Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Comfortable

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Our family of 4 was only here for one short night, but it was comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly at check-in. Nothing fancy, but we weren't looking for that. It served its purpose and was comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DeLand, FL

Hotel very hard to find. Used OnStar to get to it.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Room was okay and bed comfortable
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Close to highway but in the middle of an industrial park.
Room appeared to have recently been carpeted and painted but the common areas, i.e. lobby & breakfast area looked worn and not as clean as would be expected.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay at South Bend Super 8

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness & first floor entrance.
Cons: Checking in earlier would have been nice, plus friendlier staff.
Location: Drove to Michigan to see Lake Michigan. Great beach!
Had traveled for 4 hours & wanted to check in 2 hours earlier, but was greeted by the staff saying it would cost us extra if we wanted to check in early. She said to come back later so we drove further to Lake Michigan to see the beach. She didn't know the area at all & was not helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice hotel....kind of hidden

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The rooms were spacious and the bed and pillows plush and comfortable.
Cons: Signage could be greatly approved. Once we exited the freeway we could no longer see the sign for the hotel.
Location: Not really sure, this was planned as a late night stop. We did drive to get pictures of the golden dome at Notre Dame.
Being unfamiliar with the area, we got turned around when exiting the freeway. Once we found it, we were pleasantly surprised. Have stayed at Super 8 hotels in the past, and this one was just what we expected.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Broken room

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Door key card unit was dead. A/C unit was broken. Phone didn't work. Mini Fridge didn't work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent value for $

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: When other hotels were charging a lot more, this hotel was reasonably priced.
Cons: The breakfast could include more options.
Location: There is a fantastic Mexican restaurant just down the road. El Arriero Mexican Grill. Reasonably priced with excellent food.
This hotel is just off Hwy US31 in an industrial area. Close to airport, and soccer fields where my son was playing. Inexpensive but clean hotel. The breakfast is poor and staff can be very inattentive but not rude. My room on the third floor was very quiet and well maintained. I've stayed here 3 times while visiting South Bend and I have not been disappointed. The fridges have recently been replaced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was nice.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
It was nice. Lady at the desk was very friendly and helpful. Hotel had everything I needed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Awful

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: There was free parking and free waffles in the morning. Other than that, it was horrible.
Cons: Customer Service!!! And a staff that can actually talk to you like you are a customer and not a piece of trash.
Location: It is close to Notre Dame University.
We had a room reserved through Expedia. We had 5 people in our party. The room only had 4 pillows. We asked for another pillow when we arrived and were told there were no extra pillows on the property. Our room was dirty, the towels in the bathroom were not clean. When we went to the front desk the second time, we were told not to talk bad about the hotel in the lobby in front of other customers and were told that it's the cleaning crews duty to clean the towels and they weren't in the hotel at the time so there was nothing the front desk could do for us. The staff was more than rude. When we checked out the front desk staff was in the parking lot in their car smoking cigarettes and simply waved us down to their car window and had us turn in our keys to them there. Overall it was a very unpleasant stay. Not enough pillows for each person in our trip to have just one each. The room was dirty and we were told it wasn't the hotel staff's issue to deal with. When our concerns were brought up we were told not to complain and there wasn't anything they would do to remedy the issues. I will never stay at a Super 8 again and will think twice about using Expedia for their hotel recommendation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Planned on stopping here on our way to Chicago - wanted to see "The Lights" in Southbend and use the pool on the property. Traffic was TERRIBLE so we arrived after midnight and the pool was closed (not the hotel's fault). But, we did use itthe next morning, after we enjoyed a Continental breakfast. The rooms are modest but clean; the staff was very nice and - while it was a little hard to get to (it's buried in like an industrial park), the location was very convenient. On and off the highway in miinutes; gas and fast food close by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Bend, IN

convenient for my needs

Posted Jun 24, 2016
The carpet is extremely dirty. I hate the open showers. The bed was firm but tended to sag on the edges (felt like I could fall off). Some of the truck traffic was a bit noisy early in the a.m. The rest of the room was very clean and the staff was pleasant. The pool area was very well kept.