Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family run hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Staff and atmosphere
Cons: it does what it says on the tin
Location: Just into south cornwall, in easy reach of resorts like Looe
Stayed before still as good as we remembered and comfortable with a old world atmoshere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Lovely friendly pub in handy location. Really enjoyed our 2 night stay, love the ducks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Generally good. Toilet flush needed attention Friendly staff. Good locatiin for Saltash
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Family Stay

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: My husband wanted to take the bed home with us it was that comfortable. It was also great that family rooms are for 17 year olds and below, thank you.
Cons: A little dated in places but this also added to its charm
Location: Very close to A38 so convenient for further exploration in Cornwall or even Devon.
Convenient spot close to A38, but you feel that you are in the middle of nowhere, so very quiet. Superb breakfast that would set anyone up for a day out visiting places in Cornwall. We were unable to take advantage of the restaurant but will plan to when we visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shirley solihull

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Very pleasant stay , with delicious and reasonably priced food in the bar .
2 out of 5
by Mary

Tired room but lovely staff

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
Room very tired but staff & food very good. Owners dogs running wild the next day so if you have your dog with you beware.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Good location and pleasant surroundings.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: I wouldn't change anything - it was a very very pleasant stay and relaxing - can't ask for more.
Location: It was well signposted making it very easy to find. The location is great. Plymouth is 10 minutes away by car with lots to do there.
Overall a very good stay. Didn't get the room I booked and the room I did get had a leaking tap in the bathroom. That said, it was no trouble for the staff to move rooms and there was no problems. Breakfast was nice and I only had to ask for more and it was given without problems. We used the dining room for dinner which was simple but well cooked and presented. The staff were always friendly and attentive and nothing seemed to be a problem - excellent service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Sandwich menu for lunch time snacks.
Location: Very close to Trematon Castle and Gardens.
Nice quiet location. Ample parking. All staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfasts are wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Location ,friendly staff
Cons: No
Location: Location good , not far from sea
All round good experience friendly welcome from staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford

Dog friendly

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Nothing not to like
Location: Just over the toll bridge, with a range of fishing villages along the south coast easily accessible.
Most relaxing stay in a quiet country environment. Breakfast was to a high standard and the bar was friendly. The choice of evening meals was excellent. The dog was welcome in all parts of the hotel, although we didn't take her to breakfast.