Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The beds are the only good thing

Posted Mar 21, 2017
If you're just looks no for a comfy bed, this place gets 5 stars. Otherwise, no stars. The continental breakfast is poor and the picture of the delicious looking egg, bacon, and pancake breakfast costs extra and is not available on mondays and sometimes other days. The room is fair. I only recommend their beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

1926 Lodge -National Register of Historic Places

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The Character of the Lodge built in 1926 is only exceeded by the commitment of ownership, staff and extended staff (dogs, cats and chickens)!
Cons: Spend more time at the lodge and have more snow during the visit which is the only thing the staff could not positively impact.
Location: Wolf Creek Ski Resort, rafting, hunting, fishing and hiking.
The owner(s), staff and extended staff (3 dogs, 2 cats and 5 chickens) provide outstanding service, perpetual smiles and unlimited support to ensure a pleasant stay at The Spruce Lodge and in South Fork . The lodge has character in its structure and decoration, an amazing renovation of a 1926 structure, committed ownership and staff, the best breakfast in town and excellent spokespeople for the City of South Fork and nearby communities. The best sales people of Small Business Ownership and small town benefits with access to nearby activities of snow skiing, hunting, fishing,rafting and hiking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amarillo, TX

Comfortable Lodge close to Wolf Creek

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Beds, Toiletries, Cozy rooms, Distance from Wolf Creek.
Location: Skiing, Fun Valley & Wolf Creek,
We stayed at The Spruce Lodge, it was a group of 9. The lady at the check in desk was very friendly & even helped us make sure our rooms were going to be all together. We got three room with two queen beds. The rooms were all clean and comfortable. The only complaint is the random doors in the restroom and the room, they were locked, but still made us feel a bit uncomfortable not knowing what was on the other side. We could also hear the tv from the people next door to us & im sure they could hear our conversations. The beds were comfortable & the breakfast was a nice touch. We would definitely consider going back if were ever in town skiing again, maybe even last a couple more nights so we get to try out the hot tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heat hotel for Wolf Creek weekend

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Rona me Dee are great hosts who have done a nice job of keeping a historic lodge cozy and comfortable. This is a great simple and comfortable place to stay for anyone's who is wanting to ski or otherwise explore the valley winter or summmer
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall review

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Breakfast was 4 out of 10. Friendly staff. Rooms were pretty clean, rustic. Beds and pillows great. Bathroom fan did not work. Shower small and very old/stained but seemed clean. Jacuzzi was very nice. Appearance over all could use some organization in storage areas. Walls were paper thin and you could here conversations next to you as quite clearly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
As expected with a small town it had very little night life in the surrounding area. However being only 25 minutes from the mountain and having affordable rooms will make this a go to place for me on my next ski trips up to Wolf Creek.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Bay, FL

Great inexpensive room near skiing.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Inexpensive, close to Wolf Creek
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It's a small town that exists mainly for outdoor enthusiasts. Close to Wolf Creek ski area for the winter and close to hunting and rafting spots.
I will stay here again. The staff was very friendly. The place is rustic and the room is small, but don't let that deter you. The room was clean and comfortable. I took my oldest son and we each had our owns beds. It looks like families with more people can rent multiple rooms and unlock the doors between the rooms. The bathroom was small, but again, this is what I expected. Don't compare this place to a Hilton or Marriott, that's not what it is. It's a rustic, small town lodge. It's a perfect place to stay if you plan to ski at Wolf Creek, it's only about 20 minutes from the slopes. The lodge also has a nice BBQ restaurant on the property. The staff was very friendly and helpful - I had a unique billing requirement and they worked with me to get it done. The stay includes a free continental breakfast. Wifi works great and the TV worked as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

mountain paradise

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: the price. the location
i loved it. breakfast was nice. the beds were comforatable. conviently located to the wolf creek ski resort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

South Fork Stay

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable room. Great customer service