Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

On the Bay....

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Location, parking, fair price.
Cons: The repairs done to the rooms were of poor quality. Repairs will understandably need to be made. The person they have doing the repairs is terrible.
Mid level type of hotel on the Bay. Nice area, convienent. Rooms were not terriblily old, but not new either. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was just ok, average cleanliness. Stayed in beginning of December and the prices were fair for the quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by pauline, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I agree with the repair work done by the people we had doing it was not up to par. We have new maintenance person began working as of end of Nov. so hoping this improves. As you may have noticed all ocean view and now most semi-views have new tv's and hoping we can soon get the carpets, lobby and breakfast/snack area started. I hope if you visit again you will be pleased with the changes we are making.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
OK for rate we paid.. any higher not so much..good for an older hotel except for rattling pipes and toilet not shutting off water properly.. Beds probably need an update!..View excellent as advertised and staff very nice..
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Pauline, Hotel Management
We have added a pillowtop mattress to room hope this helps next guest with comfort. I don't know what to do about the rattling pipes yet, did let maintenance know but during renovations, all toilets are to be checked for working condition so they work properly. So chains to long and other things have been found once notified. I am so glad you liked the view and staff and really appreciate you took the time to write a review for us. Thanks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Dowdger queen of area, comfy but showing age.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Unpretentious,
Cons: Can't wait to see planned renovations.
Location: As above location is convenient to food and great view.
Possible great views of ocean if you know which rooms to book. Bed and room clean and comfortable. Quiet neighborhood. Great walking to town shops and grocery or just exercise. Wonderful caring people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Pauline, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review. We hope you will visit again once we finish the renovations. I am sure we will post on our facebook page and on Expedia some photos. We should start renovations in about 2 weeks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Experience

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: View. Convenience.
Cons: Read our experience report!
From the staff cat that was climbing all over the Tea/Coffee Bar and Reservation desk when we checked in, to the bathroom fan noise that wouldn't shutoff, to the staff talking and laughing together at 11:30 pm outside our room till we asked them to "Shush" to the staff member who asked us to checkout at 11:03 AM even tho' we didn't check in until 10:30 m the night before and explained that we would be leaving at 11:30 AM due to Brunch Reservations at The Coast Guard House down the road...not a very pleasant experience or one we would recommend! Could have been a bit cleaner also. All for a rather expensive rate for such a poor stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Pauline, Hotel Management
The staff cat, is not a staff cat as you know, but you told us you liked the cat and your husband didn't, as it sneaks in and we remove it but not when our guest is asking about and petting the cat as we think that would seem rude, in your case we read you wrong. The cat never went on the Tea/Coffee desk area-never not at all, I was right there she did go on reservation desk and I did go to remove her and you said you liked cats and how pretty. I would not allow the cat near any food and want to make that clear as can be. Once you went into the room we did remove the cat from the hotel. Which again, I went to do when she came in until you said you liked her and I did not want to be rude. I am sorry you did not like the hotel but check in is 3 pm and check-out is 11 am. This is normal for most hotels. The staff should not have been talking loud but they did quite right down, as I heard that happen as well. One guest (from the wedding) stopped there as shift changed, they were talking and they felt bad as did the guest they disturbed you. We are surely sorry most of our guest enjoy that room, the beautiful view of ocean and sunrise and relaxing in the sitting area or on the deck and I wish you had enjoyed that. You did stay until 11:30 that is right about the time you checked out. So hope you made it to the 11:30 reservations. We are less expensive than most in the area but we are not for everyone. Hope you find a hotel that you like next visit. Our goal is to have our guest leave happy and we work hard at it. When we can't make someone's stay good then we hope they can find a hotel that can. Everyone should enjoy their next vacation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice views but needs updating

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Old hotel needs gut renovation Rooms are old enough already with this review. I can't say in more words beautiful location. Beautiful views. But needs to be up dated
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by Pauline, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy you like the view. We are doing renovations starting this month. New rugs to all in inside rooms and hall, moving of front desk, making a larger area for our breakfast snack. Hopefully, it will help everyone enjoy the total beauty of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Average hotel, excellent location. Room clean and spacious with sitting room, and has nice balcony. Continental breakfast needs improvement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Pauline, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review. We are glad you liked the hotel. We do try and stress that we offer breakfast snacks which as of now includes fruit, juices, yogurt, bagels & cream cheese, cereal, plus usually instant oatmeal, breakfast/energy bars, donuts and some pastry or muffins along with coffee. Once we make our area open and move the desk area opening the office now to be used as breakfast area we can add more. We plan to do this before the end of the year we should have that and the carpets all set. With more room, we can offer more things (and have toasters and waffle makers)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not within walking distance to the beach

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Location: Not much going on in Narragansett. Three different beaches, but one requires you to be a resident to park in lot and two others are further away.
We were upgraded to a bigger better room, yet it was dirty and didn't look like it had been vacuumed in weeks. Towels were stained. Tub/bathroom did not look sanitary. Would not recommend this hotel, there are other ones right on the beach and much nicer looking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by Pauline, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. It is a 5-minute, but no more than 10 minutes, walk to the beach along the seawall which is way people park in our lot for the day, picking up parking pass in the morning of their arrival. We post events every day be it free concerts, or fairs, shows at Theater by the Sea, dancing at the towers, so I am confused on nothing going on in Narragansett? We have adventure land and in the hotel, we have bocce or croquet for you to use on our lawn. We offer to help so next time ask the front desk for some ideas, most hotels have this service of letting you know. Our towels are sent out daily and many new but I will have housekeeping look into why stain one was in your room. We will try and make the sign more noticeable so all guest notice if we can. Housekeeping will be informed to be sure to vacuum better and the bathroom as always should be cleaned! Thanks for your comments and we will do these things hoping to improve others stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Close to the beach but not worth the price

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The room was poorly painted and "renovated" and was extremely small of the price. I would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by Pauline, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry you were not happy. We have done renovations and will be doing more in Oct. the painting and rugs are part of our Oct, project along with other needed updates. We appreciate everyone who helps us know how we are doing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Room 211

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: A short drive to the beach.
Cons: It is located close to the beach which costs $10 to park and $8 per person! Only outdoor cold showers and a small changing room in men's room
The bedroom had a drop-down to the bathroom which almost caused injury (Room 211).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by Pauline, Hotel Management
Thank your for your review. Most people walk to the beach which takes about 5 minutes so they don't have to park at it. We allow you to park in the lot the even day of check out. I will check out the drop-down because that is very important that I look into as first I heard it was there and I must not have noticed. Our major work will begin in Oct. When I took over management (early this year) we began a plan for repairs and updates. Painting, rugs, all are part of this years updates to begin in Oct. So thanks for the comments, I am sorry you did not enjoy the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location... great atmosphere

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The calm atmosphere
Cons: A little updating to the rooms... t.v. etc... the bathroom also needed a little plumbing work. the toilet ran all night.
Location: The Coast Guard House was a great place to eat.. and the fishing charters are only 5 miles away.
arrived to a friendly staff member... a clean room and a beautiful view across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Pauline, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We will be upgrading and fixing more and we really appreciate your input. Very happy you had a good stay.