Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

A Slice of Paradise

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Just about what I expected from an all inclusive.
Cons: The hotel is showing it's age. They have staff that are working at various areas of the resort so eventually they will tackle all the repairs.
Location: River tours included. These boats can be hired. Horses to rent. Small kayaks available. Tennis and basketball courts. Paintball. Kids daycare.
Secluded beach so no beach vendors. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Arrived on a Monday and checked out the following Monday. We requested and stayed in one of the quieter rooms facing the tennis courts. Most of the week they were not at full capacity so no real line ups at the buffet or any of the bars. Had a couple opportunities to visit the al a carte restaurant up on the hill which has a very lovely ambiance and great food. The buffet was varied and there was a section to cook a fresh breakfast and lunch. One night the entire buffet was moved to the outdoor entertainment area on the other side of the tennis courts which was a nice touch and no small effort. Friday saw a few tourist buses unload all sorts of nationals most with families, which changed the complexion of the resort and the line ups grew a little longer but a few more staff were there to handle this so not a great inconvenience. It seemed to me that everybody was relaxed and having a good time with the children playing all over the place which we didn't mind but some people may not be able to tolerate. On Saturday afternoon some of the baby turtles started to come out of their nests so as a crowd gathered, mostly children, we were all able to participate in the turtle release. These buses were back on Sunday and all the families piled on which returned the resort to the semi quiet that we had experienced when we first arrived. All in all a relaxing week which has created some good memories.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noise!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Site, beach and really nice waiters and staff
Cons: please see above
Location: Lovely towns and beaches nearby
If you enjoy loud music with heavy bass from 9am to 3am in the morning, children screaming in the middle of the night, waiting in line to reserve dinner in a restaurant that serves undrinkable wine, then this is the place for you! The hotel doesn't seem to care for the majority of guests who don't attend the weddings organized under their balconies on the beach! Too bad for a wonderful location and beautiful beach and outstanding staff! The guards are constantly patrolling you for your little blue dog tag and sometimes are overly suspicious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved the beach

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
This is a place for Mexican families. If you love Tenacatita beach like we do it's a wonderful place. We paid about $100 a night for an ocean view room with meals and drinks. We will go back but it may not be what many Americans would like.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Rooms are terrible

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: they need to really improve the cleanness in the room and maintain the installations
This is a terrible hotel, I did not feel comfortable in my room, they are dirty and un-maintained. Please stay somewhere else. Also the food is not good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manitoba

Blue Bay

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Pool and beach
Cons: Activities were usually conducted in Spanish, would be nice if they could provide some in both languages.
Location: There is nothing near by, hence why it is a great get away.
Arrived to find they did I not have my reservation, their internet was down so had to sit around in the heat and wait. Once I showed them my on line confirmation they some how found my reservation. A little blip in the road but other then that it was a pleasant get away.
4 out of 5
by Maria from West Covina, CA

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
I love the tranquility of the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice Mexican hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Very clean and everyone was very nice and helpful. But the hotel is targeting Mexicans, not Americans. The beds are rock hard and most of the staff speaks no English. They are happy to go find a translator, but that is annoying sometimes. The grounds are gorgeous and well kept up. The food is fair except for the specialty restaurants which are very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time by the beach,

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Nice and clean, great beach, great pool with swim up bar. All food a drinks came with price of the room..
Cons: Open more bars during the day.Let kids eat in the crystal room,thats where they had the best food but if you have kids you are not allowed to go there
Location: Things to do swim in pool and ocean (great time in the ocean, nice and warm and calm),
Had a great time at L.A locos, the only down fall was after 4 pm till 7pm only bar open was by the pool. The staff was fun and interacted with you. Lots of food and drink , lots of drink.. Oh yhea water flow in shower was slow and bath tub water went down slower, called to get it fix on day two of four but no one came to fix, bummer. Over all great time!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Chapala, Mexico

Out of the Way retreat

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: The beautiful surroundings and the quiet sandy beach,
Cons: I would tone down the loud music for the exercises and games around the pool during the day.
Food was very good, they have three restaurant experiences plus buffet and grill/bar on the beach. Beautiful pool and surroundings. Great place if you just want to relax. The beach is sandy but the water is rough (we had fun just standing in the water and waiting for the waves. Not many people on the beach. As is usual at Mexican resorts the music can be very loud at times. The first night we were kept awake by the music coming from the Disco. If you want it quieter ask for a room facing the tennis court - you still see the ocean. The evening entertainment was well done, especially the "Wizard of Oz" night. It is off the beaten path and quite a distance from any small towns. You can take a taxi though if you want to explore La Manzanilla, Barre de Navidad and Melaque (about 25 km) Beware of the English speaking guy at the desk who offers to take you into town for 25 peso - It turns into $25 U.S. and you are crammed into a taxi with three people in the back seat. For that price two of you can enjoy a taxi all to yourself. They have internet in the lobby. We will return. I think one week here is plenty.
4 out of 5
by Ross. from Midland, Ontario, Canada

A great relaxing holiday.

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay at Los Angeles locos was great. We have been to this hotel many times in the past. If you are looking for a nice, quiet, relaxing time, then this is the place to go. They have one of the best walking beaches that I have ever been to, and there are no peddlers on the beach at all. The meals are good, and the speciality restaurants are great. The entertainment is good, and the staff are very friendly. The only two draw backs as I see it are that it is along drive from the airport ( about 1 hour), and the maid that we had,did not do a very good job at cleaning.