Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plymouth

Nice location walking distance to beach and town

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Lovely reception nice location but we were warned about building work, only effected us in car park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2017
I was happy with the hotel. Only the bed was uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Average hotel, but good views

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Disappointed expected it to be as good as the greenbank, but nowhere near as good from checking in, to room and buffet breakfast which was cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset UK

From one end of the spectrum to the other

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. As there are no lifts in the hotel, the staff will carry your luggage to and from your room.
Cons: Male it clear in the hotel review that there are no lifts.
I would describe the hotel as quaint/quirky. Decor was good, made the inside to look like a ship. Rooms small, bit like a ship cabin. Room phone didn't work and bathroom bin hadn't been emptied (gross). Free water, biscuits, tea and coffee in room. Good quality bathroom products
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

overlooking the beach

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: The room
WE stayed in new building, with the spa and swimming pool on the ground floor, next door to original hotel. It was beautiful with comfy beds and crisp white linen . The balcony was spacious and overlook the beach.The toiletries are Elemis.The staff are very attentive with nothing being too much trouble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Head of Operations , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we really appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you back again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ascot

Cute hotel, vey close to the beach

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff Clean nice ambience Good location Good spa facilities
Cons: Size of rooms Parking Wi-Fi
Location: Very close to the beach (end of hotel gardens) Close to Falmouth town centre
The hotel is nice, currently undergoing improvement works so a little noisy in the day and the car is very busy. There is very much a beach vibe and décor around the hotel The staff here are so friendly and helpful, they really make the experience something special I had quite a small room, couldn't see if fitting anymore than one person, plus the room was sloping which was a bit odd You have access to the spa and gym but you do have to pay to attend any of the fitness classes There is Wi-Fi, but not very string and often drops out in the rooms The food is good, for breakfast I preferred to order off the menu as some of the hot buffet was a little dry and over-cooked, dinner was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Head of Operations , Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review and feedback which we appreciate. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Good Stay

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Our room was superb and we had a lovely view of the beach and sea. Very friendly, professional staff.
Cons: A clock in the room would be handy. Expedia need to update hotel info this time of year as restaurant closed evenings due to party nights.
Location: Only 15 minutes walk or a short taxi ride into Falmouth town. Gyllyngvase beach just a couple of minutes walk.
Stayed for 2 nights beginning of December. Currently undergoing major improvements so a bit of a building site in places. Our newly refurbished room was very modern and comfortable. Staff were all lovely and a great position right by the sea. Breakfast was OK, plenty of choice, although fried eggs in hot buffet were pretty poor after a few minutes under the warming lights. Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would love to go back once all the renovations are complete.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Head of Operations , Hotel Management
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the feedback which will help us make further improvements.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Hotel with swimming pool close to beach and town

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The location and indoor swimming pool.
Cons: Staff responsiveness.
Location: Lots to do in Falmouth and around.
The hotel is upgrading so there is work going on. We had one of the new rooms which was lovely but only had a shower - no bath. When I asked to be switched to a room with a bath the room offered was nowhere near as nice (worn, and in a separate building) and yet would have incurred an upgrade cost of £15 per person per night. We stayed put as it had the advantage of being in the same building as the health club. Most hotels seem to be moving over to showers only but this is not always clear on their literature which still talks about room have a bathroom. The staff at the hotel are friendly but did not follow through on the two requests we made.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Head of Operations , Hotel Management
Our apologies for not quite hitting the mark on this occasion. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and feedback, it is only through such honest feedback that we can learn from our mistakes and improve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Birthday weekend with friend

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Hotel facilities were really good but most outstanding was the whole staff team.
Cons: From our perspective nothing could be improved - we had a truly wonderful time.
Location: Independent shops and galleries, great walks, beach close by.
Wonderful hotel, such friendly professional staff that felt like a real team effort to ensure guests felt relaxed and comfortable. We stayed in the beach house which was so lovely, the spa was visited regularly and the pool is a good size for a hotel pool. Everywhere was clean, well cared for. Food was excellent and both my friend and I could not speak highly enough of the standard and attention to detail.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Head of Operations , Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Our stay was warm and welcoming. The staff were all really lovely. Room was comfortable and the breakfasts were first rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Head of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your really kind review and feedback which we really appreciate. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.