Ratings based on 546 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Lovely setting!

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Setting and staff. Breakfast was good.
Cons: General cleanliness and TLC
Location: Lovely setting, not far to Croydon or London
Better room than we have had in the past but the bathroom was very small!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

A pleasant hotel with good facilities

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Nice friendly staff and a comfortable bed.
Cons: The selection and quality of food could be improved upon.
Location: Didnt need to leave the hotel as there was plenty to do there.
Had a lovely stay at this hotel. It was very busy on the day we choose as there was a wedding taking place. Spa facilities very good and had a nice time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Good location poor quality

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Whole building interior needs some tender loving care especially the bedrooms where carpets are threadbare and creased.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
hotel is set in lovely grounds but is in need of some areas of redecoration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Lovely grounds, and good spa pool. A great place to stay for the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable unique old building large grounds

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable room. Good hot shower. Friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing major
Location: The location in extensive grounds makes it feel rural.
Pleasant, helpful staff. Good facilities. Good use of ancient building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable hotel in extensive grounds

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: It retains many of the features of the original building giving it unique and interesting aspects. The breakfast was more than adequate.
Cons: The heating could be modernised if our room is typical.
Location: We had come to visit a relative who was in hospital, so were not interested in local things to do.
We had read the reviews and were amItbivalent about booking the hotel but wanted somewhere with space to have a stroll. It is an ancient country house that has been converted into a spacious and comfortable hotel. We found all members of staff to be very helpful. On arrival we were dealt with very efficiently at reception and set off through quirky corridors with old wood beams to our room which was adequate in size but tropically hot, despite it being February. I reckon the temperature must have been about 30 degrees Celsius. There was a thermostatic valve on the radiator, but the key part was missing (the plumbing in this part of the room was very old) and the radiator could not be turned off. I went back to reception, the maintenance staff were contacted and the problem was rapidly resolved. The windows in the room had metal frames and strange locks, but I found how to open them and cool the room. We were only in the room to sleep and found it comfortable and slept well. The hotel is a venue for conferences, weddings etc. and had dreaded raucous behaviour, but experienced calm and quiet. The room and bathroom were clean and welll equipped with towels, soaps etc. and the hot water was plentiful and hot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Looks good from outside, clean but tatty at the seams inside. Bedroom seemed to be near the Earth's core as boiling hot with the radiator off. Breakfast very average, better off going out for it and save the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RG

Nice hotel with good areas of relaxation

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Went well until 17.00 of the second day when we lost heating and hot water. The hotel offered to move us but due to the room position we chose to stay with a heater.
2 out of 5
by Jeremy

If you like food don't stay here

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast was not great the sausages did not appear properly cooked through and dinner was down to a menu choice of 4 or 5 items on 'chefs choice ' menu so disappointing when had a normal proper menu on the website and not what I would expect from a large hotel at all