Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view of the river

Posted Sep 14, 2016
I liked this place quite a bit. It was roomy for one person, with a view of the river. Breakfast was pretty good. Sausage, eggs, cold cuts, yogurt, muesli. Location was nice. Short walk into old town and short walk from the Spicak bus station (if coming by bus, make sure you get off at Spicak instead of the main bus station Cesky Krumlov AN, or otherwise your walk will be much longer). Be also aware that the front desk closes around 6pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted May 9, 2016
Nice spacious room, decent breakfast. Close to everything.
5 out of 5
by Marcel from Oslo

Highly recommended hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
I had an excellent stay at Pension u Matesa! Really really good! It is located by the river and we've got a really large room, with a window to the river. The hotel is divided in three neighboring houses all very charming and honest. The staff were very kind to us all the time. Breakfast was very good and we enjoyed the place so much that we decided to have dinner at their restaurant too, which proved to be an excellent decision because the food was just as good as the rest. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to return

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Beautiful view from the front of the hotel. You could see everything. My only issues were the window in the room and the smell of whatever cleaning product was used. The only window in my room was a ceiling window. It was hot so I opened it. However, since it rains frequently, I had to continually close the window so that rain did not flood my room. This was an issue as it was the end of July. I also feared living the window open at night due to the proximity to nature and potential animals crawling in the window. The other issue was a smell in the room. I am not sure if it was a cleaning product or an animal smell (cat, for example) but it took a few minutes to not notice it upon entering the room each time. Everything else was wonderful. I truly want to return to the hotel for another stay in the beautiful town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

problems-- some small, one Big

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely location, right near river in a picture book town but problems. Odd shaped room with very narrow bed-- believe narrower than a normal single bed. Room up steep flight of steps and right over restaurant and entertainment which hear clearly. Forget thread count linens! Not sure what the loopy material bed sheet is made of -- but it and the tiny thin towels were inadequate and should be replaced Worse was being locked out when my outside door key would not work and there is no one on duty and no emergency number! Would have thought I had goofed but same problem encountered by others. I arrived at hotel that night after attending performance in castle garden to find two distraught elderly ladies who were outside because their key would not work. Found my outside key also would not work. Tried repeatedly bells, knocking, shouting and phoning hotel number but no answer. No one on duty and no emergency contact. I was finally able to wake a guest, who let us in, by shaking and slamming the metal back gate. Restaurant with its location by river is very pleasant IF the staff is willing. Since I was staying multiple nights I "overtipped" the first dinner even though unexceptional food and service. But that did not help- the next day I waited almost an hour for the soup of the day, finally giving up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unpleasant surprise

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
We were traveling with another couple and made our booking TWO ROOMS for this hotel on May 19, 2015, 2 months in advance, received our confirmation but on our arrival we learned that one of our rooms had been given to someone else despite the fact that we had a confirmation from Hotels.com. The person on front desk advised us to stay in ONE APARTMENT on the second floor with our "personal backyard". This apartment consists of a big sitting area with a very small bedroom for one couple, and another antresole bedroom without the window for others, kitchenette, one separate toilet and shower. The pension has a restaurant that located right below the rooms, very noisy indeed. From our short one night experience there we really cannot recommend this place to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay!

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed there for 2 nights. If you are coming to the town by bus, then you may have to walk a bit to get there because this hotel is exactly beside the river. That's why it could be still noisy at night because downstairs are restaurants and people just play water sports around. But the hotel was very nice. The room was very clean and well-equipped. The breakfast is also nice with not only toast, but also sausages, fried eggs, etc. And the staff are also very nice. Just one more thing - the wifi does not really work very well in the rooms but it works alright in the dining room where we had breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Hanna from Prague

Nice pension by the river

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful location by the river, and very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels