Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

nice hotel we love the food

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: food pool and the staff
Cons: I think the only is showers, some of the rooms the water run to the toilets
Location: good location
we have a good experience, nice beach, good food and friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Social Media Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to qualify us. We note the comments about the showers so we can fix it. We hope to see you back soon. Social Media Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017 on CheapTickets
I liked the hotel the area was excellent,the only thing I would like more variety of the food and taste.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Social Media , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our Hotel Las Palmas by the Sea and also thank you for your very good comments about the service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB Canada

Hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The size of the hotel and grounds made it easy to get around.
Cons: This hotel needs a complete re-do, so that people can enjoy the comfort during their stay. The wi-fi was questionable at any time of day...
Location: Central to the Malecon and Marina Vallarta. There is a laundry within a couple of blocks
Hotel is very dated and in need of many repairs. The 1st room we were put in had 2 oversize single beds (when we had booked King Bed). We could not manage to get any hot water at any time of the day or night. There is no comfortable chairs to sit on in room and there is no place to put clothing from your suitcase. We had to fight with the front desk to get moved to a room that fit our booking. One of our key cards would only work once to open our door and then we had to go back to the front desk to get it re-programmed. Finally, on the 4th time, I requested to please have a new card as this one was obviously not working properly. They had very few comfortable couches/chairs in the lobby and they were all in need of cleaning. The food was questionable and, although they had juice dispensers, there was a short supply of glasses to help yourself. Unless you provided a tip to the staff, you could not expect to receive service in any reasonable time frame. They frequently provided scuba lessons and re-certification in the adult pool, which prevented the use of the pool many times during the morning through to early afternoon. The adult pool was not large but they did have a family pool at the other side that had many shallow areas for small children, as well as the pool activities, i.e. exercise and water games. Staff would be chipping away at concrete areas around the pool with hammers and chisels, with no regard for the guests in close proximity to the flying chards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lakewood,colorado USA

Nice place on the beach

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: On the beach and close to airport
Cons: Please serve different food @ the buffet. Families with kids under 12 are not allowed to go to al la carte restraunt. Food was the same everyday.
Location: On a nice beach, pools clean, close to town and excursions. 10 mins from airport
Check in was quick, staff was great. The only complaint is that the exact same choices were available everyday @ the buffet. Families with kids under 12 were not allowed to visit the al la carte restraunt, (unless you left them in room or outside the rope-rude to do if on a FAMILY vacation). Bacon must be requested as it it not out. Drinks were good, only beer is Corona. On a nice beach. Rooms cleaned everyday & daughter loved the creative "towel art". Also, we never heard our neighbors, Lots of venders on beach but we did end up booking an excursion that we wanted to do with Pablo, as @ the "desk" welcome center, you could only do the excursion if you attended a 75 min "vacation club" presentation. Find Pablo on the beach!!! He booked us for a lot less & NO presentation. Resonable $ gift shop @ hotel. We felt safe there with our 9 yr old. Parrots out front, and an alligator, not detained but very obedient that you can see between the resort and neighboring property. We did banana floaty ride in ocean 2x. Provides great view of town!! Great view every night of fireworks from Pirate cruise excursion can be seen from the property. Nightly entertainment is kept tasteful for adults and kids. Overall a nice experience with many memories to share :-). Even with all of the spring breakers there was no drama. Check it out
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Not a match for us..

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Food -Staff
Cons: Too small ..no separation between rooms and pools/party areas-Noisy
Resort size was a too small/confined, ..The rooms were right above Pools and party area , so was too noisy..Too many kids..Wasn't a good match for us..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edgewood washington

On the beach

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Nice place , David the bar tender is one of the best. The room was roomy . Had a great view of the ocean. Try not to get room 115 at night the bar sounds like it is in your . So they moved us the very next day . Other than that it great.
3 out of 5
by Helen

return visit

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
We found the overall was good.Food was better, this year than last. Would have liked the entertainment a bit earlier. Staff was very polite & helpfull.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

A nice hotel right on the beach. .

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff were what set this resort apart from others.
Cons: Both pools lacked a safe entry to the water. Elderly or people with balance problems will find that the first step is very deep.
Location: The beach was nice and the staff were well informed on any excursion available. Downtown was a short bus ride for 7.5 pesos or taxi for 65 pesos.
We had a wonderful time at this quaint hotel. It has a very Mexican atmosphere, it is definitely not your standard resort. Although we weren't involved, they seemed to have a very active kids' zone. There were activities for both kids and adults, and entertainment nightly. The wonderful serene adult pool is far enough away to not hear the music and games in the kids pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good clean hotel close to beach

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Hotel was clean, decent food and very friendly staff. Would go again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Great location on the beach. The staff were very friendly and accommodating
Cons: Less salt in the food. Designate non smoking areas.
Overall experience was good. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast were great. Some of the evening meals were too salty for us, but overall good.