Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno

Not so good

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Pictures on the internet were good
Cons: Most things especially teaching the staff interact better with guests
Location: Shopping is good in CROYDON
Rooms are old and dated. Most the staff were not very welcoming or friendly. Bar food was good and bad. The wings were plain and tasteless but the pie was good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Needs a lot of tlc, becoming very run down, blah blah blah
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Somerset

Lovely hotel in stunning setting

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: I am made to be special.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: I teach at Croydon High School which is in the grounds of the hotel.
I was greeted warmly. Staff were helpful and friendly. Check-in was quick and I was shown to my room and had help with my case. The room was very comfortable with beautiful views and I glad a superb night's sleep. I look forward to my next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice on the outside, dated uncomfortable room

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Not a great welcome, no information about when breakfast is, not particularly friendly and no information about the spa facilities. Room was very dated. Poor shower which lost pressure when temperature increased. Only 1 towel left on the towel warmer, the other towel left in the grotty wardrobe. Carpet dirty and tired. Staff not very organised at breakfast and had to wait at least 20 minutes for a table large enough for our group. Breakfast was really good with loads of choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel overlooking Kent countryside

Posted Aug 4, 2016
We were pleasantly surprised what a lovely hotel this was. Much of the original building and old leaded windows have been preserved. Our room was upgraded free of charge to a huge room with beautiful views over the countryside. We had a very relaxing stay. The only drawback was that we couldn't have breakfast as they were full, so it must have been good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but the room was dated

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Bar, pool, grounds
Cons: Rooms need some updating
The building and the grounds are beautiful. Staff were friendly and the facilities were nice. The room however looked very dated and had no a/c. It was a hot summers day so the room was already very hot and the towel rail in the bathroom was stuck on, making it hotter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Fabulous building with history

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: The building, the history, the setting, the convenience for London or Gatwick, the friendly staff.
Cons: The building needs updating and more diligent maintenance of the rooms and the grounds but then it would cost a fortune to stay there!
Location: The location is stunning, quiet and beautiful but with the courtesy bus only 20 minutes from trains to London and Gatwick. Superb!
We were impressed by the reception area and the very helpful staff on arrival at the hotel mid afternoon. We were given a choice of rooms and chose one on the ground floor with a garden view. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. Any staff you just pass in the corridors are courteous and wish you well and the reception staff are exceptional. We had a twin bedded standard room with a bathroom. The rooms are dated but spacious and well equipped and the beds are very comfortable indeed. We enjoyed a courtesy bus to East Croydon station on both days we stayed - easy to book, very courteous and friendly drivers and a clean and tidy vehicle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 20, 2016
Cons: TV in room and shower
very helpful staff, room was clean only odd thing was the fact the TV was so small and had limited channels really is surprising in this day an age. Shower was also pretty poor quality, other than those two small things couldn't fault it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

disappointing experience

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: The old world charm.
Cons: Front desk politeness and guest services.
Location: The location was remote and there was not much nearby to do.
they were not very attentive, polite, helpful or gracious from the time I first arrived to the moment I left. There was one night manager who understood what I was going through and showed genuine concern. The complimentary breakfast was poorly prepared and tasted awful. I was extremely dehydrated and I requested a bottle of water. I was told to drink water from the bathroom sink. I was shocked!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

classy looking but dissapointing

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: staff
Cons: the rooms slope and the lift is a bit creaky
Location: croydon area if you like shopping its great and it is only a 30 minute train ride from east croydon to victoria
to start all the disabled parking spaces were taken by wedding guests at a reception no disabled guests and we had to park as far away from the hotel as the car park could manage the room was supposed to be a superior double but it was not very big on the form was written £54 except i paid £116, a nice receptionist moved us into a larger room although we still only got the view of the car park and not the beautiful rolling surrey hillsides, breakfast was nice and the staff were mostly friendly.this was a little disapointing as it was the first time we had had a night away from the kids for 20 yrs