Ratings based on 533 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Lovely grounds, and good spa pool. A great place to stay for the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable unique old building large grounds

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable room. Good hot shower. Friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing major
Location: The location in extensive grounds makes it feel rural.
Pleasant, helpful staff. Good facilities. Good use of ancient building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable hotel in extensive grounds

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: It retains many of the features of the original building giving it unique and interesting aspects. The breakfast was more than adequate.
Cons: The heating could be modernised if our room is typical.
Location: We had come to visit a relative who was in hospital, so were not interested in local things to do.
We had read the reviews and were amItbivalent about booking the hotel but wanted somewhere with space to have a stroll. It is an ancient country house that has been converted into a spacious and comfortable hotel. We found all members of staff to be very helpful. On arrival we were dealt with very efficiently at reception and set off through quirky corridors with old wood beams to our room which was adequate in size but tropically hot, despite it being February. I reckon the temperature must have been about 30 degrees Celsius. There was a thermostatic valve on the radiator, but the key part was missing (the plumbing in this part of the room was very old) and the radiator could not be turned off. I went back to reception, the maintenance staff were contacted and the problem was rapidly resolved. The windows in the room had metal frames and strange locks, but I found how to open them and cool the room. We were only in the room to sleep and found it comfortable and slept well. The hotel is a venue for conferences, weddings etc. and had dreaded raucous behaviour, but experienced calm and quiet. The room and bathroom were clean and welll equipped with towels, soaps etc. and the hot water was plentiful and hot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RG

Nice hotel with good areas of relaxation

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Went well until 17.00 of the second day when we lost heating and hot water. The hotel offered to move us but due to the room position we chose to stay with a heater.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: local to family living down the road.
Cons: as above and staff being more outgoing and friendly.
Leisure center shower curtains need changing, cups on machines in the gym from the day before as arrived first to use equipment Sunday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno

Not so good

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Pictures on the internet were good
Cons: Most things especially teaching the staff interact better with guests
Location: Shopping is good in CROYDON
Rooms are old and dated. Most the staff were not very welcoming or friendly. Bar food was good and bad. The wings were plain and tasteless but the pie was good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Welcoming and warm hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable and welcoming
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old, dated and generally not very pleasant

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
The main public areas of the Selsdon Estate are very nice but beyond this it is very old and dated. The staff were awful they all lacked any kind of customer service skills. The only positive that I found was the spa and pool. Unless it was the last place available I will never stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

charming

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
as always, I love staying here, its a little bit of old England Reminds me of growing up around a country club a little tired and showing its age, but the charm more than makes up for it