Ratings based on 5,488 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Found a cockroach on the sheets.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Location: Location is perfect for 1 overnight stay for cruises or flights.
We did a late check-in, and they had given away our room. They gave us a two bed room (when we requested one queen bed) that they had. Found a cockroach on the sheets.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Took 45 minutes to check in and had peolple talking outside our room unroll 12:30a.m.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Disappointing.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Rooms are spacious, walls in the rooms are clean. Never saw any roaches. Staff members were polite and helpful on my second stay.
Cons: Elevator, stairways and pool areas could be cleaner.
The front desk attendant on August 26, (a male) was not business like. Midway through my check in, he stopped and had me waiting while he joked around with a woman from the bar/restaurant who came by. On the morning of August 27, we waited forever on the shuttle. I got the impression that we could buy food through the hotel but it was not so. The elevator smelled bad. The ladies I saw on my second visit, September 3-5, were much better. Also the new manager on Tuesday September 5, was friendly. The shuttle drivers were nice also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Eric, Thank you for choosing Red Carpet Inn Fort Lauderdale during your August and September visits. We are sorry to read that your expectations were not met during your August stay. We are, however, delighted to hear that you had a much better experience upon your return. We appreciated the chance to serve you on both occasions, and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

A place to sleep.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
A place to sleep. on-site restaurant was ok. A bit pricey for what it was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Howie, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We're glad that our on-site restaurant was satisfactory. Please accept our apology for not providing the good value you expected. However, it's good to know our accommodations met your needs. Your comments are appreciated, and we'd love an opportunity to make your next stay even better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
it was a good stay. The staff was friendly and attentive. Ill make sure to recoment this location to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us; it is great to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our team appreciates your future recommendations and we look forward to hosting you again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nassau, Bahamas

Nice to the airport and highway

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I stayed at this hotel for two nights. I was unable to get into my room. The hotel staff offered no assistance. The room was dirty especially the bed linen and smelt of smoke. I was concern about my safety the entire time. I do not recommend this place.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nicole, Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear that your stay did not meet your standards here in Fort Lauderdale. The issues with cleanliness and difficulty getting into your room are problems that no guest should have to deal with and we are very sorry. Our service staff should have been more responsive to your needs and reassuring about our security practices. Please accept our apologies and reconsider staying with us again so that we can make it up to you for our shortcomings during your recent stay. We look forward to serving you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not pleased

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The rooms
Location: Restaurant s
No refrigerator no micawave noises I didn't like this hotel at all
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your constructive critique of our hotel and are glad that our location served you well during your visit to Fort Lauderdale. We are saddened to know that our accommodations and the in-room amenities we offer, did not meet your expectations. If there is anything more that you would like us to know about your stay, please let us know. Hopefully, on your next visit, there will be no noise disturbances. We would welcome the opportunity to provide you with a more enjoyable stay should your travels bring you to our area again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale

Close to the airport, free shuttle service

Posted Sep 2, 2017
The staff could not have been more helpful or courteous when I missed my flight and needed accommodations. They made sure I got to the airport the following morning in plenty of time to catch my flight. The room was basic but pleasant, the bed comfortable. I would use them again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Megan, It was such a pleasure being able to serve you during your stay at the Red Carpet Inn Fort Lauderdale. Customer service is our top priority, and we are so happy you experienced our staff in action as they were able to play an instrumental role in you catching your next flight on time. We will be sure to share your kind words with them! It's also great to know you found your room to be pleasant with a comfortable bed. If travels bring you back to the Fort Lauderdale area, we hope you will choose to stay with us again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklyn

never again

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: re do hotel
Location: nothing in area but traffic and highway
I stay at Red Carpet Inn Airport/Cruiseport for 1 night pre flight the hotel staff couldn't tell you where the elevator was she made a circle on a sheet and said stairs are here and elevator over here they were not welcoming went to room and it didn't smell clean there were other doors that looked broken the hotel looks really shady and not an area I want to be at night I would not recommend, spend the extra 20 bucks and stay somewhere else. The hotel grounds was horrible, and shady The room had an odor of old wet mop. would never ever stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay, and while the feedback was not positive, we will certainly use it to improve our guest experience moving forward. We do want to apologize that your room did not meet your expectations and for the concerns that you had regarding odor and safety. Please know that these are not typical and we will speak with our maintenance and housekeeping teams to determine why your room was not properly maintained before your arrival. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we can improve, and we hope that we will have the chance to show you what a stay with us should look like.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far from downtown

Posted Aug 30, 2017
There nothing to talk about there no food near bye I got wet two days in a row walking to my room w hen the rain was falling.