Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Room not ready at check in time

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
This was the worst overpriced hotel I have ever stayed at! We arrived 2 hours early to a front desk with two less than friendly women. We totally understood that the room wasn't ready because check-in time is 3 pm. It wasn't ready then either....not till 4pm. We waited in the restaurant and had a simple coffee and a soda water(he brought a half glass full)... for 4.95 euro.... after waiting 20 minutes to even get asked if we wanted anything. This place is a joke!!! More like a prison!! Run and do not turn back!! It is Royal alright.....a Royal pain in the ***
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ireland

Ok hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Lovely bar area and food was good . Rooms were disappointing I know that they are probably upgrading some of them but ours certainly wasn't didn't think it was worth the money we paid. Paint was peeling of bathroom ceiling, headboard was coming away from the wall, overall disappointed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stevenage UK

Posted Jul 14, 2016
My room was on the corner of the hotel overlooking the main street which was noisy when trying to get to sleep. Overall the hotel was ok, its just looks a bit tired in places but work is in progress to address this. I would stay here again, the seafront is in walking distance and there is a good choice of restaurants in the town
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, Fl

Royal dump of a hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2016
We arrived at the hotel and it looked impressive from the outside. We looked for a place to park out front so that we could check in. There is no place to park upfront to check in, so we drove around to the back- where we were charged 5 euro to park. We had to walk through the fitness area, through a pub/ restaurant to get to the front desk. I gave them my name and they pulled me right up. They asked my for my voucher. I told them I booked through Expedia and was not sure what voucher they were referring to. They told me I would have to pay for the room if I could not show that I payed through Expedia. What?? I stayed at six other hotels in Ireland on this trip all booked through Expedia and did not have this issue. Normally I only save the email with my confirmation but I was able to produce a printout that payed for the room. The lobby area did look nice. Once we got to the room what a disappointment. The beds were old and small. You could feel and hear every worn spring. The floor creaked like crazy. We then decided to take a break before going out and go online and email/ Skype family back home. Nope, no wifi in the room, no wifi on the third floor.. We had to go to the lobby to get any signal. Throughout the ordeal any question asked of the front desk felt like we were a bother to them. For the money we spent on this hotel we were greatly disappointed. Stay anywhere else in Brey, this place is a complete dump.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Belle chambre, accueil moins bonne

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Nous avons séjourné à Bray dans le but de participer au Groove Festival. Le personnel de l'hôtel ne savait pas où il se déroulait et ne connaissait pas l'événement ce qui a été pour nous décevant. De plus, la dame à l'accueil semblait plus intéressé à finir son quart de travail que nous servir. Cela nous a donné une mauvaise première impression sur l'hôtel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Just got off plane from NY and receptionists more worried if I had paid or not than giving a key for a room she had our credit card details anyway
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated hotel

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Maintenance, Wifi coverage and not for individual devices
Location: Good location
Several poor factors. Room safe not attached to anything so could lift out of wardrobe! Red worm in tap water. No wifi in my room as too far from reception, despite advert saying free wifi in all rooms. Needed a code for wifi for EACH device! Poor breakfast. No handles on wardrobe door, and wires hanging from behind TV. The staff were very nice and apologetic for the lack of wifi in room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not great

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff were great, very friendly at reception and checkin was very smooth. My room was on the 2nd floor (241)and its was a fair walk to get to it with a few turns and junctions. The room was very very dated and most importantly had no wifi whatsoever. The bed squeaked that much that it made a noise every time my heart beat! Maybe useful in a hospital but not a hotel The bar was lovely, well decorated, friendly staff, good food at a good price and good beer. It also had wifi so I ended up staying in the bar until it closed (good business model maybe?) Breakfast wasn't included in my room rate but I paid the €10 and got the breakfast. Wasn't overly impressed and probably wouldn't do it again. I never made it to the leisure facilities but there is free access to guests and it looks nice There is parking at the hotel but it costs €5 and it is paid to the man standing at the gate of the car park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only if you have no other option!

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is undergoing renovations; we were first placed in a pre-renovation room. Electric sockets didn't work, torn window curtain that would not close, lumpy bed, generally smelly and tatty. I couldn't stay in that room. We asked for a better room and were given a recently renovated room. Fab bed, clean and fresh feel to the room and bathroom. However, light switches didn't work, no towel rail in the bathroom....lots of cut corners in the new build out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CL

Habitación ruidosa

Posted Apr 16, 2016
La habitación era muy grande y espaciosa pero durante dos noches consecutivas nos sonó la alarma de incendios en mitad de la noche,por lo que nos despertó ya que este ruido duro al rededor de 10 minutos. Fue horrible!!