Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Expect a basic motel and you won't be disappointed

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, nice sized room.
Cons: Caulking and painting in bathroom to make it look cleaner.
I'd read the reviews and booked with a little trepidation. But everything else in the area was sold out for my late-booked overnighter. When I drove onto the property that night with my 2 young kids, I was even more worried, seeing that it was in fact a motel, not exactly an "inn and suites." But otherwise it exceeded my expectations. The room was good sized, nicely appointed, and clean. Internet access was included, and wifi worked well enough to watch netflix. The A/C worked fine and had been turned on before I arrived so the room was cool. It had a mini-fridge and mini-microwave, and TV with cable. Sure, the tub needed re-caulking, the room smelled a little mildew-y and a bit of stale smoke (from outside, not inside the room), and the parking lot was literally 3 feet from my door. But the staff was friendly and the front desk was considerate enough to call me in the evening of my arrival, to be sure I was still planning to come --rather than just selling my room to someone else. I can't comment on the pool or the breakfast or the vending options, but they were present. Was it overpriced for a motel? Yes. But that's true for every single property along the lake in the summer. For a short stay, this is a perfectly adequate option.
3 out of 5
by Asraful from Evanston, IL

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was a hot day(80F) in summer. And the AC was not functioning properly to keep the room cool. Also it was a very old one. The bathtub got clogged, water was not draining. Seems like they do not maintain it regularly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Genoa City, WI

Not what I expected-in the middle of nowhere.

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: It was somewhat close to Holland, MI where I went for the Tulip Festival.
Cons: Welcome their customers, renovate their rooms, advertise honestly and keep the rooms clean and smelling good.
Location: Location was out in the sticks. I asked about what I could do for a few hours before turning in and the lady said sit by the lake! That's it.
Staff not very friendly, no smiles. No extra blanket in room, television was analog, room smelled & my socks were filthy walking on the rug & floor within a few minutes. They advertised an indoor pool & exercise room but neither of them were open. The rooms were very old (not updated), holes in the walls from various appliances, accumulated dirt stuck to the vents, shower curtain was bowed, tub area looked dingy. Some of the tiles around the tub area were broken, etc. I have NEVER been to a motel this bad. I wouldn't go back there for the money they charged it's not worth it!!!!!
5 out of 5
by sara from Mystic CT

South Haven Awesome is my Mitten Motto

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
I came to South Haven for a quick holiday visit with my mom who lives in Holland. South Haven will always be my "home away from home'. Great roo, staff, location, and I felt safe there. Will definitely reserve this room for all future visits to see my mom. "South Haven Awesome" is my Mitten Motto. ..lol
2 out of 5
by Chris from Grandville mi

Horrible hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
It was not that great. I called to check reservation and they said they were all booked up and when I got there only 4 or 5 rooms were rented. Then the heater didn't work it blew cold air I had to sleep in my clothes. The shower curtain had mold on it so I couldn't shower. I asked them to replace it and they said it was fine. Then the roll of tissue was low and I called for a few more rolls and it took 2 hours to bring it to me. I was the second room from the desk. Then at Check out they made me wait to leave until they inspected my room. Completely horrible. Would not stay there ago an and will steer all friends and family away. I would have asked for money back but I book through you and not them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Affordable and just what we were looking for

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Very affordable and convenient to downtown.
Cons: It was somewhat outdated but nothing bad.
Location: It was close to downtown South Haven and there is a lot to do there.
We were looking for an inexpensive place to sleep while visiting South Haven. We didn't need anything fancy to just sleep in. The bed was comfortable and the room had a large bathroom and a couch plus a microwave and refrigerator. It was an area we felt safe in and we were able to park in front of our room. It was close to downtown. We didn't use the pool but I went in to the pool area and it looked very nice. We will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Leslie

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Good price and convenient. clean
1 out of 5
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Speed Racer

Race Weekend

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Orbitz
Booked this hotel because it was one of the cheaper ones closest to Gingerman Raceway. I booked a non-smoking room, and the room smelled like it was full of people smoking cigarettes. The towels were dirty and the sink in the bathroom didn't drain properly so you had to wait like ten minutes for the water to go down. The staff consisting of a couple (husband and wife) was ok, but the main office was closed in the early morning while I was trying to check out. I had to leave without checking out because the office was not staffed and the door was locked.
4 out of 5
by Greta

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels