Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Disappointing service

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Our room was quite small with one window, which we couldn't open, looking out over rooftops. The service in the restaurant for breakfast and for dinner was slow. I ordered eggs hollandaise and it was inedible as the sauce was curdled. I sent it back. The coffee had clearly been made early and left to stew. At dinner we waited an hour for our main course and it only arrived after we said we were about to leave. The couple on the adjacent table had asked for the dessert menu but couldn't find anyone to take their order so they gave up! The manager took 10 percent off the bill for dinner but we didn't eat there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Great refurb.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Loved the tasteful room décor/furniture and efficient bathroom. Parking was easy and it was good to be able to walk round the town easily.
Cons: Reception desk/area is a bit stark - maybe some flowers or greenery around ??
Location: Good location as far as local town amenities are concerned, and fairly easy drive to other places of interest in county.
We stayed in the Swan many years ago and were pleasantly surprised by the recent refurbishment. Our room was spacious, very tastefully decorated and what a comfortable bed ! Bath/shower room high spec and immaculate. Restaurant busy at breakfast and though service was a wee bit slow , the food was worth the wait - porridge to make a Scot proud and full English fir for a Sassenach . We would definitely visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

very good value

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: good location, good value for money, easy parking Bedroom and main rooms well decorated and furnished
Cons: some of the circulation areas were a bit tired
Location: We loved Jane Austen's house and Gilbert White's house which are both very nearby.
We were very pleased with the hotel. The car parking was excellent. The staff were good. We had a good evening meal which included a special price on a bottle of proseco. Breakfast was well cooked. The room was comfortable, clean and the bathroom had been recently modernised with an excellent shower. Very well located for local sightseeing. Overall, very good value for money and we would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alton

Close to our venue

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Very happy with our stay staff very friendly lovely hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leics

Nice hotel shame about the greeting!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: See review
Cons: The manager
Location: Great Thai restaurant nearby
Arrived Saturday around 7.30 pm. No one at reception. A random person in the Swan pub shouted through to us someone will be through soon(assume the manager asked her to and still have no idea who she was) Manager came through, threw keys at us, no information given around breakfast times etc. I had to ask questions as he was heading back to the pub next door.! Similar treatment at breakfast from the manager, didn't speak , not even a good morning or any acknowledgement we had stayed the night as we walked past him at reception even though no on else was there! Just rude!. The mark of 5 for hotel staff is purely for the breakfast server guys who were excellent, especially Martin who was really attentive. Also one of the staff called Martin offered to help my wife down the stairs with her case even though he wasn't going downstairs, again a real credit to the hotel. The managers attitude is a real shame as the hotel has been refurbished and really clean, good room facilities etc. We were planning on eating in the swan that night but given our welcome we walked out and found a lovely Thai restaurant who could teach the manager something about hospitality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

pleasant hotel in town

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: In summer, if the weather is hot, it would be good if one could order a fan.
Location: It is not far from the railway station. One can go onto a steam train, which is a great experience.
We always look forward to staying at the Swan. Lovely dining room, pleasant atmosphere, good menu and lovely staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from deon

Close to town

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The shower
Cons: Air conditioning
Hotel was lovely but you couldn't open any windows and the room was so hot it was unbearable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ALTON HAMPSHIRE

80 birthday

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: its convience
Cons: none
I would stay again at the swan hotel and I would recommend it too others.its
4 out of 5
by susan

Family Visit

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant stay freindly staff good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trip to Alton

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location, bedrooms and bathroom. Looked to be recently refurbished.
Cons: The rooms were boiling hot and we had to prop open the window with our suitcase as the shash had broken. Fan not enough, need air con.
Location: Watercress line, Jane Austen's house, museums, restaurants, etc
Hotel in perfect location as you are right in the centre of town. Free parking in their car park at the rear of the hotel. Walking distance of the Watercress line railway also. Lots to do, pubs and restaurants on your doorstep. Staff really helpful and did their best to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Breakfast was included in the rate but very busy at peak times as you would expect. Only downside was the heat of the rooms, really needed air con to be installed.