Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Very nice hotel with beach access

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Very nice hotel. Room very clean and ready when arrived. Easy access to the beach and pool area. Tried the dinner buffet food was great.
5 out of 5
by Øystein

A lot of value for money.

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
We had an all-inclusive stay and got a lot of value for money. Free drinks from 10am in the morning. Good breakfast. A la carte dinner in the evening, where you can pick a starter, main dish and desert. The hotel is a 15 minutes walk (or a few minutes by bus) from the centre of Puerto Vallarta. My only complaint is the Wi-Fi, which was very poor and it was almost impossible to use Internet both in our room and in areas elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Wi-Fi

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: Wi-Fi. Rooms. A little table on the balcony would have been nice.
Location: Near the Malecon.
Wi-Fi only available in designated areas, and even then got disconnected non-stop, very poor reception. The room was large and clean but outdated. Buffet was ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Horse Creek

Posted Mar 2, 2017
It was a clean room. The pool area was lovely. The river next to hotel had trash floating in it. The place was allot smaller then it appeared in pictures. The room needed to have a few decorations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Family resort on the beach

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: See above. Loved the omelette bar and abundance of fresh local fruit.
Cons: More variety in the meals. More evening shows. More yoga//dance lessons, etc.
Location: Very convenient location within walking distance of Malecon, downtown PV, the malls, easy access to busses.
I just returned from a two week holiday at Costa Club. It is right on the beach and within a 10 minute walk to the Malecan. There is a large grocery store right next door. We loved the evening entertainment shows! They are a "must see" ! Although the food was delicious after two weeks It seemed a bit redundant. Hotel staff are so so awesome: friendly and helpful. We did have to request a room change due to tower 6 being too noisy with doors banging and yelling late at night. We upgraded to a lovely, quiet two bedroom suite in tower 17. Although the wake is large in front of the hotel if you walk down to the beach in front of the Sheridan you will find calmer waters as they have built a small breakwater. We loved that the hotel is small enough that you meet the other guests, which was a definite bonus.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Local flavour/nice hotel.

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
When we arrived, we were concerned about not having a fridge or microwave. We were completely happy with how close we were to downtown and spent most of our vacation there. The Pool, beach, and restaurants, all exceeded our needs. All staff were friendly. Only 20-30% of the guests were English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Would be rated a 4 star with a fresh coat of paint

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location, price and staff.
Cons: A fresh coat of paint in the rooms.The construction on expanding the complex did not bother us,enjoyed the music at the pool and swimming
Location: There is a MEGA super grocery/ department store 2 mins away. Buses are frequent and stop out front, taxis are easy to get to, tours are available.
Staff were very friendly, helpful, and happy! Front desk staff were very efficient as well as friendly. I was aware of the shortage of king sized bed issue on other reviews and we too booked a king but had to ask to change rooms to a king. I think all rooms accommodate king size beds as they just push two matrimonial beds together, put a mattress topper and mattress pad on it and its a king! I think they should have 50% of rooms made into kings. The bed itself was very comfortable for both of us, room was clean, however they could use a fresh coat of paint and it would make it seem like new. The food was more than excellent!!!! The Italian Restaurant was fantastic!!! The pools were maintained frequently and were the cleanest I have ever been to!!! The access to the beach was part of the hotel snack bar area - well planned! And the Iguanas.....we counted 62 HUGE ones along the stream edge. And don't let me forget - the bartender mixed excellent drinks! All the lawns and grounds were extremely clean! Would definitely stay again! Jan 2017
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dump with poor service

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Had a great time in the entire area except for this hotel. Don't stay here unless you're Mexican. The staff and clientele looked down on my wife and I, stuck us in a room with an unbearable smell, so when we asked for a new room they put us in one with a backed up sewer and loud noise from the bar until 2am every night. Great location but have never been treated this poorly anywhere we've ever been. If this is a 3 star I can't imagine what 1 and 2 stars are like.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Sask. Canada

Authentic experience

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness and location were good
Cons: Some room maintenance - plaster was coming off the roof in the bathroom and the taps were loose. The safe was hard to lock as was the patio door.
Location: It was close to a super market, and a pleasant 30 minute walk to the Malecon and 20 minutes from airport.
The staff are super at Costa Club. Very helpful and very friendly. Great service. Super location to the beach. The food is authentic and was tasty. There isn't a huge variety like some large resorts, but we always found tasty things to eat. The room was clean but could use a little maintenance. We don't spend much time in it except for sleeping so we were good with it. Quiet time starts about 11:30 and it didn't keep us up. if your looking for an authentic experience, Costa Club will give it to you.