Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BDA

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Cons: Signing for not smoking. There was none.
The hotel is an non-smoking hotel, but people did smoke in other rooms and my room stank of smoke. It was not too nice being a non smoker. They need to be more strict on smoking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago,Il

You get what you pay for

Posted May 30, 2017
This motel was okay. First off the entrance from the street is horrible. So many potholes! The check-in was quick and fast. Second, once I arrived to my room it had this smell that I had to open the window, that had no screen and flew in a moth. I had to turn on the bathroom vent and even the A.C. unit and leave the motel for a while. Once I got back, that smell was gone. The room and stay was okay. That's why I said that you get what you pay for.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Michigan

Worst hotel stay ever!

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything, especially the management staff.
Location: Even the location was not that great; the university and all restaurants were quite a distance away.
We booked two night (initially) at this hotel for my nephew's graduation from Notre Dame. We could not switch hotels because they were all fully booked for such a busy weekend. The carpeting and bathroom floor were filthy, and the satellite TV service went out for most of Saturday evening. Worst of all, there was no hot water on Sunday morning, forcing us to wait an extended period for even cool showers. The only problem: we were on a very tight timeline to avoid missing the commencement ceremony, and the wait for non-cold water put us way behind schedule. We cancelled our second night and requested a full refund for the first night. However, the hotel's GM, Priti, decided we were only entitled to a 25% refund - as if just one minor problem had been encountered. Obviously, she and hotel staff have no concern for guest satisfaction.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle washington

Not a bad hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Overall the hotel was neat in appearance and clean. The beds were very uncomfortable and I had a hard time sleeping. For the time of year and local availability the price was right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toledo ohio

Nice hotel for basic needs

Posted May 16, 2017
It was a good price for a good hotel. Basic needs for what we needed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Cheap and I don't mean inexpensive hotel.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The lack of bedbugs.
Cons: A major overhaul of the infrastructure and management team.
Location: Easy access to Route 90.
We've frequently come to South Bend to visit our sons at Notre Dame and attend athletic events. We had stayed here years ago when our sons were young. The hotel appears to have changed ownership as it was once well maintained and displayed pride in ownership. Today, it gives every appearance of financial distress and a fundamental lack of proprietorship. I have found this hotel to be the filthiest hotel in which I have ever stayed and that includes hotels in third world countries. The tile floors in the lobby, elevator and bathrooms were disgusting and have not been washed in a long time. Housekeeping was more elusive than James "Whitey" Bulger. Other reviews mentioned concerns surrounding the cloudy pool. I strongly suspect the River Ganges is cleaner. Super 8 as franchisor should terminate its relationship for reputational reasons before this hotel is identified as ground zero for some future pandemic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the money

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Room was clean but a bit small breakfast offered fruit cereal cinnamon rolls toast and waffle maker juice and coffee...Pool was very warm and a bit cloudy...They need to clean floor around pool... Over all was worth the money and we will stay here again if back in area. I hope pool will be redone soon rest of hotel looked like it had been redone recently... Pool needs it now
3 out of 5
by Gabriel

Its ok

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
This place was ok only complaints I have was tv was kinda small and the water in the pool was pretty hot
1 out of 5
by Coleman

Website pics better than actual product

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
I checked in around 3:00 in the afternoon, went to the room and put my things in. I noticed a slight smell to the room but did not think anything of it. I had to leave for my purpose in south Bend. When i came back to the room, after 10:00 pm i was ready to get a good nights sleep. When i pulled the covers back i saw what looked like soiled mattress and box spring cover on both beds. Along with the way the floor was extremely dirty and then i notice something all over the wall near the tv. I went down to the front desk and showed them pictures of what my room looked like and they put me into another room. it was a bit better but the floor was still extremely dirty, the light switch by the door did not work, the light switch in the bathroom had something all over it, the air conditioner did not work but i was able to sleep in a clean bed at that point.I was there for two days and I will never go back again to this location or any super 8 hotel.
3 out of 5
by Dave

Overpriced for the condition

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
I was justing needing a place to sleep for the night. First the desk clerk gave me a card of a room already occupied. Then the alarm clock would not display the time. Breakfast was very limited. Not a good value.