Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magnificent room and beds

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Definitely recommend, great location, friendly staff and comfortable beds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich, Suffolk

Good location near train station and town centre

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Good rooms and public areas. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.
Cons: Lack of air conditioning in our room and traffic noise late evening made for a slightly uncomfortable sleep but in unseasonably hot weather.
Location: Good location in central Hampshire. Mid Hants Heritage Railway nearby. Town had a number of places to eat and drink and an adequate shopping centre
Helpful friendly staff in traditional English country hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bromsgrove

Jane Austen treat

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Just what we wanted near to Jane Austen's Chawton. Hotel was in very good order and we were well looked after.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walking distance from town

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Room was small with one velux type window ,lights in the bathroom didn't work as well as towel rail, had to kneel on the floor to have a shave as mirror was very low and sloping roof made it impossible to stand ( only 6' 2" not a giant) shower had very little pressure, electric socket outside bathroom didn't work,and bed rock solid
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay for wedding nearby...

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Booked via Expedia but much cheaper if you book direct. Staff friendly. Room and particularly bathroom tired and in need of updating. Breakfast (included) was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Sleep but don't eat.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
In general hotel is OK, just don't eat there. Staff friendly, room was clean , breakfast was OK. Evening meal is a big NO NO. Starter went back, my prawns still frozen, my wife's breaded mushroom were frozen. My main was lasagna was burnt, my wife's seafood risotto wasn't even risotto rice with crab sticks and the other fish not sure what, tasted like it was pickled in vinegar. Manager came and said just pay for your drinks, that's all We would of paid anyway.
4 out of 5
by keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Could have been better.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: It's convenient town centre location, good size and ample car parking.
Cons: Did not stay long enough to observe and comment further.
Location: No comment as we were there for a specific nearby private function.
Reception staff polite and OK. Room had Poor bathroom plumbing. Shower just dribbled. Toilet systern took ages to refill. Only two very small pillows on bed. No extra in wardrobe. No other bed cushions so could not prop sit up comfortably in bed. No bottles of drinking water provided in room. Did not sample restaurant for breakfast so can't comment on food and service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and good hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Bit of a wait to check in. But nice hotel and friendly staff. Car park light shined in room all night but only stayed one night so put up with it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed here before. This time we booked online, a superior room with breakfast included. When we arrived the booking was for a normal double room with breakfast extra. However, we were immediately shown another room which we accepted and the breakfast included. this is a lovely hotel having undergone a redecoration. The restaurant/breakfast room has been decorated to quite a high standard, lovely modern colours and crushed velvet upholstery. The breakfast, as last time was absolutely delicious, sourcing local products if possible, and as last time we visited, the eyes were bigger than the stomach! Will definitely stay again