Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Somerset

Lovely hotel in stunning setting

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: I am made to be special.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: I teach at Croydon High School which is in the grounds of the hotel.
I was greeted warmly. Staff were helpful and friendly. Check-in was quick and I was shown to my room and had help with my case. The room was very comfortable with beautiful views and I glad a superb night's sleep. I look forward to my next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel bien situé pour séjour golf.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Sejour golf et à 35 mn en transport de Londres. Hôtel qui a besoin d'un coup de rafraîchissement mais confort correct.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Veghel

Hotel in oud engels landhuis

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Wij hebben dit hotel gebruikt als uitvalsbasis voor een stedentrip naar London.
Cons: Renoveren en groot onderhoud plegen, zo is dit geen LUXE hotel.
Location: London is een stad om zeker meerdere dagen door te brengen.
In eerste instantie ziet het hotel er prachtig uit. Maar dit is uiterlijke schijn. Hotel is zwaar aan groot onderhoud toe. Kozijnen zijn totaal verrot en ramen sluiten niet meer. Vloerbedekking in de gang is versleten. Verder zijn de horeca faciliteiten niet van deze tijd. Regelmatig hebben wij te drinken gekregen uit vervuilde glazen. Eten werd geserveerd op natte niet schone borden. Er is een mogelijkheid om gebruik te maken van een shuttledienst naar het station van East Croydon, waar een rechtstreekse verbinding is met London Victoria. Alleen moet je hier wel om vragen, dit wordt je niet aangeboden.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice on the outside, dated uncomfortable room

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Not a great welcome, no information about when breakfast is, not particularly friendly and no information about the spa facilities. Room was very dated. Poor shower which lost pressure when temperature increased. Only 1 towel left on the towel warmer, the other towel left in the grotty wardrobe. Carpet dirty and tired. Staff not very organised at breakfast and had to wait at least 20 minutes for a table large enough for our group. Breakfast was really good with loads of choice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel overlooking Kent countryside

Posted Aug 4, 2016
We were pleasantly surprised what a lovely hotel this was. Much of the original building and old leaded windows have been preserved. Our room was upgraded free of charge to a huge room with beautiful views over the countryside. We had a very relaxing stay. The only drawback was that we couldn't have breakfast as they were full, so it must have been good!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but the room was dated

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Bar, pool, grounds
Cons: Rooms need some updating
The building and the grounds are beautiful. Staff were friendly and the facilities were nice. The room however looked very dated and had no a/c. It was a hot summers day so the room was already very hot and the towel rail in the bathroom was stuck on, making it hotter.
5 out of 5
by David

Nce hote

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel.
3 out of 5
by Francis from Seattle

Luke warm

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Old building very beautiful. No ac, very uncomfortable. Inattentive staff. They seem far more interested in wedding catering than guests. This hotel has great potential. Lack luster in a great setting. More pride and enthusiasm needed for this place. First time back in UK in 3 years, reaffirms my decision to leave. I wanted this place to be my Great Britain. In the end I settled for a soulless vacant residence in need of some creative enthusiastic minds.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Hawkinge

Relax in a great hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is really full of character and extremely relaxing. The room was comfortable and all amenities were as rxpected
2 out of 5
by Joe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels