Ratings based on 1,912 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tejas

Skip this dump!

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Nasty, heavy gag inducind mold in hallways. Unhabitable. Expensive for nothing. No elevator, carried luggage up several flights ourselves. Valet parking $45 with no other choice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Never book this hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2017
So, basically this hotel is a scam. They take reservations via Expedia and other providers, collect the money, and then don't honor the reservations. When we arrived, there was a long line of people who had paid for rooms at the Clay Hotel (often months in advance) and who were turned away by the front desk, who blamed the travel booking sites. Presumably they overbook and then expect that some percentage of people will forget to get a refund after the fact? Either way, this is a 100% sleazy business you should not work with unless you plan to be scrambling at 10pm after a long flight to find a new hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

They cancel your reservation at will

Posted Nov 20, 2017
We arrived at the hotel after a long drive, only to be notified by the reception that our fully prepaid reservation was cancelled by them, with self-contradictory explanations. We were forced to find another room 40 miles away at a much higher price due to same day booking. My friend was mad at me and I felt so upset ...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Great location! Found two bugs in my hotel room, couldn't sleep comfortably thinking about bugs crawling on mr on my sleep.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque NM


Posted Nov 3, 2017
This is an incredible place to stay, staff is great, room was beautiful, not far from beach. Surrounded by great restaurants. I’d definitely recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington, DC

Horrible experience

Posted Oct 30, 2017
The hotel is two separate buildings. The main Clay hotel and then another building a block aware. We were placed in the second location. The building appears to be recently renovated but mold and mildew is everywhere. The building is dank and smelled horrible. All of our clothes in our suitcases absorbed the smell. Rain poured through the ceiling of the adjacent room. Carpet in the hallway soaking wet. I called and reported this to the front desk but no action was taken. No other rooms were available with no refund options so we just dealt with it instead of the hassle. Ruined our trip.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Great little inn. It's an old fashioned kind of place so it has a few older buildings issues but staff and was clean. Short walk to beach
5 out of 5
by Jewel

A Cuban Oasis in Sobe!

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
A most amazing stay at the Clay pre and post cruise to Cuba! Luis G. and Maria took such great care of us. Liked it there so much I am returning in December for Art Basel. Can't wait! Such a charming oasis with a reminence of old Havana!!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

nice place very clean and comfortable

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Cons: parking
I would come back and stay. rooms were clean. hotel was clean and comfortable. But one negative is. if you use the valet car parking, which you have to because parking is a mess. that the valet closes at 12 am every night. so I came to Fla. visit my son. he go a ride to the clay to see me. we had dinner and hanging out. at 12:45 am I went to get my car to drive him home. front desk tells me I cant get my car its lock up. Now this wasn't 911 . but what if it was. he had to sleep over in my room until I can get my car. So if you plan on going out and you get back to the hotel after 12am. park at your own risk. because they tow u away in a blink of an eye. need 24 hour car service. cant make people pay for a car they cant use after midnight. NOT GOOD
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location
CLose to beach, great food closeby, rooms are clean but small, lots of lively music, friendly surroundings