but maybe a hair dryer could've reset it. Had a desk and tv. Wasn't bothered and Free parking. Super quick check in and out. Very chill staff. Overall 3 out of 5 due to lack of otherwise normal hotel things. Walkway had sticky stuff on it but should be easily cleaned idk. Ac and heat were great. Ice cold room to sleep in. Would stay here again if on a budget but would prefer better. Extremely close to highway and in and out was very easy and quick from the road and highway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms, bad exterior.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Although I had an ok stay here, the rooms were clean and sparse, the exterior was dirty and broken down. I will not be staying with Motel 6 again.