Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great outdoors but has seen better days inside

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Ok golf course. Surprisingly inexpensive. Large rooms with nice views. However interieur really needs a make-over
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Fabulous building with history

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: The building, the history, the setting, the convenience for London or Gatwick, the friendly staff.
Cons: The building needs updating and more diligent maintenance of the rooms and the grounds but then it would cost a fortune to stay there!
Location: The location is stunning, quiet and beautiful but with the courtesy bus only 20 minutes from trains to London and Gatwick. Superb!
We were impressed by the reception area and the very helpful staff on arrival at the hotel mid afternoon. We were given a choice of rooms and chose one on the ground floor with a garden view. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. Any staff you just pass in the corridors are courteous and wish you well and the reception staff are exceptional. We had a twin bedded standard room with a bathroom. The rooms are dated but spacious and well equipped and the beds are very comfortable indeed. We enjoyed a courtesy bus to East Croydon station on both days we stayed - easy to book, very courteous and friendly drivers and a clean and tidy vehicle.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bilthoven

Grootse uitstraling.

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Rust en uitstraling.
Cons: Onderhoud kozijnen.
Het waren 2 fantastische weken in een heel mooi hotel met heel vriendelijk en beleefd personeel. De kamer was uitstekend,netjes en schoon. Ik had uitzicht op het golfterrein en daarachter bomen en af en toe een huis,ik kon kilometers ver zien. De uitstraling van het hotel is dat van een kasteel. In de buurt zijn verschillende stations om naar Londen of elders te reizen,er is vanaf het hotel een pendelbusje naar station east croydon. Al met al is het een rustige omgeving. Er zijn op 10 minuten lopen ( op een rustige pas ) winkels, en banken waar je kan pinnen. Het eten in het hotel is heerlijk.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2016
雖然遠離市區 但感覺舒服附近有超級市場 如果唔介意回酒店路程遠的話可以去 酒店設施都好整潔 服務都好好
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 20, 2016
Cons: TV in room and shower
very helpful staff, room was clean only odd thing was the fact the TV was so small and had limited channels really is surprising in this day an age. Shower was also pretty poor quality, other than those two small things couldn't fault it
3 out of 5
by Paul from Derby

Disappointed - I won't be returning

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Rang numerous times to book a room but couldn't get through permanently stuck in a automated queue so had to pay more to book a room via booking website - at time of booking a fortnight earlier than arrival I requested a room to the rear but on arrival was given a hot & stuffy broom cupboard of a room overlooking unsightly inner concrete square with noisy aircon units whirring away - as there was a conference on the next day the guests dining room moved to a poky room and evening meal and breakfast was down graded to help your self buffets bubbling away in pig slop pots . Obviously if there is a big paying conference on the normal guests get pushed to the back of the queue - Impressive building & grounds but tatty and worn in rooms & corridors - not the best of stays and I will be looking to stay elsewhere when I next visit the area
4 out of 5
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family visit with book again

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
polite staff. Good location. Great room & breakfast. Great facilities with the gym & indoor pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

disappointing experience

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: The old world charm.
Cons: Front desk politeness and guest services.
Location: The location was remote and there was not much nearby to do.
they were not very attentive, polite, helpful or gracious from the time I first arrived to the moment I left. There was one night manager who understood what I was going through and showed genuine concern. The complimentary breakfast was poorly prepared and tasted awful. I was extremely dehydrated and I requested a bottle of water. I was told to drink water from the bathroom sink. I was shocked!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as bad as some people are saying

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Some reviews are very negative about this place. I only read them after I parted with my money, so I was a bit apprehensive. But to be fair I had a pleasant stay, the room was quite toasty and no air con, but I just opened the window, so that was that one sorted. The room was clean, yes it could do with an update, but it really wasn't that bad. The Wi-fi was quick and free. The TV could do with updating, those boxes do take up s bit of room. Overall I was quite happy especially at the price which is much cheaper than the Premier Inn, food was nice too.