Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2015
ロンドン郊外のホテル。 ゴルフ場や温水プールなど各種施設が充実している。 自分はロンドン市内を中心とした観光目的で宿泊したが、ロンドンへのアクセスもそこまで手間ではなかった。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Building, needs renovating.

Posted Aug 26, 2015
I stayed a week for work nearby, it was fine. Fine being a word that describes something mediocre, because that's what it was. The room was run down with a crap old television and a bloody hot duvet. There's no AC and it wasn't a hot week but I was melting in there... The hotel is as I said fine, average, the best thing about it was it was cheap. God knows how it got so many stars...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dorset

A beautiful hotel in the reach of London

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: The grounds were beautiful.....
Cons: Because the staff are not English there was a slight language Barrier..
Location: Near to cordon train station so could hop on a train to Brighton or London with no bother
A beautiful hotel .very pleased with the room .tv needs updating though ....The staff were very polite ...a very nice stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brabant

Leuk oud kasteel. De kamer viel wel tegen

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Hele mooie omgeving en heel bijzonder oud kasteel
Cons: kamers renoveren, kamer raam kon niet open
Location: Vlakbij winkels, supermarkt, restaurantjes, openbaar vervoer perfect. Zelfs naar Londen reizen heel erg goed te doen
Bijzonder hotel; oud kasteel. Wel toe aan een renovatie. Omgeving prachtig en goed te doen om op en neer te reizen naar Londen. Goede bus en treinverbinding. De Oyster Card kan gebruikt worden voor het reizen naar het hotel en naar Londen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from ロンドン

Why this hortel is 3.5 ??? (2)

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Staffs' efforts to be good.
Cons: Sophisticated manner of some staffs from thier heart. In this sence, young Asian countries have honesty, this must be a power.
Location: Good for golf and sometime visit to center of London.
I was wondering to delete my first evaluation, as I thought it was rather politically radical and wished to help young staffs. However I will remain it and add some adjustments after staying longer with staffs in the hotel (totally 5 days). First, I can say I mostly appreciate and enjoyed my stay and service by staffs. All the staff including managers and front staffs are working hard and trying to be good. Most of young staffs are very nice to work hard and friendly,,, very nice. Again, with some exception, front staffs are not efficient and not friendly, nor service oriented. Some of the managers are trying to be polite and friendly but we can easily find it is not their true honest behavior. Is that because they are countryside local staff ? or uncivilized authoritarian east Europeans,,,, I stayed another Manor House. All the staffs are naturally polite and sophisticated. Hotels are created with their customers and staffs, based on top management.....This hotel is for newly growing middle class. Sorry for old British. But you or we can create new British tradition with education or self-discipline both to staffs and customers. I like this hotel but was not perfectly comfortable..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, usa

country style

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Staff was so helpful. I made so many mistakes like not having internet service. hotel pc couldn't connect with my server in California.
Cons: air conditioning and breakfast. Lots of food but most of it cold and unseasoned
Location: stores and town
need a car unless you plan just golf or tennis at club. my fault, didn't know it was so far from london. Marcus,night manager, helped us beyond what was expected with expedia, taxi and overall niceness. My mistakes, like not having cell service and access to internet. wifi only works if you have internet service on your cell.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MILTON KEYNES

THE WEB PICTURES ARE VERY MISLEADING

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: THE ROOMS NEED TO BE RENOVATED AND KEPT CLEAN. THE BAR MENU NEEDS LOOKING AT. NEED MORE STAFF WITH ENGLISH AS A FIRST LANGUAGE
Location: DIFFICULT TO GET TO A 9 MILE JOURNEY TOOK OVER ONE HOUR
THE PICTURES ON THE WEBSITE SHOW A NICE COUNTRY HOTEL - THE MAIN PARTS OF THE HOTEL MAY BE LIKE THIS BUT THE ROOMS LEAVE A LOT TO BE DESIRED. SMALL CRAMPED DIRTY WITH MOULD AND UNCOMFORTABLE - THEY APPEAR TO BE IN THE OLD SERVANTS WING OF THE BUILDING. THE SHOWER DID NOT WORK PROPERLY, THE LIGHTS FLICKERD THERE WAS MOULD IN THE BATHROOM WILL BE ADVISING OTHERS NOT TO BOOK INTO THIS HOTEL THE BAR FOOD IS POOR AND OVER PRICED - A BURGER,SWEET AND DRING COSTING £25.00
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ロンドン

Why this hortel is 3.5 ???

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: 緑の多さ、建物の英国調で広く、私設が(英国式に古くても)整っているところ。食事がまずます食べられるおいしさ。
Cons: 一部のローカルのスタッフとマネージャーを再教育すべきでしょう。表面的にはすべきことはしていますが、人種偏見を感じました。今時、日本人を白人より軽く扱うのは勉強不足でしょう。私たちは謙虚で礼儀正しいだけで、別に劣っているわけではない。今時、世界情勢の理解と礼儀ぐらい必要。
Location: ゴルフ以外は自家用車で移動する以外に観光はありません。自然とジムくらい。ただ、ロンドンには1時間ほどで行けるので、ゆっくり田園を楽しみつつ、時々ロンドンに出かけるなら 値段も市内より格段に安く、いいかもしれません。ただ、短期のロンドン観光にはすすめません。
I stayed 5days here. Please educate your mangers and front desk. They are not sophisticated in such a global era. Front desk is not efficient and not friendly.Some of mangers are not educated enough and I felt racial impoliteness in such a multicultural world ! All staffs ,especially young staffs are working hard and friendly. They are learning this new world. Sorry for old British members but world had changed long time ago. If you have time to commute to London around at most 1 hour, this is a perfect resort hotel with comfirtable rooms, friendly staff (except front desk) , greens for golf, a pool and a gim and could visit London sometimes. This hotel is old but they are trying to maintain clean and perfect. So it is a pity 3.5 but my total evaluation is 3.0+. If this is my house without staffs I put 5.0.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Hotel reception staff not professional and poor attitude Did not answer the telephone so had to personally go to the reception desk with my luggage. Shower temperature control broken and water dangerously hot, unable to use properly Only one towel and no bath mat, had to request more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could be so much better

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Very grand internally
Cons: Reception staff need training in politeness
Location: Good location on the edge of the countryside and you can walk to Wetherspoons
Once you get past the unfriendly reception staff, and the fact that your room is not ready at 4pm, this is quite a nice place to stay