Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by ian from Ampthill

Friendly Staff

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting local area. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by long

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Room for improvement

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: More comforts needed. Carpet, a TV would add to the rooms.
Location: Perfect, very peaceful.
The hotel needs updating. The rooms are very basis. There aren't TVs in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location - fabulous views

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Location & proximity to Laugarvatn Fontana
Cons: Making it clear that when you say breakfast is served at set times in the morning, you also are advised that it is at a supplementary cost.
Good for an overnight stay. Not the most modern of properties but clean and comfortable. Huge rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Back to school - fantastic stay and location

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Location: The hotel was right on the lake and a hundred metres form the Fontana spa as well. Really nice facility. Handily located in the golden circle
Loved this place. Simple, clean, spacious. Excellent staff helped us organise horse riding. There was a basic honesty about this place we loved. Rooms excellent, comfortable, balcony and view over the lake. Really felt this was one place in Iceland where we engaged with locals this most.
3 out of 5
by Theresa from Evergreen, CO

I would not go back.

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
This is convenient to Golden Circle area, but it is a very basic hotel. It looks like a college dorm room. The whole place had a very bad odor all the time. The fire alarm went off at 2am, which turned out to be a false alarm. The breakfast was average and I had to pay extra for it. The hotel staff speak English well, but not too friendly. We booked a triple room but they put us in a double. We had to go back to the desk to get another room. Wifi only available in the lounge on second floor-not very convenient. I would probably try to find another place if I were you. The problem is, there aren't too many places around here to find. It is out of the way, so if you find anything around here, book it.
2 out of 5
by Gustavo from Never Again.

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
The only positive thing about the hotel is the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jericho, VT

Convenient to Golden Circle attractions

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location. Great for self drive tour.
Cons: Wifi in lobby only
Location: Short drive to key Golden Circle attractions.
Nice hotel. Clean. Beautiful location directly on lake. Restaurant was surprisingly very good for a remote area.
4 out of 5
by frawggo

Fontana Next Door!

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
Pretty wonderful, all around! Great place to stay and discount for the thermal baths at Fontana (by the lake).
4 out of 5
by Bo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels