Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for the money

Posted Mar 10, 2017
The staff was not overly friendly and I had a problem at checkout which they should have been able to explain but couldn't. The room was great - it had a separate sitting area with sofa sleeper bed and 2nd tv. However the tub didn't drain so I showered in a few inches of water. The continental breakfast was nothing special but at least you could get a bagel and coffee. They also have a variety of chips, candy bars and soda to buy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Mo , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend as your choice of destination. We appreciate the feedback and are beyond thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service in all areas of our facility. I will use this review to motivate and improve our overall service. Our guests will continue to be our number one priority. You will always have a place to stay here at La Quinta South Bend. Thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from In bed

Too noisy

Posted Mar 1, 2017
My fault should have known. Airport hotel . A lot of nousy in the hallway. Loud doors when they were shut all night. It is what it is.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Mo , Hotel Management
I am truly disappointed in your satisfaction not being met during your stay. This is not the kind of stay we want you to be having with us. I will share this with our team so we can look for ways to improve our performance. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that may have occurred. If you chose to stay once more I promise we will make things right. Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible management

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Pets stay free
Cons: Management
This may be "situational", but we were given a room above the pool (they didn't mention this at the time). It was comfortably warm when we arrived, but continued to stay way too warm to sleep, despite efforts to turn the thermostat down. Needless to say, no sleep that night. We reported this the next morning and were told "oh, your room is above the pool, it's always hot in there, you will have to run the A/C to compensate"...they did not offer to give us another room and we were there for a funeral so did not have time to deal with it. Next issue - we found a used cigarette pack next to the iron in the closet...I won't mention what was inside the carton, but it was disgusting and it was not cigarettes (we opened it thinking maybe someone had hid some money or valuables in it, which we would have taken down to the front desk). The breakfast area was filthy, spilled syrup, crumbs, etc. and no one was there to clean it up. The cups and bowls had run out...the staff just did not seem to care or do anything about it. Mud was tracked all through the lobby when we came in that night, and it was still there later the next day. All in all, I would say the management does not do a good job here. We are not picky people, but a certain level of professionalism should be standard. The room itself was comfortable, like any other La Quinta I have stayed at...comfortable space, bed, etc. and we do appreciate that pets stay free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid feedback. We are very sorry to hear that the hotel was not up to par in the areas mentioned. Please note that this information has been passed on to our management staff to ensure improvements are considered and made. We very much appreciated your business and thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Griffith, IN

Convenient location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Only noticed one thing and that is mold growing under toilet rim. Otherwise, staff was excellent even when I called day after checkout looking for a little stuffed rabbit thought left behind. Will be staying again next time another bowling tournament in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Mo , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend as your choice of destination. We appreciate the feedback and are beyond thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service in all areas of our facility. I will use this review to motivate and improve our overall service. Our guests will continue to be our number one priority. You will always have a place to stay here at La Quinta South Bend. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Very nice & clean Hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: The price and location to the colleges
Cons: N/A
Location: I was in town for a college event, the location was good for the price.
The Hotel was very comfortable for being so close to the small airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Mo , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend as your choice of destination. We appreciate the feedback and are beyond thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service in all areas of our facility. I will use this review to motivate and improve our overall service. Our guests will continue to be our number one priority. You will always have a place to stay here at La Quinta South Bend. Thank you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean hotel! Would stay here again!

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Skye was fantastic at the front desk! She was very helpful and informative.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent staff members!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The staff!
Cons: We had the misfortune to have neighbors in the next room whose children ran back and forth during the night. Management spoke to them.
Nina, Jessica and Amanda were so helpful, friendly and went out of their way for us. The location next to South Bend Airport and near Notre Dame was a huge plus. The executive room with two queen beds and a sofa bed was very roomy and comfortable. The rates are very reasonable and morning coffee and continental breakfast included--who could ask for more!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, convenient, and affordable

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly service and two nice comfortable rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Close to airport and shuttle great to stadium

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Same as above
Cons: Same as above
Location: Great but few good restaurants open after 9 pm
It was a pleasant surprise to find a hotel on a game weekend. The location was super for us as some in our party travelled to Chicago via the train near the hotel. One room was great while the other room that I booked must have been directly or close to above the automatic front doors as they opened and shut numerous times during the night. (We were on the second floor.) Too bad this room wasn't for the hotel cleaning staff. Other than that we'd stay there again but ask for different rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager - Mo Jatala, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend as your choice of destination. We appreciate the feedback and are beyond thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service in all areas of our facility. I will use this review to motivate and improve our overall service. Our guest will continue to be our number one priority. You will always have a place to stay here at La Quinta South Bend. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice clean dog friendly hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Clean and dog friendly!
Cons: Lighting in the room...was a bit dark.
Stayed here overnight after a game. Clean,friendly staff and dog friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager - Mo Jatala, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend as your choice of destination. We appreciate the feedback and are beyond thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service in all areas of our facility. I will use this review to motivate and improve our overall service. Our guest will continue to be our number one priority. You will always have a place to stay here at La Quinta South Bend. Thank you!