Ratings based on 607 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice hotel with ocean view and close to beach

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Lots of entertainment in the evening. Good selection of restaurants.
Cons: Water pressure in shower is way too low. Air condition is off when balcony door is opened. Door gets out of shape, AC got turned off when shouldn't.
Location: Massage parlors close by hotel.
Room has great view, 24 hours coffee shop offering coffee and snacks. Good restaurant options, plenty of entertainment in evenings. However, water pressure in shower is way too low.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Cesar Vega eConcierge, Hotel Management
Dear Ak Thank you for your kind comments and observations, your opinion is very important for us and we will share it with our operations staff. We hope to welcome you in a near future Cordially,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Beautiful location; very friendly staff

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: I loved the friendliness of the staff, the variety of food and drink choices, and the nightly shows.
Cons: Reduce noise level inside the rooms, offer designated smoking areas so children don't have to be exposed, restrict smoking in dining areas
Location: Nice location on the beach. Possible to walk to downtown on the beach. Check out Vallarta Adventures for great outings.
This resort is right on the beach. All the rooms face the beach, although the ones on the lower 2 levels are too low to have a beach view. They do, however, have a lovely view of the gardens and pool, and those on the first floor have a private pool. The resort package includes unlimited food and drinks. They have a great variety of cuisines, and the staff is attentive and polite. The nightly entertainment was spectacular. However, there are few things that could stand improvement: Because of the hotel's design, the music from the night club can be heard in every room, and sometimes it was a bit loud. Fortunately, it ended around 11 pm most nights. Also, every time someone in a neighboring room shut their door, it would slam loudly, and our room would shake. More importantly, the hotel does not have enough restrictions on smoking. There are children everywhere, and every pack of cigarettes sold in Mexico comes with a warning: "Smoking kills you and those around you," but the hotel allows smoking almost everywhere except in the rooms and elevators. We were having dinner a couple of times in the outdoor area because kids are not allowed inside some of the restaurants, and there are ashtrays right next to the eating areas, so people smoked right next to the children's dining areas. That would be unacceptable in California. People were allowed to smoke in the pools and lobby, too. There should be designated smoking and non-smoking outdoor areas to accommodate all guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Cesar Vega eConcierge, Hotel Management
Dear Cathy Thank you for share your opinion, it is very important and we will share it with our F&B team, the only Restaurant does not allow children is our Teppanyaki table at Himitsu PanAsian cuisine, the others our children staying here are free to choose the perfect spot to have their meals. Please do not hesitate to contact me for your further vacations, it will be a pleasure to assist you. Warmest Regards. Cesar Vega Social Media Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely nice staff, great food, amazing scenery!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Without the constant sales pitches for tours and time shares, it would be the perfect place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Cesar Vega eConcierge, Hotel Management
Dear Rana Thank you for your suggestion, I will share it with UVC team to take care of it. We hope to welcome you soon. Regards, Cesar Vega Social Media Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sunny Southern California

Great Value, Treated Us Well, This One's a Keeper

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The staff couldn't have been more helpful, courteous, or respectful. Nothing bad to say about any of the workers there.
Cons: The restaurants were just okay (with Castaways a bit better). Really need regular Mexican food. Would be easy to add a taco bar to the buffet.
Location: We mostly stayed at the resort. We took a cab ride to downtown PV and walked around there a while. Even the restaurants make timeshare pitches :-(.
Full disclosure: this resort was part of a package at Expedia. I saw some reviews complain about the price but we got a fantastic deal on the package, which included the flight, and we thought it was a great deal. The resort is a 10-15 minute cab ride from the airport. Watch out for the timeshare people at the airport. Got to the hotel and checkin was a breeze. The package included $200 off resort stuff, which turned out to be a coupon book which was pretty much worthless to us. The guy talking to us about the hotel and giving us the coupon book also tried to get us to go to a pitch for Now timeshare thing (or whatever it is) but we politely declined and never heard about it again. All rooms are ocean view rooms (though some may be below the treeline). Our Junior Suite was perfect for the two of us. The air conditioning and fan worked well. TV had an HDMI connection but we didn't use it. Shower was large. The restaurants were okay. Castaways, the seafood place was better than okay. Carnival, the buffet, was less than okay as was the Barefoot Grill. Something that was missing: tacos! Tamarindo, the Mexican restaurant, was upscale dining so if you want regular Mexican food like tacos or ceviche, you need to leave the resort. The pools were nice but the beach, not so much. People trying to sell you stuff there. Overall, we had a great time. It's on our list to go back to but next time we may try staying in Nuevo Vallarta to see what that's like.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Pools and the childrens club
Cons: Elevators and directions to the different restaurants within the resort
Location: Downtown and Airport are close.
The staff very very friendly and the check in was professional and well organized. Their children's club was excellent. The elevators however were really hot. Either there were no fans inside or they were not working. The staff for the most part were friendly and attentive but the lobby needs more than just 1 person during peak hours i.e. around the sunset and probably around the 4pm coffee time. The pools are excellent and well maintained. The buffet was adequate though many of the menu items were repeated day in day out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, California

A great resort and a great vacation.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Large clean rooms and a great view.
Cons: Everything was great.
Location: We took the cab or bus to the downtown area to see the shops, Tequila factory, restaurants and boating trips from the Marina which was close.
The resort was clean, the staff helpful and accommodating, the food and drinks were great. We were close to the beach and the downtown area. We'll be back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Location and accommodations are great. Room comfort was good overall, sans the dehumidifier being too small and needing to be changed every few hours. There's no way to disable the alarm when the dehumidifier is full, either. This means the loud alarm will sound in the middle of the night, unless you're ok with the thick humidity. Service is excellent (tip upfront), but food was hit or miss. Bordeaux had wonderful plates that we actually reordered, but Barefoot Grill served dried hot dogs, fossilized burgers, and the drink station sat in the sun.
4 out of 5
by Mariam

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Lots of bugs in the facility. Food was ok.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

99.9% there

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was great, the grounds were really cleaned and continuously looked after throughout our week long stay. The food could have bee a tad bit better but overall pretty good for an all inclusive. The waiters are constantly asking if you need a top up on a drink or any food while you laze around the pool or lay on the beach. Staff make a conscious effort to remember your name and drink order which was great. Overall the stay was very pleasant and I would definitely go back. With that said I feel I need to mention the points that annoyed me. On our last day the house keeping staff decided to use our toiletries and not throw away the 'evidence' there was used infant qtips left on our bathroom counter, I addressed this to management and they took it very seriously which I was happy about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Cesar, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on expedia PartnerCentral. We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future. César Vega Social Media Coordinator eConcierge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles CA

Delayed experience

Posted Aug 24, 2017
The elevators are slow- only 2 to service 300 rooms and takes forever to get between floors. When it's 95 and humid the stairs are not the option from the 14th floor
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Cesar Vega Social Media Coordinator e-Concierge, Hotel Management
Dear jax Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us, we appreciate that you have shared your experience on expedia PartnerCentral. We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future. Cordially, César Vega Social Media Coordinator eConcierge