Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Dump

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Terribly depressing spot. See picture. Dump to hot tub. Gives you an idea of the rest. Oh, you get Saran wrapped pop tarts for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peculiar, MO

Definitely not your regular chain hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Cozy
Cons: Better air circulation.
Location: Close to Alamosa and the Rio Grande RR as well as National Forest plus the Great Sand Dunes National Park.
Wanted something more rustic than a chain hotel and this met that. Older 8 room building and a main house in a nice setting just off the highway. Room was large but dated. No A/C which was bad considering temperatures were running 20 degrees above normal that week. A box fan provided circulation but a ceiling fan would have helped more. Bathroom was small and shower-head was pretty low. Coffee and continental breakfast available at the main house which is also a restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Texas

A Nice Old Time Lodge

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Quaintness, cleanliness, caring effort of the owner to communicate with you before hand.
Cons: Really nothing.
Location: Location is on the main highway going through South Fork. Not a lot to pick from....but was good location.
We wanted a night in South Fork on the way to Jackson Hole, Wy. We had previously stayed in Fun Valley R.V. Park, and wanted to revisit it and out lying areas, such as Creede. This Lodge filled that bill. Moderately priced, and very willing to book and hold reservation until days before. Lots of communication with owner, which we never met, but would have like to. Key was on door, and cabin ready. Breakfast, the next morning was very nice and we ate on a quiet porch. The only one we talked to was the two chickens and one dog who wandered by while we were sitting outside in nice chairs provided. But, it was warm, (no air), but comfortable.....very pleasant. Will stay again if we come that way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Everything was good about this hotel. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was basic, but good enough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lighting terrible. No glasses in bathroom

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: All of it
Location: Location good
I would have gone elsewhere had I not been so tired
4 out of 5
by Timothy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The beds are the only good thing

Posted Mar 21, 2017
If you're just looks no for a comfy bed, this place gets 5 stars. Otherwise, no stars. The continental breakfast is poor and the picture of the delicious looking egg, bacon, and pancake breakfast costs extra and is not available on mondays and sometimes other days. The room is fair. I only recommend their beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

1926 Lodge -National Register of Historic Places

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The Character of the Lodge built in 1926 is only exceeded by the commitment of ownership, staff and extended staff (dogs, cats and chickens)!
Cons: Spend more time at the lodge and have more snow during the visit which is the only thing the staff could not positively impact.
Location: Wolf Creek Ski Resort, rafting, hunting, fishing and hiking.
The owner(s), staff and extended staff (3 dogs, 2 cats and 5 chickens) provide outstanding service, perpetual smiles and unlimited support to ensure a pleasant stay at The Spruce Lodge and in South Fork . The lodge has character in its structure and decoration, an amazing renovation of a 1926 structure, committed ownership and staff, the best breakfast in town and excellent spokespeople for the City of South Fork and nearby communities. The best sales people of Small Business Ownership and small town benefits with access to nearby activities of snow skiing, hunting, fishing,rafting and hiking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amarillo, TX

Comfortable Lodge close to Wolf Creek

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Beds, Toiletries, Cozy rooms, Distance from Wolf Creek.
Location: Skiing, Fun Valley & Wolf Creek,
We stayed at The Spruce Lodge, it was a group of 9. The lady at the check in desk was very friendly & even helped us make sure our rooms were going to be all together. We got three room with two queen beds. The rooms were all clean and comfortable. The only complaint is the random doors in the restroom and the room, they were locked, but still made us feel a bit uncomfortable not knowing what was on the other side. We could also hear the tv from the people next door to us & im sure they could hear our conversations. The beds were comfortable & the breakfast was a nice touch. We would definitely consider going back if were ever in town skiing again, maybe even last a couple more nights so we get to try out the hot tub.
5 out of 5
by brad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels