Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Room was musty at first

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Hotel Staff and Breakfast
Cons: Freshen rooms or replace stale items like bedspreads and curtains. ?
Location: Great location. Close to marina and downtown. Had a lovely time in South Haven!
Hotel staff were very nice and friendly. Breakfast was excellent compared to others. Room was a bit musty but I asked the cleaning crew in the hallway if they could help with some spray and they took care of us. I was afraid I wouldn't be able to sleep with the strong musty smell. We were fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Close to expressway

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Very clean and great breakfast variety.
Cons: Adding a Jacuzzi/hot tub to the pool area.
Location: Close to the highway and downtown area, all decked out for Christmas. We ate at Chinese Café which had good food and great prices.
After reading mixed reviews about this hotel, I was a little nervous. No worries after checking in. The hotel and room were clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable The staff was friendly and let us know that coffee/tea service was always available in the dining room. Breakfast in the morning was above average. It was nice to have sausage that actually tasted good and not like cardboard. Like many hotels, they have switched from a waffle maker to a pancake machine, which I prefer anyway. I only stayed one night and did not use the pool or fitness room. The hotel is located only a short drive to downtown for shopping and dining options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

visit to family

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: proximity and cleanliness
Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Amy, the evening clerk, was friendly and courteous when we arrived. We will definitely return for another visit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Picture had hot tub, when asked front desk they said the hotel doesn't have any room with hot tub
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel, I would stay here again.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Great rooms, very clean, friendly staff, close to town.
Cons: No changes.
The hotel was very clean and in a good location. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was good and quick, a great feature for travelers who are in a hurry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Front Staff was great. The rest was OK. nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn nnnnnn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from metro detroit

Friendly staff, decent hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Our stay was nice. Our room was pretty, clean, but there were gnats that kept coming. We killed a few, but there were more. The room size was good and the frige and microwave was a huge plus. The staff was very helpful and friendly and that made a different. If you're driving the location is good. Just a straight shot into downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Michigan Adventure May 2016

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Holiday Inn Express are predictable and consistently good. Rooms are clean and well stocked with amenities.
Cons: Only the issue with the unlocked doors and the staff took care of us over that.
Location: South Haven is on the shore of Lake Michigan and there are resort towns up and down the shore. Plenty to do and see.
Generally very good. excellent breakfast, friendly helpful staff and pleasant rooms. Only issue on 2nd night when we returned to the hotel the doors to both rooms were open. The Hotel Staff apologized and gave us a price reduction and points for any inconvenience. The hotel had many useful amenities, coffee maker in room, hairdryer, ironing board and small fridge. Staff were friendly and helpful even though this was an exceptionally busy time -Tulip Fest in Holland. The hotel location gave us easy access to Holland, Saugatauck and South Haven. On the way home we shopped at Lighthouse Place in Michigan City, had some excellent meals in New Buffalo, South Have & Saugatauck
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Nice place. Friendly staff. Comfortable and convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zanesville, Ohio

The hotel was very close to everything.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The location was great, and the staff was very pleasant.
Cons: Better Wifi, warm up the pool, keep the room cool.
Location: Sherman's ice cream very close. Shops about a mile or so. Great location.
Very disappointed that Wifi did not work. The pool was so cold, no one was ever in it. The air conditioner would shut off at night, the room got warm.