Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Everything about the hotel was amazing. Staff was incredible and location was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Quiet low season stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Location: We did the Vallarta Eats taco tour which was fun.
Visited during low season - it was quiet, not a lot of people, always room at the pool, etc. The staff are so nice and helpful and are there whenever you need them. We were all-inclusive so that was nice, but pretty sure the drinks are watered down and beer is definitely low alcohol. That is not necessarily a bad thing, but something to know! The food was good although one restaurant was closed at the time. Room had a great view and was very comfortable. This resort was more sedate so if you're a 20-something looking for a party you might not find it here. Overall it was a nice stay for us and seemed like a great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel not far from Malecon

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: This view! Every room has ocean view! Breakfast on our balcony was so good! They clean our room twice a day.
Cons: They charge money for food after check out its so weird for all inclusive resort(((
Location: It's not too far from Malecon, $5 taxi ride or 50 cents bus. Very good massage just 1 minute from hotel ( la Playa shop) for $ 20.
At first, we didn't like the hotel because of his small territory and lack of entertainment, we were sure our stay here will be boring. But everyone here was so nice, service was excellent, food and drink good and the view from our balcony (8th floor) was amazing! Room service was great! We like kayaking tour at 12pm, you can see big turtle. Great excursion from Marina to Marietas! The beach is small and unfortunately the water was pretty dirty during our stay because of rain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Everything was pretty perfect...

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Food and drink options, the staff were all pleasant and English speaking. The rooms were very clean!
Cons: The beach was not what we were expecting, but that's not really the hotels fault.
Location: Everything you need is within walking distance! There is a little massage place about 1 minute outside the hotel that offers 1 hour massages for $20US
Awesome staff. This resort was on the smaller size, which we loved. We did not have to fight crowds for chairs at the beach, get a table for dinner, or to have food and drinks brought to us by the pool. We truly loved this place and will return again soon.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miamu, Fl

Vacation for boring retired couples.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The Sunset Plaza is lacking entertainment. In the evenings there is nothing to do. In my opinion my over-all stay was boring. When I made my selection to reserved a hotel accommodation that offered a variety of entertainment for all ages. The selection of food should have offered Amercian style dishes too .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Butler service was SUPERB!!!!BEAUTIFUL ROOM. My complaint is that the swimup bar is at the Family pool where KIDS are. So kids are sitting on all of the stools at the bar, so it's hard to get a drink and you can't enjoy yourself. Why would the bar be where KIDS are? Funny thing is, there's a SEPARATE kids pool, adult pool and family pool. There's NO swimup bar at the adult pool AND it closes at 10p.m so there's no late night swims either. The only other complaint is that the food is not good at all so we ate else where for the week, which defeats the purpose of the resort being all inclusive...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to the beach.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: Room service food.
Very friendly staff and made us feel very comfortable with our stay. The restaurants have a great variety and we really like the food setups by the pools. Room service food was a bit disappointing because there was not a good variety to choose from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, Ca.

Nice and relaxing stay at Sunset Plaza

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The views, the meals, personnel service
Cons: There are three jacuzzis and only one is hot enough the other ones are rather cold. Raise temperature in one of the other two.
Location: Shopping, beach walks
This hotel was exactly what my wife and I were looking for, a nice hotel to relax during our vacation. We traveled with our son and daughter and requested the two rooms to be next to each other and they not only accommodated our request but we were given a surprisingly nice upgrade . We were warmly greeted upon arrival and the personnel was great throughout our stay. The meals are excellent, the grounds and facilities are nicely kept, and the location was great to go to the Malecon or shopping. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was that all rooms have an ocean view and we are so glad since we had spectacular views every day. We will definitely be coming back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Great staff, very good section of food. Everything is taken care of. Wonderful vacation.
4 out of 5
by Juan

Great Place for a Family or adult vacation

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
The Staff was great, the food was OK, the pool area was clean as well as the entire hotel. Hotel was really close to airport, with out any noise, and also close to the center of town. Beach area was a little small