Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great value for a Notre Dame football weekend

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, inviting atmosphere - room and breakfast.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Didn't get a chance to explore this time - hopefully, next time.
By choosing the Elkhart Holiday Inn Express we found an ideal setting for our weekend visit for a Notre Dame football game. Only 20 minutes of easy driving from South Bend. The value matched the outstanding quality of the room and staff at the hotel. We'll be back next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marion, IL

ND Game Stay

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was better than expected and they had decent coffee. I did appreciate having a keurig in the guest room.
Cons: It was being remodeled I would withhold judgment on that as it is being improved.
Location: University of Notre Dame is Nearby. It says it is in Elkhart but I never saw the city and the surrounding area has two filling stations within 2miles.
Like most ND games the hotels raise their prices to ridiculous levels. They can do this as game day availability is limited even with double to triple room rates. This was the last room available within 25 miles of the University of Notre Dame. It is an about average hotel that is undergoing remodeling. The staff was friendly overall pretty much ok. They did seem to have a lack of incidental items that one might need and forget during a stay though they did direct me to a filling station.
3 out of 5
by Eula from GR

Not the best trip this time

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is under renovation and new management. I believe the new manager will make a number of good changes. I shared with the manager a number of complaints from my stay. I did not realize that the hotel was under renovation until I got there. Hotels.com did not show this on their site. The company that the hotel used to do the renovations did a poor job. The hallways were full of stuff. They still had tape from painting and spackle paste left on walls and spackle over flow on the counters. The breakfast server spent more time on her phone; no coffee one day, cold coffee another day, dried out food, etc. It rained one day and the parking lot flooded. I had to walk through above ankle deep water to get to my car. My car was less than 6 ft away from the drain. I got to my room the first night, no hangers. I could go on. It was not any big issues, but a whole lot of little ones that made travel more difficult.
5 out of 5
by Russell from Laramie, wy

Big rooms and big value.

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
We were blown away by this place. Friendly staff and nice place. They are finishing a remodel and our room was fantastic. Also, probably the largest room we have stayed in and we were in 7 different hotels just this trip. Beds are super comfortable. Breakfast was the typical HI express fare, which is the same at them all: good, but gets a bit old after a week of the same thing. Highly recommend this one, though. Don't pass up thinking the price is too low.
5 out of 5
by James from Georgia

Easy stay

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Although hotel was under renovation they kept the noise and mess away from the guests.
3 out of 5
by Gene

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean and that's about the best thing I can say. The breakfast was terrible and the hotel was under construction.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very peaceful

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very quiet Very nice
5 out of 5
by Courtny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by jeff

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels