Ratings based on 620 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Xmas trip to the capital

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: The grounds and exterior are impressive
Cons: Maintanence of all interior areas
Location: City within easy reach
Grand building, Grand reception area lovely grounds, good staff beyond that where do I start ? tired and heavily worn carpets with lots of holes and ridges in hallways dropped food in passageways for over 48 hours, radiator and extension did not work dampness covered whole of bathroom ceiling broken tiles to bath panel window operated via a zip tie and very mouldy with damp badly mildewed silicone around the bath and basin bathroom taps and wastes in poor condition chrome coming off Broken glass from party night on dining room floor Broken glass on car park from cars Poorly laid out breakfast choices with the fried eggs and jam playing hide and seek Having said all this all staff very polite and attentive For such a grand and historic building the interior beyond reception area really does not live up to expectation With the amount I paid I was not expecting the Ritz but I was very disappointed with the whole room experience
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bristol

Superior room very small, staff disinterested

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Superior room too small for king bed, bar prices high, staff just doing the motions, shame as building and grounds stunning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Pleasant stay again.

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Third or fourth time here, both with daughter and on my own, so you know it's OK. Staff all lovely as usual. Bed uncomfortable on this occasion, unlike previous stays. Yes, the decor is tired in some places, yes the pool could do with a facelift and yes, heated plates at breakfast would be a bonus. However, it is overall a much more pleasant place to be than standard chain hotels in South Croydon, has common areas you actually want to spend time in and a pleasant bar with lovely pizza (£13.95) and great chips (£3.50). Staff helpful re nut allergy. Good VFM, will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent manager & front desk team.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Good food & service. Kind & courteous staff very helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Hotel Looked Lovely Externally

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The bar which was close to the Leisure Centre
Cons: Rooms definitely need updating. Breakfast should be refreshed and not left to dry out
Location: We were visiting relatives in Caterham so only went out to eat in a village nearby
We booked a last minute room on Thursday 9th November. We entered Reception to book in an a trainee had been left on the desk - she was very helpful but obviously did not know quite what she was doing. I had asked for a room which was convenient for the lift and not too far to walk for my husband. This was taken literally and we were placed in a room on the first floor right next to the lift. It was quite a long walk before locating the lift. The bed was comfortable and the shower good. The rest of the room required updating. There were wrinkles in the carpet all over the room which were very easy to trip over. We had 3 pillows between the two of us and I had to request 2 further pillows which arrived promptly. Because we were a last minute reservation I had assumed that we had been placed in an old room which required updating and because we were only staying 1 night there was no point in complaining. However, we were looking forward to our cooked breakfast. The breakfast during the week is from 6.30 am to 9.30 am which is quite early for a leisure traveller. When we went to breakfast just after 9 am there was only 1 other couple in the dining room. All the hot food had obviously been sitting in heated containers since 6.30 am. I left three-quarters of mine and decided to have some fruit instead which looked edible. The tea and coffee which were brought to the table were luke warm. Suffice to say, we coped for 1 night, but we certainly would not go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, charming and cozy!

Posted Nov 4, 2017
We flew in to Gatwick airport and decided to stay here because our flight was so late and we didn’t want to make the full trip to London. This was perfect! It was so cozy and beautiful to wake up to. I will definitely stay here again if I ever get the chance. Would be a beautiful place for a party or wedding as well. Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B,Ham

Value for money

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Comfy bed and quiet location
Nice food in the bar area. The room was a bit chilly but I was provided with an electric heater.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in beautiful setting

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: The spa, food, and scenery.
Cons: Rooms.......but thus is being worked on.
The main public areas are beautiful, as are the grounds. Perfect for a relaxing break with access to London. Some areas and rooms are in bed of upgrading. There were builders on site refurbishing the rooms which is needed. Unfortunately, they were working in the room above us! Staff polite and helpful. Veer good breakfast in a beautiful dining room with fantastic views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Cracking price for a majestic, if a little tired, building. Had all the mod cons, just with personality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport

Friendly reception, let down by breakfast service.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Really friendly welcome from reception ' lovely superior rooms. All that spoiled our stay was terrible service at breakfast. Had to chase getting served coffee several times.